X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6133 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Perfect location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your great review.

100%

The staff was beyond helpful with any question I had about Dublin. They were always available night and day. I was little bummed out to find out when I returned to Dublin that there wasn't any vacancy, hands down the best trip of my life.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much - we love guests like you.

80%

Perfect location, clean rooms, but terribly loud.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the noise.

63%

The temperature in the place is insane. Far to hot in the rooms. More of a lads on tour vibe than a backpacker one. Not a bad thing if that is what you are looking for. Not enough showers and no wifi in rooms isn't great. Not a bad hostel just a very average one.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for posting your review. The temperatures while you were here were high alright but it is quite cold now.

86%

A bit far from the main bits in dublin but other than that no problems at all. Perfect for traveling solo

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay.

77%

The Isaacs Hostel is comfortably close to the city core (3mins by foot). It's full of young people gathering at the lobby, lots of healthy drinking in the evening and good speaker music setting the mood. Unfortunately, the train tracks are just in front of the rooms (although the train is much slower and quieter during the night)! Another thing I didn't like was not having lockers in the room, it really makes one person unease about personal valuables.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for posting your review - we do offer ear plugs to any light sleepers. Safes are provided and we offer left luggage cages in the basement. Glad you liked the atmosphere.

94%

This place is awesome! They really tried their best to make me welcome. My room was originally too hot, so they gave me a free upgrade and were so nice about it! I had the best time, thanks guys!


94%

An excellent place to stay. Lively, but not noisy. Most of the staff are very helpful and friendly, they'll do their best to sort out any issues at any hour. I'd come back just for the atmosphere, forget Dublin!


74%

The best part about the stay was the people that I had met! Aside from that, the accommodations were so-so but it was one of the cheapest hostels available in Dublin! The windows let in very little ventilation and the showers were sort of EH (flip flops are a neccesity). It was still a great time in the 10 bed mixed dorm but I can see how it would be difficult for some to sleep..

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location, stay, EVERYTHING!


51%

What an awful place! The room was unbearably stuffy, the window would neither stay open nor stay closed. No air conditioning. Squeaky floorboards. VERY squeaky beds. Frantic staff. Located in a rough part of town. The only redeeming feature was the airport shuttle bus, although it didn't arrive on time, and never does, aparently. Definitely for first-time globetrotters rather than seasoned travellers.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you didn't appear to enjoy your stay at our hostel. it is not usual for it to be so warm but we do have some fans for our guests when it too warm (a couple of weeks a year at most).

100%

It was a great stay among great people in a great location with excellent facilities. I would definitely recommend it, and will be staying there whenever I am in Dublin!

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel is EXTREMELY NOISY! Instead of Isaacs Hostel a better name would be SlamingDoors Hostel. This is definitely a problem. The wooden floors are noisy too. So it is impossible to have a normal sleep. So they have to do something on this. That is the reason I would not recommend it to other people unless you have no problem with it.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Great place to stay! Just right by the bridge to get to the side where everything is. It's clean and big! The rooms are clean and they have big bathrooms.. Maybe could use a few more sinks in the girls. It can get crowded. Overall good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review - glad you enjoyed it.

80%

Wifi is a little spoty but had a great time over all. Ps do the walking tour and pub crawl, great way to meet people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed it.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

Very friendly atmosphere with people hanging out in the lobby at all hours of the day. Staff are also helpful and fun. Great location being seconds away from the main bus terminal and tram lines, also a minute walk from O 'Connel street and an easy stumble home from Temple Bar and other nightlife. Decent breakfast for a hostel and sizable kitchen to cook for yourself. Definitely do the pub crawl and free morning walking tour.


71%

It's a nice place to stay for a couple of nights, lovely staff and people, a bunch of cool activities offered. They have to install an aircon or something in the hallways and the bathrooms though, as soon as you leave the room you're in a sauna. The breakfast is better than average in hostels, you get good coffee and juice, sometimes even boiled eggs. It's as clean as you expect a budged accommodation to be ;)

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Only one problem- the first floor heating was always on, and it was roasting in the dorm.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Bestest hostel, next time I'm back in Dublin, I will stay here again. Great staff, great atmosphere, perfect location, can walk to city centre.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your lovely review.

91%

Dublin was a very cool city and this hostel let you experience it all! The free walking tour gave us the historical overview of the city we needed and the pub crawl was the perfect way to end each night. Thank you Isaacs for a great stay! Slanja!!!


(3778 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback