X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5820 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Helpful friendly staff. Great location to the tube in a very nice part of town. Interet was super fast and rooms were big. Lots of stairs made it a little difficult but staff offered to carry your bags. 24 hour manned reception was a great feature.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us - thanks for the nice review.

89%

Great location.Staff really helpfull and welcoming.Breakfast basic but good.Wooden floors in rooms,at least in mine,producing a memorable sound.. In general clean and you get what you pay for.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback which was great.

100%

Great environment, friendly staff and comfortable beds!


63%

No lockers, bathrooms were crowded, dirty, and far from rooms. We also had an issue with them charging us for an extra night on accident and then refused to remove the charge. That being said, if you are looking for a hostel with a good party atmosphere and location in Dublin, Isaac's is worth checking out.


77%

Unfortunately, a bottle of vodka we left in the refrigerator was stolen and nothing could be done because the kitchen has no cameras.

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I loved it! I will definitely come back one day. Great job guys! ;)

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It was a fun place to stay at in Dublin. Not outstanding in any way, but just another big hostel with good facilities and good atmosphere. Staff was generally friendly and helpful, except for one guy on the day shift who is very unpleasant and condescending (unless you're a girl). It would have been helpful to have directions towards the hostel on the hostelworld confirmation email (like most hostels have).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback - we will look at the Hostelworld confirmation to see if we can change to allow directions which is good idea.Sorry to hear that you felt one of our reception team was unhelpful this is really most unusual but we will look into this.

74%

Very noisy

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was a very lively weekend during your stay and hope you enjoyed !

97%

it was a great location, clean and the staff was really helpful. we went on a tour to Belfast they recommended and it was soo fun. they were knowledgeable about the area and gave great directions wherever we needed to go.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

89%

Great location & perfect atmosphere! I recomend this hostel to everybody!


40%

showers and bathroom were extremely dirty, not to mention the kitchen; only 3 female toilets and showers on floor with a god knows how many people - always a line and tons of toilet paper everywhere; everything was filthy despite they say they clean; food should be banned in the rooms because it smells so disgusting everywhere; no individual sockets/lights/curtains or anything that can get you some privacy; you practically cannot do anything in the smelly room they put you in!

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We do clean daily - the whole hostel is cleaned from top to bottom every day. We do have extra showers and toilets in the basement and I assure you we adhere to the legal requirements for the ratio of toilets/showers to people.

86%

We really enjoyed our stay at Isaacs. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The only thing which was a little annoying was that you were not able to turn off the heating, but sleeping with the window open worked fine for us. Overall I would really recommend this hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your feedback .Glad you enjoyed your stay .

57%

Isaacs was an ok hostel... But there is no lift and no wifi in the rooms... Very annoying. The area to get wifi is in a loud lobby with music. There is a quiet basement but it's always full and you have nowhere to sit. They always cleaned the bathrooms just at 8:30 am when everyone is using them and the smell of toxic cleanser in the shower is unpleasant. It costs 2 euro per day to use a locker, it would be nice if they were free. Most of the staff are nice except one is super rude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do only provide wifi in the ground floor areas as we feel that guest typing during the night would be annoying to other guests - also we do want people to make new friends and talk to each other!

94%

I loved this place! The atmosphere was awesome; the place was packed with lots of young travellers. Staff was very helpful and free breakfast was nice. The wifi could have been better but that would be my only complaint.


40%

Ugly! Ugly rooms, ugly beds, ugly toilets!

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. If you wish to contact us directly with more details of what you didn't like, please do so.

91%

The hostel provides you all the facilities you need. Clean, good kitchen, many areas, great showers. Excelent value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review.

94%

Great place, totally recommend this hostel to anyone! Staff and facilities were excellent! Only minus was lack of free safety boxes

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review. We have noted your comment regarding the provision of free safety boxes. Unfortunately at the moment you do have to pay for them but it's not a lot.

100%

i visited 59 hostel untill now, and here i founded the BEST STAFF ever. i remember this: i been at the frint tdesk and i forgot what i needed,, and the guy at the reception: may be u need an adaptor? abd yesss it was... i was borrowing an adaptor.. incredible... but this i s nothing..al of them are kind, then letz talka bout the hsotel... They have more than 1 common area. i remember 3, plus a reading area, plus FREE SAUNA, plus Biliard, ping pong table, good Bathroom, i wanna absolutely c

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review. Do come again.

100%

This is great hostel with great staff. I was there for two nights and everything was perfect. When i will be back in Dublin i go to ISAACS hostel again.

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review. Do come again.

100%

i think this is the perfect hostel, surely the best one i've never seen. Clean, safe, nice atmosphere, super staff ( Renata the account manager is simply fantastic ! ) good music, free SAUNA !...maybe they have just to improve the internet free wi fi connection in the basement and in the relax area..but it works ! So guys thank you all, you are doing an excellent job ! Fabio from Italy

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your great review - we love reviews like yours!

(3637 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback