X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
7737 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Only inconvenience: the floor in the bedroom squeaked

  • 2nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Nachts war es immer sehr laut!

  • 2nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So leid, wenn Sie es laut gefunden. Wir sind sehr beschäftigt in diesem Sommer, aber bieten Ohrenstöpsel für leichtere Schwellen

66%

Auberge très bien située. Accès à toutes les commodités nécessaires ! Personnel sympathique. Auberge très bruyante mais ceci est normal puisqu'elle était complète. Seul réel problème le train qui passe à quelques mètres et qui fait trembler les murs! Je recommande l'auberge pour l'emplacement et l'ambiance.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup pour vos commentaires - Heureux que vous aimé l'ambiance. Donc désolé si les trains vous dérangés, mais nous offrons des bouchons d'oreille pour les traverses plus légers et ont aussi des chambres à l'arrière de l'auberge loin de la gare

74%

Wifi cannot be connected in bedrooms Railway are near the hostel so there are noise when trains are moving

  • 2nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have Wifi throughout the Hostel so not sure why you could not connect in bedrooms . We will do a system check today so our apologies . Trains do not run after 1130 pm so this is and we do have ear plugs for lighter sleepers or early nighters !

77%

The people working there were really nice. The lockers are in the basement, which isn't very convenient, but at least they have lockers. The rooms are clean and they seem to constantly clean the showers.

  • 1st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The location was great. The hostel staff was helpful with the booking process despite the number of guests. The lockers in the basement were spacious but far from our room on the 3rd floor. The hostel felt safe in that area. The hostel has a college dorm feel due to the large number of guests that share the bathroom and shower facilities. We avoided the kitchen because it was very busy, not very clean later in the day, and ate out in the city because of all the other food options.

  • 1st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

we spent lovely days

  • 1st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
and lovely nights we hope ?

77%

Decent hostel. Staff were very friendly. It's a pretty busy hostel, the common room felt pretty cramped. As there was no internet access in the rooms, everyone camped out in the space.


80%

Some chair in the showers would be nice. There are too little toilets for the number of people on a floor.


86%

My friend and me like to do things that are less touristic! The hostel staff really helped us! We had a lot of fun at the walk from Bray to Graystones and also our hike in Wicklow mountains was lovely! Thank you guys!

  • 31st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We love those walks , great for an easy escape to the City!

74%

Showers were disgusting and annoying to have to press the knob for more water every 10 seconds. There should be a shelf to place your toiletries somewhere other than on the ground. Also an annex within the shower stall to place an extra set of clothes and where one could change.


91%

Ich habe meinen Aufenthalt im isaacs sehr genossen! Die Mitarbeiter sind super freundlich und hilfsbereit, es gibt genügend Sanitäranlagen, alles war sehr sauber. Tagsüber hat es vom putzen nach chlor gerochen, aber da sollte man ja auch unterwegs sein. Das einzig störende waren die vielen Gruppen, die im Hostel waren, das war dann keine so schöne Atmosphäre mehr für jemanden der allein verreist, weil man so kaum jemanden kennenlernt und die Küche abends sehr voll ist.


83%

Overall a decent hostel but the staff is really really good! Very friendly and informative plus they are hilarious.


77%

I had a time . Walking tour was verry good, i enjoyed! Thanks to the girl from Cork.


100%

Probably one of my favourite hostels now. Great spot and the staff are helpful and good for the occasional chat

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice hostel in a good location, staff are friendly and helpful and rooms are nice enough although there are no lockers so security may be an issue for some people


94%

I had a great time at Isaacs. It was super easy to find, staff was great, breakfast was yummy. The free walking tour which is offered is a good thing to get some information about Dublin and Ireland. The train running buy wasn´t that bad if you have a tight sleep.I would definately stay again at Isaacs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks , hope to see you again!

97%

One of the best hostel I have been staying at. Clean, comfortable, with plenty of facilities including overnight lockers for 2 euro (or free during the day), free light breakfast, free wi-fi in the common room, easy going, helpful and friendly staff. Great location just next to the coach station, walking distance from O'Connell street, right in the city centre. I will definitely be back there again when in Dublin.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lovely lovely guest ,we enjoyed this review !

89%

Great staff. Only issue we had at our stay was the low water pressure in the showers and the fact that the water would only run for less than 2 seconds. So if you could let the water run for a little longer so one wouldnt have to put one hand on the button and can use the other for rinsing, that would be grand!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback - we do have timers on our showers which is to do our bit for the enviroment and also help to ensure people are not queuing for showers . We do appreciate your feedback and we will see what can be done to improve . Glad you liked our awesome staff !

74%

Spiacenti, ma l'unica notte passata in ostello è stata rumorosa e non ci ha permesso di dormire, a causa delle voci provenienti dal corridoio durante tutta la notte. Per il resto, il personale di accoglienza è stato gentilissimo e molto di aiuto.

  • 25th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(383 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback