X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
7761 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

I arrived late, so tried to not make any noise, but the floor boards squeaked something vicious. There was a really bad smell that plagued the second floor, and there were not enough showers, so there was a queue all morning. Location very close to bus station.


91%

I had a very good time at Isaacs Hostel, the room with 6 beds was really wide and with a lot of space. The room and the bathrooms and showers extremely clean. only a little inconvenient: I had several problems with the key cards. I lost one time nearly half an hour try to open my room's door and at the end the girl at the reception was wrong with the number of the room and she did'nt even say " sorry". all the rest was fine.

  • 6th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you liked the hostel. Apologies for the problems you had with the key cards.

94%

I've never stayed in a hostel before and I enjoyed my stay immensely. It was a lot more friendly and welcoming than I expected. The staff are always happy to help you find your way around Dublin, and the fact that breakfast was included was wonderful. It is very helpful that there are big lockers available to store suitcases etc. A wonderful stay!

  • 6th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Delighted you enjoyed your first stay in a hostel. Do come again.

71%

Kitchen too small for the size of hostel it was always busy and could barely move never mind cook. Hostel is right next to a railway so noisy defo pack earplugs. Bathrooms pretty small for the amount of rooms on each floor only 3 toilets and 3 showers for females. Room was clean and bed was comfy. Location great just round the corner from o'connell street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We have taken note of your comments.

77%

Push button showers really ruin any stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for posting your review. I hear what you are saying about the push button showers but they are for saving water etc.

94%

Always coming back to Isaacs :) just love it!


89%

The third floor was freezing, and the ends were very uncomfortable. Also, the kitchen was not very clean. Everything else was amazing though

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very clean hostel with friendly staff! A pity that there's no wifi in the rooms and light sleepers might not fare well because of the trains. It's a 10 minute walk from the Temple Bar Area.

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I particularly loved the atmosphere in Isaacs, you just felt at ease there. However, the bedrooms could be improved by adding reading lights to each individual bed.

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Arrival: staff was so unfriendly on the reception. 14 bed dorm: ok... was too warm and smelly but you get used to it :). the beds ok and the room was clean. the people in the room are sometimes very rude and loud especially in the night but its a 14 beddorm so didn´t expect to much .. yeah second night was much better and more quiet. Missed: a nightlamp on each bed and lockers for own stuff would be good, there was nothing to store the bag only under the bed.Bathrooms: mostly very clean and new


80%

Pros: not to expensive, near bus/tram station to get to the center, 15min walk to the center, clean, shuttle service to airport available for €7pp, towel service when you book a double room, possibility to borrow a converter Cons: matrasses are bad (in double room+dorm), cold shower. We stayed 2 nights of which 1 in a double room, staff could ve made sure that we could switch rooms right at 11am, instead letting us wait for three hours. The people who stayed in the double left during the night.

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to feedback your experience, Our apologies that we were unable to accommodate you at 11am with the room switch . The room does need to be cleaned so generally rooms are not accessible till 2pm to allow housekeeping team to do their job but there was perhaps a better way to help with this. We will check out the mattresses some are being replaced shortly

80%

Very nice hostel. Staff were friendly and there was great facilities on offer.

  • 1st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great feedback

100%

Friendly helpful staff nice enjoyed our stay would definitely come bl thanks x

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Been there now more than 10 tines and still returning each time I am in Dublin. Just love it!

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Lively atmosphere and a very well equipped hostel. Staff are very friendly and knowledgable. Good security system and facilities. Definitely recommend and will book again :) I think the private rooms would benefit from a reading lamp as the lights are a bit harsh if you just want to chill and read in your room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We really appreciate your great feedback . Thanks a million

97%

Super fun place and I am glad that we stayed here!

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel staff were brilliant and so helpful! The common room, kitchen and dining room were awesome. It made it a really friendly atmosphere

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Cosy hostel, warm atmosphere and friendly people!

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Short and sweet! Thanks

77%

Overall, I had a really good time at Isaac´s. CONS - the lack of lockers - there was no locker available in the room, and there was a 2 euro fee per night if you wanted to use one in the basement. For such a large hostel, that seemed pretty unsafe! Also, the room only had 2 outlets for 8 bunks, and there were no individual lamps. PROS - a really fun atmosphere, tons of common areas and easy to meet people, friendly desk staff, clean!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for the feedback; Pros and cons are always useful. The 24hr lockers are secure and we do not have the space in some dorms for lockers unfortunately.We would love to have lights and more sockets and are working on this

86%

Great hostel great atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great guests !

(307 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback