X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5176 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Best hostel I've ever stayed at. People were so friendly and helpful, and the rooms were very clean (even though I was in a 16 person room). The sauna was lovely. I have no bad words at all -- Isaacs was wonderful!

  • 11th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hearty praise indeed .We really appreciate it -thank you !

83%

J'ai passé une nuit dans un dortoir de 14, nous n'étions que 6 donc comme ça pas trop de problèmes, on dort bien! Pour 14, la chambre est petite. Niveau propreté, rien à reprocher, un peu moins bien en fin de matinée mais vraiment correct! Un peu de bruit, le sol craque et la porte claque quand on ne fait pas attention. Quelques chambres donnent directement sur la voie ferrée, de la mienne je n'entendais rien du tout en tout cas! Super atmosphère et tout le monde super sympa et correct!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Heureux que vous avez apprécié votre séjour et que vous êtes bien un grand lit. Merci

100%

This Hostel has got very friendly assistances, allways helpful, friendly and funny. This Hostel is highly recommended!

  • 9th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Danke schon !

80%

Great location if you want easy access to main bus and train stations. Very easy walk to temple bar district as well. It's a big place, so it's nice if you're looking to run into a lot of fellow travellers/backpackers. It's a cool old building, nice lounge upstairs and in the basement. Nothing too exciting, but it was a good stay at a good price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your fab feedback and for highlighting so,e of our best features !

97%

Isaacs is great! Well worth it to be close to everything without forking out half your savings!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks- pleased we ticked all the boxes !

63%

No wifi in the rooms, and the bathroom facilities were some of the worst we encountered in our 2 months of travel. The hostel itself provides a good opportunity to meet other travelers as everyone is forced to hang out in the lobby via the wifi situation, but be warned the facilities itself are very basic. The hostel is about 20 min walk from Temple Bar area.


77%

The best part about the hostel is the sauna! Perfect after a sightseeing day! Also the staff was very helpful and friendly. At breakfast we missed cheese for the toast... Also I wouldn't like to walk Frenchmans Lane alone by night. It didn't look that safe. But we were in a group, so it was fine.

  • 31st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The Isaacs team is 24/24h avaliable for questions or offer advices to visit the interesting places. Thanks

  • 31st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

douches et lavabos pas tres pratiques.

  • 31st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I'm glad a stayed at this hostel since it had a very social atmosphere. I definitely reccomend this place if your a solo-traveler. It's very easy to meet people here and having daily Pub Crawls also helps. Only thing I didn't enjoy was the terrible Wifi Connection, and the fact i couldn't get it in my room. Other than Wifi, it's a great place to stay at and I highly recommend it to anyone trying to have a good time and experience Dublin.


100%

If you go to Dublin for holiday you have to go to Isaacs Hostel! Beautiful atmosphere and nice people!!


94%

I liked the hostel very much: staff is very friendly, beds are comfortable and clean (which is very important), bath facilities are good. Would go there again.

  • 30th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Overall a good hostel. There's no lockers in the room. There's not that many bathrooms and the water "saving" feature on the faucets, showers and toilets are a real annoyance, 2 seconds of water flow is not enough to wash your hands. Toilets were not nice because it took about 5 minutes for the water closet to refill, so more than often you walked in to an unflushed toilet. Kitchen rather small given the number of people staying at the hostel. Kitchen equipment was poor, pots and pans were old.


57%

Les toilettes étaient en panne, et les lavabos et douches pas pratiques. Il faisait froid dans le dortoire et l'isolation des fenêtre (courant d'air et bruit) était déplorable. Le staff présent lorsqu'on leur posaient des question ne donnait pas l'impression d'être concerné par les gens de l'hostel. La salle principale n'invite pas aux échanges ni aux conversation car elle est dans l'entrée et sert plus de passage.


97%

Une très bonne auberge fréquenté par majoritairement des français. Si vous souhaiter une coupure linguistique vous pourrez vous tournez vers vos co-habitant allemand ou espagnol

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

What a great Hostel! I won't ever stay in any other place when I will go back to Dublin! And the staff is very nice and totally helpful! :D


86%

ich war sehr zufrieden mit dem hostel mitarbeiter freundlich hilfsbereit. unser Zimmer war recht dunkel mit Fenster zum Hinterhof war für uns nicht weiter schlimm da wir viel unterwegs waren und zim schlafen reichts :-D wenn ma nicht mit dem taxi fährt hatten wir es nicht so schnell gefunden und trotzdem is die lage sehr zentral ca 15 min zur Fußgängerzone. ich würde wieder da hin gehn. macht weiter so!!!


77%

L'auberge est bien avec beaucoup d'activités à faire. ( les couettes ne sont pas changées entre les voyageurs ) .

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It was an amazing week at Isaacs Hostel ! Everybody was very friendly and we had a wonderful time !

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice place to stay for the night and even to start trips from that location. It's perfect for travellers who are only driving with the bus, because there are stations around the hostel and even groceries stores aren't far away. The breakfast was an improvement as well as the new shower and bathroom. But I think there is still some potential to improve the variety of frying pans and pots to cook. And whereas the internet was pretty fast, the computer on the entry room was pretty slow.

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(204 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback