X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5813 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Its ok I dont mind staying in it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for posting your review.

60%

Too noisy. Could hardly sleep because Doors were slammed all night. Bathroom was alright but only 2 sinks on floor,which is not enough. Not too clean either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry you found the place to be noisy. We do clean the hostel daily though and pride ourselves on cleanliness.

80%

Bonne auberge avec un personnel très agréable. Les surfaces (sol et mur) ne sont pas toujours très clean dans les escaliers et les couloirs mais le revetement y est pour quelque chose. Bref, rien de gênant. Merci encore pour les prestations.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup.

86%

Nous étions un groupe de 9 personnes pour un weekend à Dublin. Chambre propre, auberge sécurisée et bien située, personnel sympathique! Je recommande

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup. Nous sommes hereuses que vous avez passe un bon séjour chez nous.

80%

The hostel is nice, but the bathrooms are not good arranged; only two handbasins in a floor is too less!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your review.

83%

I stayed for 5 days in this Hostel. Nice rooms, good facilities for a nice price. the location is perfect. i was afraid that there would be some noise from the adjacent train track but on top floor and with the windows closed there wasn't any noise. the place was great

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for posting your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

80%

Ótima localização, ambiente super agradável, bons funcionários.

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

80%

FOR 2 IN A private room a hotel room would have been a better deal!

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We don't have that many twin and double rooms so they are in great demand.

97%

Good position, nice staff. I would definately advise this hostel if you are intended to visit dublin!

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

97%

Best hostel I have ever had the pleasure to have stayed in. There is always something fun to do around Isaacs. I am literally in love with this hostel & wish I could book it in every major city around the world. If you are looking for a spacious, beautiful, hip hostel with a home-like feeling, you've found it...why haven't you booked already? the staff is as helpful as can be and so friendly and nice. Showers are clean and fine. Rooms are cumfy. Love love love Isaacs!!! 10/10 would recommend. A+

Owner Comment (Hide)
We love your review - if only all guests could be like you!!! Do come again.

100%

I have never had a problem at Isaac's and I have stayed there twice. The workers are animated and love chatting with you, not to mention they will answer any and all of your questions. They told us excellent/inexpensive places to eat and what areas to avoid in Dublin. The wifi is not the greatest, but they have it, and you'll likely go to the Guinness Brewery anyway, and their wifi makes up for it.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your positive review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

89%

We came to the hostel late at night, and we were welcommed by some very nice staff. The hostel lies close to the city centre and has all you would expect from a hostel table tennis common room

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and in Dublin.

69%

the room was very small and had no wifi connection. very disappointed in this.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry you were not happy with the size of your bedroom. We don't have wifi in the bedrooms to encourage social interaction between guests and to avoid disruption to other guests during the night. Hopefully you had a good stay in Dublin despite this.

77%

The Hostle was great for what we needed, central location, cheap, and a place for us to rest our heads on a night. The staff were great apart from one who was very very rude to us! Can't remember his name otherwise I would name and shame as the tone in which he spoke to us was just not nice!! The wi-fi was a massive left down too! That did not work at all during our stay. One final thing is that because there are so many people staying at the Hostle, on a morning you could not get a hot shower.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. I wish you could tell us who was rude to you - we expect all our staff to be friendly and nice all of the time. We will look into the hot shower issue. Normally the wifi works on the ground floor but it doesn't work in the bedrooms.

86%

Pour ma première fois en auberge , je ne suis pas déçu , le personnel est très sympas et présent 24/24h, une bonne ambiance, juste dans les chambres de 8, il fait un peu chaud, sinon c'est propre, je recommande donc cette auberge.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci pour votre critique. Nous sommes contents que vous avez passe un bon temps chez nous.

74%

I passed a really great time in this hostel. Everybody was nice and smilling. A bad point was at the first night I didn't have my bed free. I had to take another one. The second time someone wake me up because it wasn't my bed... It's not you're fault, it's juste sometimes people don't respect rules.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Isaacs. Sorry someone took your bed.

63%

if you like walking up and down stairs a lot...Isaacs is for you...no lift, which is why I changed location after my few short stays here...only one computer and it was not in working order part of time...breakfast is toast, plain cereal and juice. Laundry less expensive than next hostel I went to, but still it's 3 euro for wash, 3 euro for dry and a lot of up and down the stairs to find time when washer was available. On plus side it is close to the intercity buses.

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We hope that the character of the hostel offsets the lack of lifts. We have found that most of our guests use their own laptops or iPads or iPhones and so we need the computers less and less.

100%

Absolutely no complaints! Issacs was a very comfortable, fun atmosphere. The staff was remarkably helpful and the rooms were perfect. Definitely recommend. One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

The staff was not helpful. They charged for lockers which should come standard. There was elevator and no wifi in the rooms, which meant that when we were looking up information on attractions we had to sit in the common areas which were crowded and loud. There was a train directly outside of our window White bread and juice is not a "light breakfast". There were no top sheets on the beds, just a bottom sheet and a blanket.. One of the lights in our room did not work so it was very dark.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Isaacs. Unfortunately it is common practice to charge for locker rental so this is not standard. We don't have wifi in the bedrooms for a couple of reasons - mainly because we want our guests to talk to each other and make new friends and secondly people tapping away on a computer in the middle of the night can disturb other guests who want to sleep. Regarding the bed linen we provide a bottom sheet and a duvet which has a duvet cover which is changed daily.

74%

- Spacious rooms - Lack of sockets! -WIFI only available in the common area - Try to not be on 3rd floor as there is a train passing every 20 min. (It's a bridge) - In general, good hostel and great price!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review We are glad you enjoyed your stay but have taken on board your comments regarding the sockets which is something we are looking at at the moment. We are very central so there is a noise from the street and the train but we do have rooms at the back of the hostel which are quieter so if you are coming again ask for a room at the back. And we offer ear plugs for our lighter sleepers.

(399 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback