X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6129 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

My favorite part of Issacs was the staff. They were super helpful, funny and kind. Over-all the hostel is great though. Its very well located and has great areas for hanging out, studying and playing games. The breakfast wasn't super hardy and the WiFi doesn't reach to the rooms but other than that I really liked it. Plus we took advantage of their rent a bike program which was super cheap and a great way to see Dublin.


86%

My third visit to Isaacs,a great location for access to The 3 Arena,the Olympia and the BGE theatre,all 15 minutes walk. Its just 10 minutes on the Luas from Heuston Station,really convenient. The rooms are great,warm and clean. The breakfast is very good. Terrific value all round.


80%

Fui con mi familia y nos hospedamos en una habitación doble, era de un tamaño un tanto reducido, aunque era correcta en cuanto a limpieza y aspecto, los baños también estaban bastante bien y a pesar de no ser muy grandes no había problemas de espera. El desayuno era correcto. En el personal había de todo, a nuestra llegada había dos chicos bastante secos pero el resto de los días había un personal animado y muy agradable. Lo único a mejorar seria el calor que hacia en la habitacion.


97%

Amazing place. Looks great and feels great. The staff were super easygoing and funny. Especially fluffy.

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Brilliant hostel! Helpful staff an really great place to stay! Good facilities an easy acsess to all major bus an train stations. Would definatley stay again in future.

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

the staff was awesome and so helpful, and the rooms were perfect for what i needed. Beds are super comfy too.

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff was amazing! Very nice and helpful, i wish i could say the same about the people in my dorm... Overall the hostel was very nice and yay for the free breakfast!


86%

I really liked the hostel. It had a fantastic atmosphere and excellent location. My complaint is that people tend to be very loud when going in and out of the rooms at night. I woke up at 5 a.m. when five guys came into our room and were talking very loudly.

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

it's good hostel for who wants to tripin Dublin. Location is almost perfect to go for stroll in Dublin. Free breakfast is also good. they serve cereal, juice, bread, jam, coffee and butter. but if you want good sleep at night and you are kind of sensitive person, I couldnt recommand this hostel. because the train goes through just over the hostel. and that could bother your sleep. without this thing, this hostel is almost perfect and has reasonable price.


74%

Pros: - Good location, near to bus station and train station. Bus stop for airlink bus from Dublin airport is within 3 minute walking. However, it can be a little bit confusing at first to find the hostel if you dont have a detailed map of Dublin. It's a bit shady if you walk from Talbot street though. It is located within 15-20 minute walk to Dublin main attractions like Trinity College, Temple Bar or Dublin Castle. There are a supermarket and convenience store nearby so it is easy to cook a m

  • 24th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We spent a week at Isaacs and loved it! The staff was awesome and always willing to offer advise on what to do/where to go. The hostel was very safe with key card entry and staff monitoring people coming/going. Only con was that the bathroom trash cans didn't seem to get emptied regularly. Would definitely stay again!

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I really liked the Hostel. People were great and the atmosphere. I was great:)

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Good location, though the pillows were rock solid and the shower was cold


74%

The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere was fun enough, but there are many improvements that should be made at Isaac's.


54%

-The room I stayed, had the window just close to the train rail, couldnt sleep anymore after 6 or 7 am because of that. -Couldnt connect to Wi-Fi -The (key-card) of the door was not working properly, all the time had to try it several times untill I could open it, and had to insist with the staff so they could go see what was going on. -Had a cold shower, no warm water


89%

Staff were mostly awesome, knowledgable, took their time. Sauna a definite bonus. Walls were thin, washrooms could be cleaner; consistently. Location was very handy for the bus, walkable to most destinations easily, dodgy alley if you walk straight (don't). Constantly requiring re-sign in to wifi was a pain. Never made it to breakfast, but heard it was nice. Good value for money, a solid option. An old school hostel, through and through. Bedside power and lights would be an improvement. Thanks.


91%

This hostel is perfectly fine except for the fact that some of the rooms face onto train tracks. While the trains don't seem to run overnight, I was awoken by them once they started in the morning.


77%

Fine, clean hostel, with everything it says it will be. Not overly loud, meets travel needs quite well.


71%

It's very well located and the price is very good. The main problems for me were the small bathroom and the noisy floors.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The Staff were phenomenal! Always cheerful and friendly, very helpful when asked a question and overall great people!


(369 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback