X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5580 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

He tenido una estancia muy satisfactoria. Por sacarle alguna pega, he echado de menos algun tipo de caja de almacenaje. Mis companeras de habitacion eran muy desordenadas y pienso que eso podr'ia ayudar a tenerlo todo mas ordenado


71%

Incredibly hot, there was only one window in the bathroom and it hadn't been (and couldn't be) opened. These were in the centre of the building causing the rooms to heat up as well. Other than that everything seemed good.


94%

fantastic place to stay if visiting dublin/backpacking

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very well located and comfortable

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Bathrooms could be cleaner. Rooms were uncomfortably hot, not for me personally, but the people I traveled with mostly agreed.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Enjoyed staying there - would stay again

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Brilliant hostel, central location and easy enough to find. Staff are lovely which makes the difference. Shared a room with 5 other girls and all were lovely. Lockers are provided. Only problem was that it was really warm but that wouldn't put me off going again! Place was very clean also! Definitely recommend it and I'd stay there again no problem :)

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

As a mid twenties female, I would not recommend this hostel unless you are in the city with the intention of partying. It was extremely hot, noisy, and not always the cleanest. Staff we friendly but not overly helpful.


94%

Great hostel, absolutely loved it. Two negatives, one was the complete lack of sleep as a result of the train running past every couple of minutes. Once you've been woken by it, there's no getting back to sleep! The other, was the unbelieveably rude man on reception during the night shift. Every night without fail he would make our stay as unpleasant as possible, it was laughable really! Apart from that it was the 2nd best hostel I've ever stayed in, thanks!


89%

The only annoying thing is the times for the kitchen being closed for cleaning (although I'm glad the do clean it!). Minor thing though, and more than compensated by the (mostly) cheery and helpful staff, the fresh and airy rooms and the extras - free sauna, large common areas in the basement, table-tennis table etc etc. Location is also ideal - just off the centre, quiet enough to chill out a bit, but an easy tipsy stumble from the city centre.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

good overall. can't complain.


89%

Only stayed for one night (for a concert) but this was by far the nicest hostel my friends and I have ever stayed in. Very clean, staff were absolutely lovely and there was just a generally great vibe! Definitley going to be staying in Isaac's from now on! Thanks for a great (unfortunately brief) stay! Kate

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Me hospedé por 2 noches en Isaacs y la verdad es que me quedé con gusto a poco. La experiencia fue increíble de principio a fin. Cuando llegué, lo hice a las 6:30 de la mañana y me dejaron guardar mis cosas (gratis) en un locker dentro del mismo hostal, además de tomar desayuno sin costo extra alguno. El personal es sumamente amable y alegre; siempre dispuestos a ayudar, la atmósfera es increíble y la ubicación perfecta (justo al lado del terminal de buses y a pasos del centro) 100% recomendable

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

It was a cool hostel. Good location. Slept in a 14 bed dorm only problem was that it was very hot. Not much air flow so didn't have a great sleep. Otherwise atmosphere was great.


80%

The staff is very friendly, and the room was comfortable. But it was very loud at night (3 am on a Wednesday). We could hear every movement and conversation happening above us and in the hallway - not ideal when you're planning to wake up early for a flight.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

It is located under the bridge, like a cave, the breakfast disgusting. Too crowded. Never going back there


100%

Personnel très compétant et très serviable. Excellent endroit ,juste un peu bruyant le soir.


80%

The people were very nice at isaacs. The vibe was good. The bathrooms and showers were decent. I'd definitely stay here again.


91%

Kevin Hannigan was extremely welcoming and helpful for places to eat, things to do, and everything else. We definitely enjoyed our stay.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Près d'une ligne de chemin de fer donc pas de grasse mat', sinon c'est super!


(327 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback