X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6853 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great hostel that was very clean. Staff went out of their way to help us. Definitely be back

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good to hear see you soon

91%

Group of 17 guys - staff were very friendly and helpful. Couple of guys checked in at different times to the main group but with no problems. Rooms were clean. Only slightly negative thing was the showers at times were not hot, but majority of the time they were fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for the feedback. Sorry about the showers they should be hot for all - will check it out

89%

The staff was amazing, they helped us out with tours. And wanted us to have a great time while we were there. They even make accomadations for early morning people with breakfast.


89%

very helpful staff. clean for the most part. there was a whole cabinet of food that smelled rotten

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much -we have checked out guest food cabinet and all okay .

89%

Overall, a very good place to stay. The lockers for bags and valuables are a bit hard to get to in a musty basement.

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Isaac's is a very nice hostel. Very friendly staff who recommend you places to eat and other things. You can also book an airport shuttle and a pub crawl. Though I probably would not stay in a single room again as the noise around is still there as if you would stay in a bigger dorm. But the rest was fine. They even have a free Sauna.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million for great comments !

89%

Really fun pub crawl every night

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It is is n't it !?

71%

The hostel is very close to the city centre, hence the location is excellent. Clean rooms, good kitchen and adequate break-fast. It would help if the hostel had more showers and bathroom on each floor as 3 each for men and women is not adequate. The lounge on the ground floor has a very friendly atmosphere where people could hang out and meet other travellers. There are number electrical connections to charge electronics in the lounge.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for the good review . PS We do have extra showers in the basement when the Hostel is busy should you be coming back !

80%

Relatively good location, though nothing is really too far away in Dublin. The lockers being in the basement was a bit of an inconvenience, but they were very roomy and could easily fit two or three backpacks or suitcases. The staff were super friendly!

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind comments

100%

It was my first time staying in a hostel and I really really enjoyed it ! the staff was really agreeable and funny, you propose very interesting things for young people like the pul crawl and the free walking tour. the guide we had on sunday morning was really interesting and interested in his job, it was a real pleasure to go through the city with him ! and he gave us good advice to avoid touristic places (pubs, fish&chips, restaurants...). I recommand this hostel !

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad your first time was good !! Thank you

100%

The hotel staff was the best part of the Hostel! Right from the beginning they had great enthusiasm and they were really friendly. It was known from the beginning that they would always be there to help, if necessary, no matter the time of day. They gave great recommendations on places to eat and drink. The staff always went the extra mile, which made our experience of Dublin amazing.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

amazing hostel


80%

Too few facilities, shower was cold, toilets not as new and clean as one would wish

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice Hostel, nice staff, very good atmosphere. A good place to meet other backpackers. Hit shower the whole day, self service kitchen with everything you need. Not far away from O' Connnel street. I stayed in a 14 and 16 mixed bed dorm and it wasn't noise in the night or anything like that - I was afraid but I slept very good. I definitely come back and recommend it to all of my friends and other traveler I meet.


89%

Great hostel! Staff was great, very friendly and helpful. Clean overall. Breakfast very basic but is included with price. Free coffee and tea all day. Only minor inconvienences were that the wifi did not reach the rooms (only in lobby) and that the showers were push button (turned off every 30 seconds or so). Highly recommend overall, location and staff were awesome, would defiantly stay again!


83%

It was difficult to get hot water in the shower in the morning, it's a bit annoying...


83%

pros: - large, lots of nice areas to hang out throughout hostel - clean. what more needs to be said? - cardkeys required for hall/room entrance felt safe once you're in hostel - friendly, helpful staff cons: - setup makes it bit more difficult to talk to new people - sauna only open 3 hrs out of the day - area outside hostel can be sketchy at night. Suggest having group activity other than paid bar crawl every night, to change it up each night. And bring earplugs!


91%

staff were amazing! also the best common room for hanging out. always had this friendly and social atmosphere!


77%

The only thing wich wasn't that great was the bathroom: there was no door to the hall so that one doesn't really have privacy and the water in the showers was cold. Nevertheless a very nice hostel.


74%

The bathrooms are a bit small regarding the high number of people using it. Water in the shower was freezing cold in the morning. Otherwise it's a very nice hostel.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(294 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback