X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6133 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The Staff were phenomenal! Always cheerful and friendly, very helpful when asked a question and overall great people!


100%

Absolutely brilliant! Friendly staff that make you feel welcome from the second you get there, good location and a brilliant atmosphere.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel is quite nicely set up but the security is a little too much I guess. In order to get to the rooms you need to cross multiple barriers with your key card and you have to carry a sheet of paper with your name and departure date at all times. The common room is the highlight with long benches and an open fire . But the kitchen is tiny and in my experience always dirty and the fridge has not seen a clean out for weeks. I witnessed the staff to be very rude to other people, not me though.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

-great staff! -good with free tour

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

It is a safe place to go to. And the staff is friendly. It is close to the centre.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much - glad you enjoyed your stay.

91%

Funny people. Great service. Awesome hostel.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wonderful review - thank you so much

83%

bonne auberge pour découvrir Dublin et pour partager


89%

NIce hostel and very helpful staff. Short walk from O'Connel street (approx. 5-8 min). Free breakfast! Enjoyed the free city tour through Dublin - it was a good start to explore Irelands Capital. The hostels basement area looks amazing (old storage rooms) . Isaacs is ideal for sociable (young) people who wants to get into conversation with another traveller ('craic' :-) ). It is less suitable for quiet people who just want to rest in the common rooms - it's always very lively there.


77%

The staff were great! Friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were pretty clean however the kitchen was gross and dirty. Wifi only worked down stairs which meant it was very unsocial area 'cause everyone was on their phones/laptops. Not a great atmosphere. Rooms were clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We do clean our kitchen daily (twice daily actually) but we need our guests to clean up after themselves too.

97%

It was great and unforgettable, the best hostel I have stayed so far. well done to Isaacs hostel 's staff and owner.

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We love your review - so nice to hear. Thank you.

97%

Just the perfect hostel

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
And the perfect review!! Thank you.

86%

We loved our stay here. The staff was very friendly and helped in any way they could!

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Good hostel, good breakfast, really strict rules, very helpful staff, ultimately I advice to stay in this hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much - we have the strict rules because we are very concerned about the safety for our guest and we want them to get a good nights sleep as well as have a good time in Dublin.

74%

There aren't box for bag and personal things in the room, there are no light on every bad, the bathroom are not so clean, the breakfast is too much early

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you didn;t enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately there isn't room for lockers in the rooms. A light on every bed would be great and we are planning for this in our next refurbishment.

74%

Chambre pour 2 personnes : minimaliste. Manque des patères pour accrocher manteaux... Une seule chaise pas de table de nuit ou petite tablette... Rideaux tâchés ainsi qu'assise de la chaise... Ceci étant, nous sommes restées 6 nuits ! Autrement sanitaires, douches correctes. Cuisine vaste et très bien équipée. Le personnel de l'accueil est top. En bref, Isaacs Hostel reste pour son tarif une auberge que je kiff' ;-)

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

La estancia estuvo genial. La dos únicas pegas que pondría son: - ruido del tren que pasa cerca. - cocina no muy limpia.pero eso no es culpa de ISAACS es culpa del que se hace de comer y no limpia las cosas que ha utilizado para hacer de comer. Por lo demás, chapo. Si vuelvo a ir a Dublín seguro que me hospedo en ISAACS HOTEL.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much

86%

We were sold on the sauna

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Fanstastic - so happy you enjoyed your stay,

89%

Très bonne auberge, bien placée et ambiance très sympa. Un peu bruyante en revanche (couloirs qui resonnent) mais on a la possibilité d'acheter des boules kies à l'accueil !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup - nous sommes contents que vous avez passes un bon sejour chez nous.

94%

I booked the 13 people shared room in the top floor. I think the floor is too noisy when you walk, and so are the bunk beds. Also, there is no door in both bathrooms, male and female, what is bad specially for the girls. I think that it is just a matter of stretching a little your neck to see the girls using the facility. Apart from that, the place is nice, have a good value for money, the staff is very nice and the breakfast is not so basic as they say - for my girlfriend and I twas great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your comments - you have made some valid points and we will take them on board. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

77%

We stayed in a two bed room and it was very nice .Overall a lovely hostel - but would have liked seperate facilites - showers and toilets - for men and women - just not comfortable with it mixed and I think lots of women and maybe men too would feel this But apart from this - a lovely hostel

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much - glad you liked the hostel - we actually do have separate facilites - male and female showers and toilets are on each floor.

(368 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback