X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5580 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Lo único realmente malo son los €10 que te piden para poder dejar tus cosas después del check out.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review.

80%

The hostel was nice, very clean and easy to find. It was centrally located so walking everywhere was great. The only problem was the room. We were in a 14 bed all girls room, and the only source of ventilation in the entire hallway was a window in the bedroom. It was too hot to sleep comfortably, and you broke a sweat while brushing your teeth.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you liked the hostel but sorry about the heat.

94%

Das Hostel ist in einer kleinen Nebenstraße untergebracht, also kein Straßenlärm. Allerdings ist gleich daneben eine Bahnbrücke, also leider Zuglärm. Ich fand das allerdings nicht schlimm, da ich bei jedem Lärm schlafen kann :) Der Empfang war super! Der Typ an der Rezeption hat einen riesen Spaß an seiner Arbeit, sehr sympathisch :) Die Zimmer sind groß und schön eingerichtet, Bad ist auch in Ordung. Aufenthaltsräume sind auch top! Das Personal hilft immer weiter! Alles in allem: sehr gut!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wir sind froh dass Sie mit Isaacs zufrieden waren. Wir haben alle hier einen riesen Spass an unsere Arbeit. Vielen Dank.

91%

Staff was extremely helpful with getting around Dublin and booking tours. Only complaint was that Wi-Fi only worked in reception and basement. So not much socializing and chilling happened in our near the rooms. But overall, fantastic hostel!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We do want our guests to socialize with each other and make new friends (really live ones!!) in the rooms which is why we don't have wifi in the bedrooms.

77%

They need to do something about the heating system! It was boiling in my room on the 2nd floor, even the second night when they said they turned off the heaters. Also, if there is a large group staying please remind the supervisors to manage the group because yelling and fights at 3am is disruptive to the other guests. Overall, ok for the price and location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for posting - I'm not sure what happened with the heat - it is most certainly off now. We do ask the group leaders to maintain the peace and they sign a form confirming this.

83%

Other guests do not really follow the quiet hours in the hallways. Also other guests leave their towels and clothing around the bathrooms.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I think you enjoyed our hostel apart from the guests - it would be great if they would make more of an effort to be quiet at night and to keep things tidy. We do our best to encourage it.

74%

Our neighbours made a lot of noise

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry about neighbours. We do our best to maintain the peace.

97%

I stayed at Isaac's once with friends and went back on my own about a month later because I knew that the atmosphere was really great, the staff was very fun and helpful, and the facilities are good. The lockers were nice because there was only a deposit to lock your stuff up (unless it was overnight) so that was really nice to have especially when I was on my own. It's definitely a good place to go on your own though because it's very easy to meet people!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review. We love guests like you!!

77%

Nice people.. When we were there there was also an entire American college football team there and they kinda took over the place... Other than that it was a good place and the pub crawl was really fun!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay.

89%

The hostel was great! It was super clean, the rooms were really big and it smelled really fresh in there. The staff was very nice except one guy was a little sarcastic when we asked for a recommendation for where to eat. The location is amazing, we were walking distance to everything we wanted to see, and if we wanted to go further, there is a tram station right behind the hostel. At night, the room was a little hot and our room fan wasn't working but overall amazing experience.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

86%

Good atmosphere around the hostel, very busy! I stayed in a 16 bed mixed dorm only problem was the train line was right outside the window on the 3rd floor so that was pretty noisy during the night!

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We do offer any light sleepers ear plugs.

51%

Very disappointed. Location - not terrible but not the best either. Quite far from central area where many other hostels are located. Rooms - like an army camp and only 3 showers for the whole floor. Sauna available ONLY 2 hrs per day. Ping Pong equipment - broken and hard to use. No atmosphere in the "chilling out area" WIFI only works in reception area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry you didn't seem to enjoy your stay with us. We will look into your comments about the broken ping pong bats. Sorry but you are incorrect when you say that there are only 3 showers for the whole floor - we have 2 sets of showers on every floor - and on the left side on each floor we have 3 extra showers and toilets. Perhaps you didn't see this. We don't have wifi in the bedrooms as we would really like our customers to talk to each other. 5 of the biggest hostels in Dublin are here.

66%

Isaacs was a decent hostel. The front desk staff are very helpful if you have questions of what to do, where to go, how to see it. The rooms are not ventilated at all. Was in an 8 bed mixed room and it smelled absolutely terrible and all we had to try and help the smell of unshowered men was a small fan. Not enough plugs in the room either. Wifi only works in the lobby. Have to pay for lockers and they're in the basement. 5-10 min walk to Temple Bar area. Across the street from train, bus, tram

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • jabbey89
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Sorry about the smell in the room especially as it is quite warm in Dublin and difficult enough to get air into the rooms.

89%

Great hostel! Staff is very fun and helpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review.

86%

Great place to stay! It's located right next to the bus station so you don't have to walk far when you arrive. Atmosphere was amazing and we met so many people the night we arrived, even though we got there around 11pm.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

74%

The hostel was quite a busy place but seemed pretty well organized and was clean. Location was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

91%

I would definitely stay here again! And employees at front desk were extremely helpful and willing to assist you in booking day trips (she even called for us and made the reservations)

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review.

54%

No wifi in rooms, only in the downstairs common area, and it's very unreliable. No lockers in rooms. In a slightly dodgy part of town (there were junkies shooting up in the alley outside the hostel's front door). Dirty underwear from previous guests was left hanging in both the bathrooms and my dorm room throughout my stay, questioniing the hostel's cleanliness. It's a bit of a walk for decent pubs and resturants, but I guess it's a place to sleep. Expected a lot more considering the reputation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
sorry you didn't seem to enjoy your stay. We do clean every inch of the hostel every single day - the clothes might not have been removed in case a guest was looking for them.

80%

Solid hostel. Great lively atmosphere in the main lounge with a more chill lounge in the "basement." Staff are very accommodating and are willing to help answer questions or give directions. Only downside in our opinion was the location, but that ultimately wasn't a huge factor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review. We think our location is fab - close to everything and easy to get to.

86%

Great party hostel, very nice people in the staff, who will always help you.


(328 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback