X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5813 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Overall a very good hostel. The only thing that was diffucult for me was that I couldn't eat any breakfast because there was no vegan food.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Bathrooms, great and new- more hooks to put your things needed. Met lots of great people, staff were fantastic. Pub crawl- even better! My only issue- maybe an age restriction wouldn't go astray as it felt like as a young person we were way out numbered by older and CRANKY people. Gave off a wierd vibe being abused by old people for being too noisy (which wasn't the case i totally understand the need for a good nap) when you are in a hostel that is clearly designed to be more on the fun side

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to post - I'm amazed at your comments about older guests - normally it is mainly young people who stay with us or older people with a young attitude!

80%

Très bon séjour dans cet hôtel le seul inconvénient est le bruit dans certaines chambres. en effet, le train passe juste à côté de l'auberge. A part ça tout est ok. Je recommande.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup.

86%

very nice staff. I had a great stay.

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for posting - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

86%

The hostel was great... Good brekkie and the staff were really good... Only slight downfall was the fact that the train passed right by our window every 10 mins which was a bit annoying... Other than that it was great and would definitely stay there again... Especially for the location. :-)

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good hostel. Highly recommend for young people. One nuisance was that the lockers are not in the room, they are in the basement which can be very far from some rooms. And the WiFi only works in common areas, not dorm rooms. Otherwise, great hostel with people hanging out all day- terrific atmosphere! Would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review.

89%

Très bonne auberge de jeunesse en plein centre de la capitale et à deux pas des grands lieux de Dublin. Rapport qualité prix excellent, très bonne ambiance. Je recommande !

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Pros: good location, good price, very helpful staff Cons: wifi works very poorly, and only in reception; no lockers in rooms!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. The wifi does work in the ground floor area - we want our guests to talk to each other in the bedrooms.

86%

à recommander


80%

Great atmosphere and staff. I wish there had been free lockers, but the beds were comfy and the kitchen facilities were good. Pretty good location, right near the bus station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments - sorry about having to charge for the lockers - we try and keep our bed prices as low as possible so we have to charge for extra things like lockers.

89%

je recommande vraiment cette auberge de jeunesse, nous étions deux ami et nous avons trouver l auberge super, le seul bémol le petit déjeuner ferme tôt donc si vous sortez la veille c'est mort Nous avions une chambre double privée (Chambre 103) elle est bien malgré la porte d'escaliers qui tape fort et la vue et moyenne. Sinon parfait séjour, ambiance conviviale et personnel accueillant et serviable.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup - désole que le petit déjeuner ferme assez tôt!

83%

All right !!!

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

No elevator which was rough, and showers were the annoying push button ones that give you hot water for about 2 minutes before you have to push it again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes - Isaacs is a very old building and it wasn't possible to put in an elevator - on the positives you have the lovely old atmosphere you only find in a building like Isaacs and you are probably fitter than when you came!!

74%

someone was in my bed when i got back. The door in the toiled didn't close or lock. i reported both

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry for both of this things - we have sorted out the maintenance issue.

83%

Une auberge sympa, avec un personnel chaleureux, une cuisine sympa, et globalement bien propre. Mais l'auberge est trop bruyante !

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

very clean and amazing staff!!! worth going to

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much - we love reviews like yours!! Come again.

86%

Excellente adresse, emplacement central, personnel agréable, super ambiance sonore, à recommander!

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup.

69%

Breakfast can be much better: no cheese, meat, eggs, choco,... Friendly people dough!

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for posting. Breakfast is just a light breakfast we offer free of charge to our guests -other hostels charge for breakfast.

77%

nice people and atmosphere thank you !

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

94%

Only stayed for one night but this hostel was so great. Everyone was so nice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review. Do come again and stay longer next time.

(402 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback