X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5856 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

I had no possibilyty to come to you the 14th of May. I cancelled therefore the reservation. But you have taken money frpm my account. Please pay it back.

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Please can you contact us directly in relation to this and we will look into it - email groups@isaacs.ie with your reservation number please. We normally do not charge for beds which have been cancelled in accordance with our cancellation policy.

83%

Good value for the price. Nice to have breakfast inclueded. Very good staff indeed!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

100%

i actually stayed at isaacs twice and had a lovely stay both times, the staff were friendly and super helpful. my second visit was because i had left my phone at the hostel the first time and somebody had found it and they kept it for me at the reception which was really awesome and i appreciated that. the place was clean and safe and is a good distance from the city centre. also the flags in the alleyway are quite festive. lots of love from canada and thanks for everything!

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Do come again.

77%

This hostel has everything one could look for and is very well located. It's absolutely huge which takes away from the cozy hostel feel I tend to prefer but there are plenty of opportunities to meet fellow travelers. Breakfast was very good compared to other hostel offerings.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are delighted you were happy with our hostel.

71%

The kitchen was quite dirty and smelly and the showers turned off after 6 seconds (I counted).


83%

They offer some cool yours and features. Take advantage of them especially the walking tour.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

100%

Really enjoyed stopping here! Got everything you needed and has a cracking atmosphere!

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So glad you enjoyed your stay - do come again.

77%

Overall a very good hostel. The only thing that was diffucult for me was that I couldn't eat any breakfast because there was no vegan food.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Bathrooms, great and new- more hooks to put your things needed. Met lots of great people, staff were fantastic. Pub crawl- even better! My only issue- maybe an age restriction wouldn't go astray as it felt like as a young person we were way out numbered by older and CRANKY people. Gave off a wierd vibe being abused by old people for being too noisy (which wasn't the case i totally understand the need for a good nap) when you are in a hostel that is clearly designed to be more on the fun side

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to post - I'm amazed at your comments about older guests - normally it is mainly young people who stay with us or older people with a young attitude!

80%

Très bon séjour dans cet hôtel le seul inconvénient est le bruit dans certaines chambres. en effet, le train passe juste à côté de l'auberge. A part ça tout est ok. Je recommande.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup.

86%

very nice staff. I had a great stay.

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for posting - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

86%

The hostel was great... Good brekkie and the staff were really good... Only slight downfall was the fact that the train passed right by our window every 10 mins which was a bit annoying... Other than that it was great and would definitely stay there again... Especially for the location. :-)

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good hostel. Highly recommend for young people. One nuisance was that the lockers are not in the room, they are in the basement which can be very far from some rooms. And the WiFi only works in common areas, not dorm rooms. Otherwise, great hostel with people hanging out all day- terrific atmosphere! Would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review.

89%

Très bonne auberge de jeunesse en plein centre de la capitale et à deux pas des grands lieux de Dublin. Rapport qualité prix excellent, très bonne ambiance. Je recommande !

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Pros: good location, good price, very helpful staff Cons: wifi works very poorly, and only in reception; no lockers in rooms!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. The wifi does work in the ground floor area - we want our guests to talk to each other in the bedrooms.

86%

à recommander


80%

Great atmosphere and staff. I wish there had been free lockers, but the beds were comfy and the kitchen facilities were good. Pretty good location, right near the bus station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments - sorry about having to charge for the lockers - we try and keep our bed prices as low as possible so we have to charge for extra things like lockers.

89%

je recommande vraiment cette auberge de jeunesse, nous étions deux ami et nous avons trouver l auberge super, le seul bémol le petit déjeuner ferme tôt donc si vous sortez la veille c'est mort Nous avions une chambre double privée (Chambre 103) elle est bien malgré la porte d'escaliers qui tape fort et la vue et moyenne. Sinon parfait séjour, ambiance conviviale et personnel accueillant et serviable.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup - désole que le petit déjeuner ferme assez tôt!

83%

All right !!!

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

No elevator which was rough, and showers were the annoying push button ones that give you hot water for about 2 minutes before you have to push it again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes - Isaacs is a very old building and it wasn't possible to put in an elevator - on the positives you have the lovely old atmosphere you only find in a building like Isaacs and you are probably fitter than when you came!!

(410 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback