X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
5936 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

With free sauna, free movie nights, and a huge well equipped kitchen, this place is awesome. The staff was always very helpful and the atmosphere was perfect for the young backpacker. The floors in the rooms were dirty but nothing we couldn't live with. The hostel is right next to a train station so it does get pretty noisy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much. We will take up your comment regarding dirty floors with our housekeeping staff - they do wash the floors daily.

86%

The staff is extremely helpful and works harded to make our stay a good one. The internet is not so good, not a very strong connection. One should not think that they can use it when they wish.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive reiew. glad you liked the hostel.

91%

Très bonne auberge, l'une des meilleurs dans laquelle je suis passé! Je recommande ! Les dortoirs sont très bien et l'équipe très sympa !

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup. Nous sommes contents que vous avez passe un bon séjour chez nous.

77%

Location is pretty good (not in the middle of the party area, but close enough to everything). Breakfast was def. ok for a hostel (toast&cereal, eggs on Sunday). Rooms a bit dusty, but other than that ok. One major complaint though: the doors! They shut automatically (which is great for safety, but awful for sleep) and close with an extremely loud bang!!! It is possible to close them more quietly, but people just don't care (especially in the mornings when getting up or at 3am after a night out)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are currently looking at ways of quietening the doors banging.

86%

Lo único realmente malo son los €10 que te piden para poder dejar tus cosas después del check out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review.

80%

The hostel was nice, very clean and easy to find. It was centrally located so walking everywhere was great. The only problem was the room. We were in a 14 bed all girls room, and the only source of ventilation in the entire hallway was a window in the bedroom. It was too hot to sleep comfortably, and you broke a sweat while brushing your teeth.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you liked the hostel but sorry about the heat.

94%

Das Hostel ist in einer kleinen Nebenstraße untergebracht, also kein Straßenlärm. Allerdings ist gleich daneben eine Bahnbrücke, also leider Zuglärm. Ich fand das allerdings nicht schlimm, da ich bei jedem Lärm schlafen kann :) Der Empfang war super! Der Typ an der Rezeption hat einen riesen Spaß an seiner Arbeit, sehr sympathisch :) Die Zimmer sind groß und schön eingerichtet, Bad ist auch in Ordung. Aufenthaltsräume sind auch top! Das Personal hilft immer weiter! Alles in allem: sehr gut!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wir sind froh dass Sie mit Isaacs zufrieden waren. Wir haben alle hier einen riesen Spass an unsere Arbeit. Vielen Dank.

91%

Staff was extremely helpful with getting around Dublin and booking tours. Only complaint was that Wi-Fi only worked in reception and basement. So not much socializing and chilling happened in our near the rooms. But overall, fantastic hostel!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We do want our guests to socialize with each other and make new friends (really live ones!!) in the rooms which is why we don't have wifi in the bedrooms.

77%

They need to do something about the heating system! It was boiling in my room on the 2nd floor, even the second night when they said they turned off the heaters. Also, if there is a large group staying please remind the supervisors to manage the group because yelling and fights at 3am is disruptive to the other guests. Overall, ok for the price and location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for posting - I'm not sure what happened with the heat - it is most certainly off now. We do ask the group leaders to maintain the peace and they sign a form confirming this.

83%

Other guests do not really follow the quiet hours in the hallways. Also other guests leave their towels and clothing around the bathrooms.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I think you enjoyed our hostel apart from the guests - it would be great if they would make more of an effort to be quiet at night and to keep things tidy. We do our best to encourage it.

74%

Our neighbours made a lot of noise

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry about neighbours. We do our best to maintain the peace.

97%

I stayed at Isaac's once with friends and went back on my own about a month later because I knew that the atmosphere was really great, the staff was very fun and helpful, and the facilities are good. The lockers were nice because there was only a deposit to lock your stuff up (unless it was overnight) so that was really nice to have especially when I was on my own. It's definitely a good place to go on your own though because it's very easy to meet people!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review. We love guests like you!!

77%

Nice people.. When we were there there was also an entire American college football team there and they kinda took over the place... Other than that it was a good place and the pub crawl was really fun!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay.

89%

The hostel was great! It was super clean, the rooms were really big and it smelled really fresh in there. The staff was very nice except one guy was a little sarcastic when we asked for a recommendation for where to eat. The location is amazing, we were walking distance to everything we wanted to see, and if we wanted to go further, there is a tram station right behind the hostel. At night, the room was a little hot and our room fan wasn't working but overall amazing experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

94%

The room had obvious dirt including hair on the floor and mattress. This was on the first day, first time we walked into the room so obviously was there from previously. Sheets did not fit over entire mattress, which was small and thin as it was.

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Good atmosphere around the hostel, very busy! I stayed in a 16 bed mixed dorm only problem was the train line was right outside the window on the 3rd floor so that was pretty noisy during the night!

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We do offer any light sleepers ear plugs.

97%

I only stayed here one night, but the place had a great vibe, and it was in a good location. It seems like a fun place to stay if you like meeting people and nightlife, as well.


51%

Very disappointed. Location - not terrible but not the best either. Quite far from central area where many other hostels are located. Rooms - like an army camp and only 3 showers for the whole floor. Sauna available ONLY 2 hrs per day. Ping Pong equipment - broken and hard to use. No atmosphere in the "chilling out area" WIFI only works in reception area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry you didn't seem to enjoy your stay with us. We will look into your comments about the broken ping pong bats. Sorry but you are incorrect when you say that there are only 3 showers for the whole floor - we have 2 sets of showers on every floor - and on the left side on each floor we have 3 extra showers and toilets. Perhaps you didn't see this. We don't have wifi in the bedrooms as we would really like our customers to talk to each other. 5 of the biggest hostels in Dublin are here.

66%

Isaacs was a decent hostel. The front desk staff are very helpful if you have questions of what to do, where to go, how to see it. The rooms are not ventilated at all. Was in an 8 bed mixed room and it smelled absolutely terrible and all we had to try and help the smell of unshowered men was a small fan. Not enough plugs in the room either. Wifi only works in the lobby. Have to pay for lockers and they're in the basement. 5-10 min walk to Temple Bar area. Across the street from train, bus, tram

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Sorry about the smell in the room especially as it is quite warm in Dublin and difficult enough to get air into the rooms.

89%

Great hostel! Staff is very fun and helpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review.

(403 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback