X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5546 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The Isaacs Hostel is comfortably close to the city core (3mins by foot). It's full of young people gathering at the lobby, lots of healthy drinking in the evening and good speaker music setting the mood. Unfortunately, the train tracks are just in front of the rooms (although the train is much slower and quieter during the night)! Another thing I didn't like was not having lockers in the room, it really makes one person unease about personal valuables.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This place is awesome! They really tried their best to make me welcome. My room was originally too hot, so they gave me a free upgrade and were so nice about it! I had the best time, thanks guys!


94%

An excellent place to stay. Lively, but not noisy. Most of the staff are very helpful and friendly, they'll do their best to sort out any issues at any hour. I'd come back just for the atmosphere, forget Dublin!


100%

Great location, stay, EVERYTHING!


51%

What an awful place! The room was unbearably stuffy, the window would neither stay open nor stay closed. No air conditioning. Squeaky floorboards. VERY squeaky beds. Frantic staff. Located in a rough part of town. The only redeeming feature was the airport shuttle bus, although it didn't arrive on time, and never does, aparently. Definitely for first-time globetrotters rather than seasoned travellers.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you didn't appear to enjoy your stay at our hostel. it is not usual for it to be so warm but we do have some fans for our guests when it too warm (a couple of weeks a year at most).

100%

It was a great stay among great people in a great location with excellent facilities. I would definitely recommend it, and will be staying there whenever I am in Dublin!

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel is EXTREMELY NOISY! Instead of Isaacs Hostel a better name would be SlamingDoors Hostel. This is definitely a problem. The wooden floors are noisy too. So it is impossible to have a normal sleep. So they have to do something on this. That is the reason I would not recommend it to other people unless you have no problem with it.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Great place to stay! Just right by the bridge to get to the side where everything is. It's clean and big! The rooms are clean and they have big bathrooms.. Maybe could use a few more sinks in the girls. It can get crowded. Overall good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review - glad you enjoyed it.

80%

Wifi is a little spoty but had a great time over all. Ps do the walking tour and pub crawl, great way to meet people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed it.

91%

Very friendly atmosphere with people hanging out in the lobby at all hours of the day. Staff are also helpful and fun. Great location being seconds away from the main bus terminal and tram lines, also a minute walk from O 'Connel street and an easy stumble home from Temple Bar and other nightlife. Decent breakfast for a hostel and sizable kitchen to cook for yourself. Definitely do the pub crawl and free morning walking tour.


71%

It's a nice place to stay for a couple of nights, lovely staff and people, a bunch of cool activities offered. They have to install an aircon or something in the hallways and the bathrooms though, as soon as you leave the room you're in a sauna. The breakfast is better than average in hostels, you get good coffee and juice, sometimes even boiled eggs. It's as clean as you expect a budged accommodation to be ;)

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Only one problem- the first floor heating was always on, and it was roasting in the dorm.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Bestest hostel, next time I'm back in Dublin, I will stay here again. Great staff, great atmosphere, perfect location, can walk to city centre.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your lovely review.

74%

The hostel was trickier to find than listen on the website. It also seemed a little bit unsafe late at night.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ah no it is as safe as anywhere in a big city - you need to be careful in every city.

100%

One of the best hostels I stayed in! The best atmosphere and there are lots of opportunities to meet other travellers. The staff was fantastic and the facilities were clean and I had no complaints! Would highly recommend!


89%

Loved my stay, good location and very social hostel. However, the floors are very loud, the rooms were very hot and the showers weren't very clean. But overall great stay - and would come back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. So sorry you found the rooms to be hot. It doesn't happen very often!

83%

Rooms were good but the halls were way too hot always! Floor was ridiculously noisy which made for terrible sleeping both nights as people coming and going from the rooms could not avoid making large amounts of noise.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you found the hostel to be too noisy - we do offer ear plugs to our lighter sleepers.

91%

Stayed in a 2 bed private room. Great location about 10 min walk from Temple bar - not too far but far enough for a quiet night's rest. Hostel is very clean, GREAT kitchen area and very welcoming common area as soon as you come in. Only complaint is that we were on the third floor and our window only opened an inch so it was VERY hot in there. Common shower definitely required flipflops but was warm and great pressure even late morning. Lots of activities to take advantage of!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

91%

Walking tour was missed on my first time trying to take part--essential part of a hostel stay as a lone traveler needs a friendly environment to meet people. It was missed because of bad information from the reception--was told to wait nearby, but nothing happened. Other than that, I had an excellent time. I came in late June, and there were many annoying pretentious American girls in the main area, but meeting other people made up for it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

77%

Not one of the best hostels I've stayed at. As a solo traveller I found the atmosphere wasn't that good. The location is okay but there are a few shady characters hanging around. Trains are loud and the rooms are extremely hot. Wifi was also hard to log into a lot of the time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you did not love the place. We do try to make everyone feel at home.

(254 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback