X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5818 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

I REALLY ENJOYED STAYING AT iSAACS AND HAVE ALREADY WARMLY RECOMMENDED YOU PLACE.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

74%

Il problema c è stato quando ho fatto la prenotazione del bus per andare all aeroporto.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The room we were in was extremely hot and made for an uncomfortable sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry about the heat - it's rare in Dublin, I promise you. We do have fans for guests use.

100%

Fantastic hostel, funny and friendly staff, clean rooms and an excellent breakfast. Would definitely stay here again :)

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Love your review.!

89%

wifi un peu faible pour la taille de l'hotel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci. Malheureusement le wifi devient un peu faible quand il y a beaucoup de gens que l'utilisent

97%

Excellent location on the southside of the old city, half an hour's walk. Great 3 hour free walking tour of the old city. Wifi was slow and only one computer available.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you liked the hostel and enjoyed your stay. With so many people using our wifi, from time to time especially at very busy times it can slow down but normally it is ok.

54%

We had a sleepless night. It was the whole night very loud in the house, the staff was not able to control the Situation. The will never come again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry you had a bad night.

74%

A déconseiller aux familles : claquement de portes toute la nuit, train circulant juste à côté, cuisine trop petite. Cette auberge ressemble davantage à un hôtel avec bcp de passage et une clientèle peu respectueuse des règles de vie en communauté. Toutefois, le personnel est très accueillant et le petit déjeuner est impeccable (self-service).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup. Pour les families, le Jacobs Inn est mieux. Isaacs Hostel est plutôt pour les jeunes voyageurs.

91%

The staff is very helpful! A guided tour of Dublin is available every morning. WiFi, which is included and available on the ground floor is of good quality.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your great comments. So glad you enjoyed your stay.

80%

recommendation

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review.

91%

There was 3 clothes washing machines but only one was functional. Theee was 3 clothes dyers, none was functional. This is a let down.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, We are getting them fixed - the washing machines are industrial ones and not easy to get the parts but this will be sorted.

91%

Would definitely return as well as recommend to friends. Everyone was very nice and respectful and the rooms are spacious and well cared for. Location couldn't be better

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your positive comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

77%

It hasn't the "irish friendly atmosphere" I used to feel in quite every irish hostel

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you didn't like the atmosphere. We are a large city centre hostel with visitors from all over the world so we like to think we have a cosmopolitan atmosphere.

83%

Some of the young guests don't care about soiling the wash room. Maybe Isaacs employees could make an effort to educate them ?

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for posting your comments. We do try to get people to keep the showers and bathrooms tidy but unfortunately some guests are not as considerate as others.

91%

Great hostel, great vibes. The lobby is very inviting to meeting people, as it's also the only place with wifi. If you prefer a litle more privacy there's another room downstairs with less people. Simply awesome.


97%

Can't say enough about this hostel. Such a great place! The pub crawls and free walking tours are a must. Get here!!


80%

Nice spot and good atmosphere. Staff are helpful. Facilities are good. 10min walk (maximum) from temple bar. Recommend.


100%

Isaacs is a great hostel in the heart of Dublin. The staff were very nice and helpful. There are beautifully decorated and large rooms. The bathrooms are separate for men and women. Both rooms and bathrooms were very clean. We have felt very comfortable and will definitely return.


97%

It was our first time in a hostel and it was an amazing choice. We'd loved it!! If we visit Ireland again we'll stay at the Isaac's Hostel without any doubt. And, of course, I'll recomend it to all my friends.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

It was a great stay, but it is very warm in the rooms and on the floors.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(402 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback