X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
7761 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

A really friendly hostel. Comfortable and well equipped. The only drawbacks - no wifi in our room and no sinkplug.

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you kindly ! We do have Wifi throughout the hostel so not sure what happened there it may be high demand period apologies for any disruption to normal service The sink plug was maybe taken as a souvenier- we will investigate !

97%

The staff is really friendly and they are always happy to help you with whatever you may need.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Loved the friendliness of the staff! Everyone was incredibly helpful and amiable.


60%

De sfeer was echt heel erg goed hier, heb hier snel mensen leren kennen. Het hostel was op zich prima qua hygiëne alleen overal ontzettend warm wat wel echt een beetje vies was. Op mijn kamer had je veel herrie van de straat maar dit bokste niet op tegen het gesnurk van mijn kamergenoot. Al met al qua gezelligheid een dikke tien, verder qua gebouw wat minder goed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bedankt voor je bekijken en blij dat je overall.Our veld rond excuses voor warmte en geluid vond tijdens uw verblijf

74%

it stank of smoke almost everywhere and you couldn't open the window in our room because of the window bars so it was very hot in there.


71%

For a hostel in the center of a city, Isaacs is ok. It's mostly clean, you don't feel cramped in the dorms. However the dorm had only one window and it was unbearable hot (it wasn't hot outside, but having only one small window for a large room with 14 people in it, just isn't enough). Besides there was only one big light in the room. In a city hostel (where you know, people will return at different times, some in the middle of the night) someone could have thought of installing small lights...


83%

Everything was not bad, but the train is so close to the hostel so you might got annoyed if you are sensative to the noise. if the water in the shower room can be bigger on 3 floor, it would be better : ) maybe you can have more wall sockets for people. And the cleaning staff might can be nicer? She might be exhausted so looked unhappy for others... After all, the staff, the bed, the baseroom, the location, the security are nice, concert was great, worthy to stay based on the price. Thanks Issac


77%

la limpieza y las camas eran muy deficitarias... los edredones estaba llenos de polvo, las camas en mal estado, la limpieza de las habitaciones tampoco era muy buena.... El desayuno era un poco pobre... Lo mejor la atención personal del equipo de recepción (felicitades a Alexandra!!!)

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lo siento mucho escuchar esto - tenemos normalmente buenas críticas en la limpieza. Todas las habitaciones se limpian a diario por lo que vamos a investigar. Pasaremos en sus respecta a Alexandra

83%

Wir hatten zwei sehr angenehme Nächte in diesem Hostel. Die Mitarbeiter sind äußerst freundlich und geben sich viel Mühe. Wir fühlten uns sehr gut aufgehoben und würden es auch wieder buchen :)

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Danke Schon

74%

O apartamento o qual fiquei passa uma linha de trem, a 20-30 metros da cama. Entao impossivel de se dormir. Sugiro que fiquem no outro hostel do mesmo grupo o qual eh praticamente do lado, mas nao passa o trem.


100%

Great place. Staff is amazing and will always be available to answer any questions. Very accommodating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great review and thank you!

91%

Nice hostel, well located in the city with nice atmosphere ! The ideal place to stay in Dublin for few days and visit the city. The staff is helpful and you can meet some nice poeple and enjoying pubcrawl to discover Dublin's night life !

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you liked the hostel . Thanks for your lovely review

97%

J'ai passé un excellent séjour à Isaac de Frenchman lane

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Wonderful stay. Very helpful & friendly staff. Very nice hostel & excellent location.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel. Great location.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Do not allow alcohol an the rooms please. We hat a eight bed room and six of them drunk and due to this the room smelled and sleeping was impossible

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry to hear that your roommates were drunk. We would if possible move you and would intervene if needed. Usually the common rooms are where socialising and drinking would take place, as we do want out guests to have peaceful nights sleep

66%

Lovely staff, really awesome common room, but unfortunately everything else was average. Our room was next to a train line that screeched all day/late at night and early in the morning. No wifi in rooms, for 2 days the showers didn't work and often the ones on other level were shut as well. Rooms were clean though, and comfortable, maybe we were just unlucky.


100%

Great staff, location especially when travelling w/teenage sun. Highly recommend this place for budget travelers.

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Most wonderfull staff that pass down a very postive vibe right off to anyone who visits!

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

A group of people attempted to mug me at the front door. The front desk would not let me in until about three minutes later, where I was cornered at the door and being threatened. Their excuse was that they didn't know I wasn't with them. A very poor excuse -- the violent threat on the doorstep was apparently my responsibility. The next night, in the room, a man violently talked to himself and subsequently pissed the floor. By the next morning they supposedly removed him, yet he came back.

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(375 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback