X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6866 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Good location, very close to bus station and tram stops. Easy walk to major attractions. Staff was very helpful, great security. Lots of atmosphere but if you want to go to bed early on a Saturday I might suggest getting some ear plugs.

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Overall really good, the only downside is that you only get wifi in the reception/lounge area on the first floor, not everywhere in the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lack is wifi so our guests can talk to each other!!

86%

No WiFi in the rooms. Free sauna is only for three hours a day, and very inconvenient times.

Owner Comment (Hide)
No wifi in the rooms is in order for our guests to talk to each other rather than have their heads stuck in the phones or computer - a novel idea, don't you think????

83%

There were no lockers in the rooms which made me a little uncomfortable. The experience also could have been improved if there was wifi in the rooms too and not just the common areas especially because many international travelers can only communicate with people using wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our lack of wifi is to encourage interaction between guests - Isaacs used to be famous as a place where people all over the world stayed and made friends - it can't happen when you head is stuck in a computer or phone.

80%

Can be kind of noisy. Thin wall and noisy floors. Don't except oversleeping too much. But apart from that very good stay.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Next time ask for our ear plugs which is for our lighter sleepers.

80%

Pros: friendly staff, good location, great free walking tour, and real clean. Cons: beds were pretty small, fire alarm went off both mornings we were there, tiny bathrooms, rooms were super hot! Couldn't sleep very well here.


51%

This was a horrible stay. Was in a shared room, which was fine but the walls were so thin that sleep was very lacking. Not one of the stalls in the woman's bathroom locked. I could go on about bad things but the location was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay - we have ear plugs for our light sleepers.

100%

A great place to stay with great staff and atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review - we love guests like you!

63%

They have a sauna, nothing else. No lockers either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Sorry you didn't appear to appreciate our facilities. Most guests just use the hostel as a base to go out and visit the great city of Dulbin - the sauna and our basement area are with WIFI, fussball table, reading area and laundry facilities for the end of the day before you taste the nightlife of Dublin

80%

En general todo bien. El desayuno pobre comparado con otros hostels

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Glad you liked the hostel.

89%

Era la primera vez que iba a este tipo de alojamiento y me ha parecido extraordinario, limpio, organizado y el personal muy agradable. Repetire

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

En general muy bien. Destacaria la limpieza del hostel y la ubicación, se puede ir a pie a cualquier sitio.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much.

94%

The staff were friendly and helpful. Atmosphere was good - busy because it's a big hostel. Location is about 15-20 min walk from the center. Good breakfast - boiled eggs! Wifi in the common areas. Clean and good beds. The all female room I was in had its own bathroom/shower, which was nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

86%

You should make more events internally. Pub Crawl was fun, but would have been more fun to just do it with a group of Isaacs Hostel or only one other hostel.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your suggestions - we do a lot of events in the summer alright.

86%

Ein Hostel wie man es sich vorstellt. Alles da was man braucht ;-)

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Vielen Dank

94%

Would be easier zu have lockers in the rooms. Was missing more opportunities to leave ms Stuff in the bathrooms.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Glad you liked the hostel. We are looking at putting in lockers.

80%

Great hostel. The only thing missing is some sort of locker in the room. Somewhere to keep a change of clothes. If you have a computer, you keep it out of sight so that means in a bag and if you have a bag and don't know your room mates you want to keep it in the lockup, which is in the basement. I think I did 10 trips to that basement on the first evening.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We do have laptop safes in reception for laptops and smaller items.

74%

The rooms are noisy. One can easily hear everything that is going on the same floor and the one above. The WCs are cleaned every morning so they are usually very clean. The staff is very friendly and they will help in everything they can.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the noise - we do offer ear plugs for our light sleepers.

91%

Great hostel in an excelent location in dublin. Very easy to access from airport or to go to visit the city. Excelent recommendations given by the staff. Very good that hostel has a kitchen. I just only suggest that the rooms should have more plugs. Difficult to charge the mobile and camera inside the room. Definitly recommend Isaac's Hostel !!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review - glad you enjoyed your stay.

91%

Great staff, for every problems a solution, good advises, nice Young People, Perfect stay at Isaac's Hostel :)

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much - so glad you enjoyed your stay.

(364 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback