X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6052 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

wonderful pub crawl, we'd payed dividends, excellent walking tour of Dublin with an energic touristic guide

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It's the best location you can get in Dublin. Period.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your good review. - Do come again.

89%

I recommend the bar crawl. It was really fun and took you to good pubs! The showers were cold, and it was pretty noisy in the 16 bed female room, but I would still stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your nice review- we will look into your comment about the cold showers - there should be plenty of hot water at all times.

94%

It's a nice hostel in the centre of Dublin. In case of needing to go to the airport during the night, they have a bus that takes you there in 30min, for 6€. You need to book it in the reception before. The only negative thing I'd point is that the lockers are outside the rooms, in the basement, and that you need to pay 2€ in case you want to keep it during the night (during the day is for free). According to one of the reception guys there is an Striptease but he didn't want to tell us whr


100%

Isaacs Hostel was better than I imagined. The staff was amazing, especially Florin. He went above and beyond in making this experience what is was for us. He was very informative and helpful. Great experience, great staff, great hostel!!

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Isaac's has a great atmosphere for young travelers. The rooms are quiet but the lounge area (also check-in) can be quite noisy. I like that Wi-Fi is only available downstairs; it forces guests to mingle. No outlets in the bathrooms means in the winter you have to wake up your roommates to blow dry your hair if you leave early. Very friendly/helpful staff. Hostel is a little difficult to find from the train station though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your review which is great particularly love that you mention the Wifi downstairs encourages guest mingling .! We agree ! We will see if we can do anything to improve directions from Train station. It's only a 3 min walk but maybe some new online how to get to videos would help ?

94%

I stayed at Isaac's for one night on St. Patrick's Day weekend and I loved it! The staff were super friendly and helpful, explained everything the hostel offers and gave suggestions for places to eat. It had a great vibe; tons of people hanging out in the lobby and game room. I was by myself and I easily found people to hang out with for the night. Great location, super cheap (even on St. Paddy's weekend!), a bunch of activities, and free breakfast! Would definitely recommend this hostel!


94%

Helpful friendly staff. Great location to the tube in a very nice part of town. Interet was super fast and rooms were big. Lots of stairs made it a little difficult but staff offered to carry your bags. 24 hour manned reception was a great feature.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us - thanks for the nice review.

89%

Great location.Staff really helpfull and welcoming.Breakfast basic but good.Wooden floors in rooms,at least in mine,producing a memorable sound.. In general clean and you get what you pay for.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback which was great.

100%

Great environment, friendly staff and comfortable beds!


63%

No lockers, bathrooms were crowded, dirty, and far from rooms. We also had an issue with them charging us for an extra night on accident and then refused to remove the charge. That being said, if you are looking for a hostel with a good party atmosphere and location in Dublin, Isaac's is worth checking out.


77%

Unfortunately, a bottle of vodka we left in the refrigerator was stolen and nothing could be done because the kitchen has no cameras.

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I loved it! I will definitely come back one day. Great job guys! ;)

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It was a fun place to stay at in Dublin. Not outstanding in any way, but just another big hostel with good facilities and good atmosphere. Staff was generally friendly and helpful, except for one guy on the day shift who is very unpleasant and condescending (unless you're a girl). It would have been helpful to have directions towards the hostel on the hostelworld confirmation email (like most hostels have).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback - we will look at the Hostelworld confirmation to see if we can change to allow directions which is good idea.Sorry to hear that you felt one of our reception team was unhelpful this is really most unusual but we will look into this.

74%

Very noisy

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was a very lively weekend during your stay and hope you enjoyed !

97%

it was a great location, clean and the staff was really helpful. we went on a tour to Belfast they recommended and it was soo fun. they were knowledgeable about the area and gave great directions wherever we needed to go.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

89%

Great location & perfect atmosphere! I recomend this hostel to everybody!


40%

showers and bathroom were extremely dirty, not to mention the kitchen; only 3 female toilets and showers on floor with a god knows how many people - always a line and tons of toilet paper everywhere; everything was filthy despite they say they clean; food should be banned in the rooms because it smells so disgusting everywhere; no individual sockets/lights/curtains or anything that can get you some privacy; you practically cannot do anything in the smelly room they put you in!

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We do clean daily - the whole hostel is cleaned from top to bottom every day. We do have extra showers and toilets in the basement and I assure you we adhere to the legal requirements for the ratio of toilets/showers to people.

86%

We really enjoyed our stay at Isaacs. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The only thing which was a little annoying was that you were not able to turn off the heating, but sleeping with the window open worked fine for us. Overall I would really recommend this hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your feedback .Glad you enjoyed your stay .

57%

Isaacs was an ok hostel... But there is no lift and no wifi in the rooms... Very annoying. The area to get wifi is in a loud lobby with music. There is a quiet basement but it's always full and you have nowhere to sit. They always cleaned the bathrooms just at 8:30 am when everyone is using them and the smell of toxic cleanser in the shower is unpleasant. It costs 2 euro per day to use a locker, it would be nice if they were free. Most of the staff are nice except one is super rude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do only provide wifi in the ground floor areas as we feel that guest typing during the night would be annoying to other guests - also we do want people to make new friends and talk to each other!

(3745 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback