X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6042 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This is just great. Thanks Ian


97%

Wi-Fi in rooms would be great and air con or fans as the room where boiling hot.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

First time I`v.e used a hostel.A very enjoyable experience & would use it again on my next visit

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Some positives were the friendly and helpful staff, free breakfast and the generally cleanliness. Some negatives were that it is located next to the train station so if you are on one side of the building you will hear the train come in early in the morning also in summer the rooms get pretty hot. But overall good value for money and was nice to have easy going staff


91%

Ich habe nachgerechnet, seit 1993 habe ich 16 Mal meinen Urlaub in Irland verbracht. Dabei mind. 32 Übernachtungen im Isaacs!!


89%

Isaacs Cons: no signs or floor plan maps for rooms, creaky floors and beds, the corridors were super hot and humid (not so good when putting make up on!) staff are helpful but not friendly (the guys are pretty good though), not much atmosphere, not great for single travelers Pros: good hot showers, bathrooms were small but reasonably clean, mirrors in the corridors with good lighting and power points, good internet connection (fine for skyping), and the place is nice and secure.


100%

Very friendly staff, great facilities, very clean and a private room at a very reasonable price!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Godt førstehåndindtryk men ringe totaloplevelse. Der er dog så mange men afgørende småting, der trak den samlende oplevelse ned – for mange til at nævne dem alle her. Alle som kunne klares nemt, hvis der var vished og vilje hertil. Men hvis du kan sove i udtalt larm fra smækkende døre på gangen, trives med subtropisk fugtigt klima trods behagelige udetemperatur og se bort fra hygiejnen på toilettet, så har dette hoste rimelig placering og pris.


83%

often the hang out rooms in the basement were sticky. but besides that, I had a wonderful experience at the Isaacs hotel! I would come again.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

He tenido una estancia muy satisfactoria. Por sacarle alguna pega, he echado de menos algun tipo de caja de almacenaje. Mis companeras de habitacion eran muy desordenadas y pienso que eso podr'ia ayudar a tenerlo todo mas ordenado


71%

Incredibly hot, there was only one window in the bathroom and it hadn't been (and couldn't be) opened. These were in the centre of the building causing the rooms to heat up as well. Other than that everything seemed good.


94%

fantastic place to stay if visiting dublin/backpacking


91%

Very well located and comfortable

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Bathrooms could be cleaner. Rooms were uncomfortably hot, not for me personally, but the people I traveled with mostly agreed.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Enjoyed staying there - would stay again

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Brilliant hostel, central location and easy enough to find. Staff are lovely which makes the difference. Shared a room with 5 other girls and all were lovely. Lockers are provided. Only problem was that it was really warm but that wouldn't put me off going again! Place was very clean also! Definitely recommend it and I'd stay there again no problem :)

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

As a mid twenties female, I would not recommend this hostel unless you are in the city with the intention of partying. It was extremely hot, noisy, and not always the cleanest. Staff we friendly but not overly helpful.


94%

Great hostel, absolutely loved it. Two negatives, one was the complete lack of sleep as a result of the train running past every couple of minutes. Once you've been woken by it, there's no getting back to sleep! The other, was the unbelieveably rude man on reception during the night shift. Every night without fail he would make our stay as unpleasant as possible, it was laughable really! Apart from that it was the 2nd best hostel I've ever stayed in, thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your great review - glad you enjoyed it. So sorry about the bad reception from the night porter - I will be looking in to this. Normally we get fantastic feedback regarding our staff.

89%

The only annoying thing is the times for the kitchen being closed for cleaning (although I'm glad the do clean it!). Minor thing though, and more than compensated by the (mostly) cheery and helpful staff, the fresh and airy rooms and the extras - free sauna, large common areas in the basement, table-tennis table etc etc. Location is also ideal - just off the centre, quiet enough to chill out a bit, but an easy tipsy stumble from the city centre.


86%

good overall. can't complain.


(397 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback