X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5742 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

I decided to overlook the many warnings about the stifling hot rooms, thinking, "How bad could it be?" Well.... it's bad. Really bad. I was in a dorm room on the 2nd (really, the 3rd) floor, directly across from the washrooms and showers. All the heat and moisture from the showers (which have no temperature control, by the way - hope you like scalding hot showers) would go into our sleeping quarters. Impossible not to move around without sweating profusely. So gross and uncomfortable.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel is very good, the staff eas very friendly and ready to help.


86%

I REALLY ENJOYED STAYING AT iSAACS AND HAVE ALREADY WARMLY RECOMMENDED YOU PLACE.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Il problema c è stato quando ho fatto la prenotazione del bus per andare all aeroporto.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The room we were in was extremely hot and made for an uncomfortable sleep.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic hostel, funny and friendly staff, clean rooms and an excellent breakfast. Would definitely stay here again :)

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

wifi un peu faible pour la taille de l'hotel.


97%

Excellent location on the southside of the old city, half an hour's walk. Great 3 hour free walking tour of the old city. Wifi was slow and only one computer available.


54%

We had a sleepless night. It was the whole night very loud in the house, the staff was not able to control the Situation. The will never come again.


74%

A déconseiller aux familles : claquement de portes toute la nuit, train circulant juste à côté, cuisine trop petite. Cette auberge ressemble davantage à un hôtel avec bcp de passage et une clientèle peu respectueuse des règles de vie en communauté. Toutefois, le personnel est très accueillant et le petit déjeuner est impeccable (self-service).


91%

The staff is very helpful! A guided tour of Dublin is available every morning. WiFi, which is included and available on the ground floor is of good quality.


80%

recommendation

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

There was 3 clothes washing machines but only one was functional. Theee was 3 clothes dyers, none was functional. This is a let down.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Would definitely return as well as recommend to friends. Everyone was very nice and respectful and the rooms are spacious and well cared for. Location couldn't be better


77%

It hasn't the "irish friendly atmosphere" I used to feel in quite every irish hostel

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Some of the young guests don't care about soiling the wash room. Maybe Isaacs employees could make an effort to educate them ?

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel, great vibes. The lobby is very inviting to meeting people, as it's also the only place with wifi. If you prefer a litle more privacy there's another room downstairs with less people. Simply awesome.


97%

Can't say enough about this hostel. Such a great place! The pub crawls and free walking tours are a must. Get here!!


80%

Nice spot and good atmosphere. Staff are helpful. Facilities are good. 10min walk (maximum) from temple bar. Recommend.


100%

Isaacs is a great hostel in the heart of Dublin. The staff were very nice and helpful. There are beautifully decorated and large rooms. The bathrooms are separate for men and women. Both rooms and bathrooms were very clean. We have felt very comfortable and will definitely return.


(382 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback