X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5550 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Stayed in a 2 bed private room. Great location about 10 min walk from Temple bar - not too far but far enough for a quiet night's rest. Hostel is very clean, GREAT kitchen area and very welcoming common area as soon as you come in. Only complaint is that we were on the third floor and our window only opened an inch so it was VERY hot in there. Common shower definitely required flipflops but was warm and great pressure even late morning. Lots of activities to take advantage of!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

91%

Walking tour was missed on my first time trying to take part--essential part of a hostel stay as a lone traveler needs a friendly environment to meet people. It was missed because of bad information from the reception--was told to wait nearby, but nothing happened. Other than that, I had an excellent time. I came in late June, and there were many annoying pretentious American girls in the main area, but meeting other people made up for it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

77%

Not one of the best hostels I've stayed at. As a solo traveller I found the atmosphere wasn't that good. The location is okay but there are a few shady characters hanging around. Trains are loud and the rooms are extremely hot. Wifi was also hard to log into a lot of the time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you did not love the place. We do try to make everyone feel at home.

89%

It would be good to add lockers under beds that can be locked with a padlock. Nothing has been stole from me, but i was maybe lucky.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes, that is a good idea and it is something that we are looking at.

97%

Fantastic, can't fault our visit to you! Staff especially were great, good banter with one chap on the front desk! Thanks so much.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review. We love guests like you!!

94%

the showers are not clean. Everything else was perfect.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review. However I have to tell you that our showers and toilets are cleaned every single day without fail- the housekeeping supervisor would never allow it to be missed.

60%

A nice hostel, with one but terrible drawback: paper thin walls. Couldn't get a minute of sleep from constant noise, other guests shouting, slamming doors, running up and down on stairs and corridors. Only for deaf people!

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry you found it too noisy - we do offer ear plugs to our lighter sleepers.

74%

Overall, a decent stay. However, a big downfall was the lack of decent wifi. It was so slow that it was basically negligible and there was only one computer to share amongst hundreds of people. Internet is so important when you're trying to plan the rest of your trip. Also, the bathrooms did not indicate a gender. Which is fine. I assumed it was a mixed bathroom But found out later there was a ladies room on complete opposite end of hall. I would have figured it out sooner if there were signs

Owner Comment (Hide)
I need to check the signage or lack thereof - we have always had a large sign just above the entrance to the showers and toilets but perhaps they have disappeared. Sorry about that.

77%

Reception was very friendly and competent, but staying opposite to the men's bathroom sleep was virtually impossible, plus our room neighbors clearly enjoyed loud music all night long.

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about the noise. We are going to look into this.

89%

With free sauna, free movie nights, and a huge well equipped kitchen, this place is awesome. The staff was always very helpful and the atmosphere was perfect for the young backpacker. The floors in the rooms were dirty but nothing we couldn't live with. The hostel is right next to a train station so it does get pretty noisy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much. We will take up your comment regarding dirty floors with our housekeeping staff - they do wash the floors daily.

86%

The staff is extremely helpful and works harded to make our stay a good one. The internet is not so good, not a very strong connection. One should not think that they can use it when they wish.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive reiew. glad you liked the hostel.

77%

Location is pretty good (not in the middle of the party area, but close enough to everything). Breakfast was def. ok for a hostel (toast&cereal, eggs on Sunday). Rooms a bit dusty, but other than that ok. One major complaint though: the doors! They shut automatically (which is great for safety, but awful for sleep) and close with an extremely loud bang!!! It is possible to close them more quietly, but people just don't care (especially in the mornings when getting up or at 3am after a night out)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are currently looking at ways of quietening the doors banging.

80%

The hostel was nice, very clean and easy to find. It was centrally located so walking everywhere was great. The only problem was the room. We were in a 14 bed all girls room, and the only source of ventilation in the entire hallway was a window in the bedroom. It was too hot to sleep comfortably, and you broke a sweat while brushing your teeth.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you liked the hostel but sorry about the heat.

91%

Staff was extremely helpful with getting around Dublin and booking tours. Only complaint was that Wi-Fi only worked in reception and basement. So not much socializing and chilling happened in our near the rooms. But overall, fantastic hostel!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We do want our guests to socialize with each other and make new friends (really live ones!!) in the rooms which is why we don't have wifi in the bedrooms.

77%

They need to do something about the heating system! It was boiling in my room on the 2nd floor, even the second night when they said they turned off the heaters. Also, if there is a large group staying please remind the supervisors to manage the group because yelling and fights at 3am is disruptive to the other guests. Overall, ok for the price and location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for posting - I'm not sure what happened with the heat - it is most certainly off now. We do ask the group leaders to maintain the peace and they sign a form confirming this.

83%

Other guests do not really follow the quiet hours in the hallways. Also other guests leave their towels and clothing around the bathrooms.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I think you enjoyed our hostel apart from the guests - it would be great if they would make more of an effort to be quiet at night and to keep things tidy. We do our best to encourage it.

97%

I stayed at Isaac's once with friends and went back on my own about a month later because I knew that the atmosphere was really great, the staff was very fun and helpful, and the facilities are good. The lockers were nice because there was only a deposit to lock your stuff up (unless it was overnight) so that was really nice to have especially when I was on my own. It's definitely a good place to go on your own though because it's very easy to meet people!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review. We love guests like you!!

77%

Nice people.. When we were there there was also an entire American college football team there and they kinda took over the place... Other than that it was a good place and the pub crawl was really fun!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay.

89%

The hostel was great! It was super clean, the rooms were really big and it smelled really fresh in there. The staff was very nice except one guy was a little sarcastic when we asked for a recommendation for where to eat. The location is amazing, we were walking distance to everything we wanted to see, and if we wanted to go further, there is a tram station right behind the hostel. At night, the room was a little hot and our room fan wasn't working but overall amazing experience.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

86%

Good atmosphere around the hostel, very busy! I stayed in a 16 bed mixed dorm only problem was the train line was right outside the window on the 3rd floor so that was pretty noisy during the night!

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We do offer any light sleepers ear plugs.

(257 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback