X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5167 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Very noisy

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was a very lively weekend during your stay and hope you enjoyed !

77%

A localização é muito boa mesmo, do lado de tudo, o ambiente é bem legal pra fazer amizade, nunca vi um hostel tão iterativo! Eu não achei muito limpo os banheiros Não tem locker no quarto vc paga 2 euros por dia pra deixar num porão subterrâneo que cheira a mofo, os lockers são bem sujos, assustador o lugar Tem muito bicho grilo A cozinha é nem equipada mas não grande O café tem uma fila mas é ótimo, tem tudo q precisa!

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

it was a great location, clean and the staff was really helpful. we went on a tour to Belfast they recommended and it was soo fun. they were knowledgeable about the area and gave great directions wherever we needed to go.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

89%

Great location & perfect atmosphere! I recomend this hostel to everybody!


40%

showers and bathroom were extremely dirty, not to mention the kitchen; only 3 female toilets and showers on floor with a god knows how many people - always a line and tons of toilet paper everywhere; everything was filthy despite they say they clean; food should be banned in the rooms because it smells so disgusting everywhere; no individual sockets/lights/curtains or anything that can get you some privacy; you practically cannot do anything in the smelly room they put you in!

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We do clean daily - the whole hostel is cleaned from top to bottom every day. We do have extra showers and toilets in the basement and I assure you we adhere to the legal requirements for the ratio of toilets/showers to people.

86%

We really enjoyed our stay at Isaacs. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The only thing which was a little annoying was that you were not able to turn off the heating, but sleeping with the window open worked fine for us. Overall I would really recommend this hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your feedback .Glad you enjoyed your stay .

100%

Change cards for rooms, I changed it every day cause not work! I'm kidding, the best hostel i've ever seen with the best staff! Thanks a million. Bye, Michele.

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review - we will investigate about the cards.

57%

Isaacs was an ok hostel... But there is no lift and no wifi in the rooms... Very annoying. The area to get wifi is in a loud lobby with music. There is a quiet basement but it's always full and you have nowhere to sit. They always cleaned the bathrooms just at 8:30 am when everyone is using them and the smell of toxic cleanser in the shower is unpleasant. It costs 2 euro per day to use a locker, it would be nice if they were free. Most of the staff are nice except one is super rude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do only provide wifi in the ground floor areas as we feel that guest typing during the night would be annoying to other guests - also we do want people to make new friends and talk to each other!

97%

Rien a dire, séjour au top ! Je recommande fortement Isaacs Hostel


94%

I loved this place! The atmosphere was awesome; the place was packed with lots of young travellers. Staff was very helpful and free breakfast was nice. The wifi could have been better but that would be my only complaint.


40%

Ugly! Ugly rooms, ugly beds, ugly toilets!

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. If you wish to contact us directly with more details of what you didn't like, please do so.

91%

The hostel provides you all the facilities you need. Clean, good kitchen, many areas, great showers. Excelent value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review.

94%

Great place, totally recommend this hostel to anyone! Staff and facilities were excellent! Only minus was lack of free safety boxes

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review. We have noted your comment regarding the provision of free safety boxes. Unfortunately at the moment you do have to pay for them but it's not a lot.

100%

i visited 59 hostel untill now, and here i founded the BEST STAFF ever. i remember this: i been at the frint tdesk and i forgot what i needed,, and the guy at the reception: may be u need an adaptor? abd yesss it was... i was borrowing an adaptor.. incredible... but this i s nothing..al of them are kind, then letz talka bout the hsotel... They have more than 1 common area. i remember 3, plus a reading area, plus FREE SAUNA, plus Biliard, ping pong table, good Bathroom, i wanna absolutely c

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review. Do come again.

97%

Très belle ambiance.

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup.

100%

This is great hostel with great staff. I was there for two nights and everything was perfect. When i will be back in Dublin i go to ISAACS hostel again.

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review. Do come again.

86%

En general muy bien , el único problema que como mi estancia ha sido larga , a veces no podia estar en la misma habitación o incluso plantearme cambiar de hostel por un día .

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we are sorry that from time to time you had to change your room as we were booked out.

100%

i think this is the perfect hostel, surely the best one i've never seen. Clean, safe, nice atmosphere, super staff ( Renata the account manager is simply fantastic ! ) good music, free SAUNA !...maybe they have just to improve the internet free wi fi connection in the basement and in the relax area..but it works ! So guys thank you all, you are doing an excellent job ! Fabio from Italy

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your great review - we love reviews like yours!

63%

I stayed in 14 bed dorm, staff and location was nice, bathroom clean enough. There were no shelfs, chairs or something where you coul put your staff on. There was hot in room even when the window was wide open and noise from room above like someone is building there, my bed was shaking. I couldn´t sleep because I was roasting and it was soo noisy there. I stayed here for second time, for the first time in 8 bed dom, temperature was same. I will find other place to sleep next time in Dublin.

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We will investigate your comments about the shelfs and chairs and see what we can do.

97%

absolutely the best hostel staff i have ever seen at a hostel!! they made the place. I will most def come back and visit. thank you guys for an amazing time. and always being available. :)

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Curyyy
  • Puerto Rico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your great review - we love guests like you!

(200 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback