X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5570 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

This is a big hostel but does the job, nice enough for a few days. Mostly clean although I think I may have gotten a few bedbug bites from the pillow...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for positive comments .All rooms screened regualary by professional company and we have no bed bugs.

91%

A very vibrant and good hostel. Alot of activties and great location. Staff was really kind and helpful. If you go to Dublin, book a bed at Isaacs! But he wi-fi should work in the rooms and not only in the reception.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks for great review. The Wifi Is free in Common rooms but we don't offer in the rooms as this could be annoying to sleeping Guests . PLUS we like to be sociable in the hostels

97%

Great! Will definitely stay again.


94%

Isaac's was wonderful, and I'd absolutely recommend it to a friend

  • 30th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Incredibly noisy. You can hear everything through doors and walls and cannot sleep until everybody goes to bed. And this is about 2-3 a.m. :( Besides that the hostel was cool with polite staff and good facilities.

  • 30th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear that you found the rooms noisy It was very busy during your stay . if you do come back we do have ear plugs for lighter sleepers which can be useful in hostel enviroment Glad you liked us otherwise !

77%

Wifi is great, but only down in the common areas. Would love to have it in the rooms. The floor boards really creak around the door of the room. If you have a room that is near the train, you'll be woken up numerous times during the night. Staff was very helpful. Really close to the bus station and tram.

  • 29th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

pretty big hostel with great capacity, met many fellow backpackers over the weekend, and lots of tours and activities available. Hostel itself is really interesting and historical. Loved it.


89%

The staff are beyond excellent. That is all.


100%

Exactly what my friends and i needed. Somewhere that is close to the city centre and easy to get around by foot. The staff are really friendly, and the rooms are perfect to meet new people. Would recommend any one to stay here and to take advantage of the pub crawl and the other facilities that the hostel provides. The pub crawl was amazing, we got to go to a classic irish bar with live bands. Will deffienetly be coming back again.

  • 27th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff were super friendly, location was good and the free/cheap tours run were epic. The only thing I'd change is having lockers in the rooms, because in the basement is a little awkward.

  • 27th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Epic Feedback Thank you , we are looking into the logistics of Lockers in rooms for future reference

100%

Absolutely the best hostel I have stayed in thus far! Highly recommend to all!

Owner Comment (Hide)
WOW Thanks !

77%

Internet could have been better. Wifi only worked sometimes and only in very specific places.


94%

Only stayed one night, but the staff were super nice, especially the hotties at the front desk... thanks ladies! And the rooms are nice, clean and spacious.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The hotties said thanks for the compliment !

77%

Large number of people sharing bathroom facilities made cleanliness, and privacy, questionable. Also not many areas in rooms to charge phones etc. Common area facilities were great and staff extremely friendly and helpful.


89%

The staff was amazing.

  • 20th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Isaacs is a very big hostel but well organised, clean and well managed so you don't realise how many people that are actually staying there. Friendly staff, great service and facilities. The breakfast was better then average with boiled eggs during the weekend. Perfect location for transport links from Connolly station and only 10-15 mins walk to attractions.


100%

Hi i would recommend this hostel to anyone, i will be returning again soon.

  • 20th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great place, nice staff Free breakfast!


83%

Good! Rather if you're a student

  • 20th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Cool hostile, nice big common area. Beds did get warm at night, but not much to complain about.


(3535 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback