X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5176 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Loved this Hostel! The common area is great for meeting all the other travelers. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We wish we were there now!

  • 4th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We wish you were here now !

100%

best hostel in dublin great place to meet people overall great

  • 3rd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
High praise indeed !

89%

Great youth hostel, just the one without a deep sleep should take care that trains passing one meter from your pillow ... All the rest is really fine


86%

Very good especially if your young :-)

  • 2nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
we Love the young at heart too !

100%

Was a pleasure staying here. Great hostel.

  • 2nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cool -Come back soon !

91%

A very nice hostel! Nice staff, great atmosphere and really great lounges! Would definitely recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Delighted to hear that . Thanks

89%

It was a pleasure staying at Isaacs. Location is good, not too far from Temple bar and the mayor tourist attractions. The wireless internet is only available at lobby and the basement, so everyone is hanging out at the same spot, which is good. Unfortunately internet didnt work properly, but as you want to meet people and enjoy Dublin, it should bother you that much. I would also highly recommend the pub crawl AND the daily free walking tour (dont forgett to tip the tour guide (Richard).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for great feedback. Our Wifi providers have just changed so it is a lot better thankfully however as you say the Hostel is about being sociable so we love it when you talk to each other rather than your smart phones !!

86%

Isaacs is right in town and easy to find. They have a lot of support for adventurous travelers and good advice on where to go for food, beer, whatever you want. The internet is fast and mostly reliable. My only complaint is that I had a very hard time finding anywhere quiet to have some down time. In the end this is one of the best hostles I've been in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Really fabulous comments - so good to hear . Just for next time we do have the study room in the basement which is usually peaceful

86%

The staffs and roommates are very nice! Atmosphere excellent! The basement lounge is very quiet when compared to the lobby and is suitable for doing personal reading or internet surfing. There's just one thing, I stayed at 14 bed female dorm and the outlets for recharging are not located evenly, which is a little inconvenient. And there's no individual lighting for each bed also. Since there's always someone sleeping in the room, I often need to arrange my personal stuffs in the dark.


100%

BEST HOSTEL EVER!!!!!Meet a lot of people, close to the city center, close to the bus station, close to Temple bar, great atmosphere, very cleaned...what else?? :)


83%

Staff seems to take their guests for granted - easy to understand in such a busy location - but guests are treated as if their business is not valued.

  • 30th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

One of the best youthhostels i have ever been

  • 30th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We were really pleased with our stay at isaacs.. It was in a great location. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Good value for money. Free breakfast. Very clean, a great place! would stay there again.

  • 30th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Services and facilities were very convenient and excellent! People were very loud in the halls which is not in the control of the staff, but for people who are not there to party and go out, it might not be a good hostel that meet their needs!

  • 30th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Isaacs hostel was my first hostel experience ever and i really liked it. Great athmosphere, just a few steps to the city center, bus station across the street...everything what you need.

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very good hostel. The basement is great. However, the WiFi doesn't work inside the rooms (like many other hostels) and the shower was always cold, I had to complain. This is really bad.


54%

It is very disorganized and has no control over who enters or leaves the site.


91%

The staff are so helpful, especially the guy on in the evenings, he gave us an awesome tour to take in the wicklow national park. Would probably stay here again, theres just a few things. The first floor was very humid, and the room was really stuffy and dusty, it gave my girlfriend hayfever. The kitchens really good, and the place has an awesome atmosphere. We met some awesome people at this place


77%

Pros: Good crowd. Very international. Great for meeting people and going out The free breakfast. Good range of spreads, and decent coffee Good facilities, and plenty of activities and info provided Cons: Not very clean Not enough toilets/bathrooms Lockers are down in the basement. I always prefer them to be in my room


91%

Well organised, great friendly staff!


(3338 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback