X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5728 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Very friendly atmosphere with people hanging out in the lobby at all hours of the day. Staff are also helpful and fun. Great location being seconds away from the main bus terminal and tram lines, also a minute walk from O 'Connel street and an easy stumble home from Temple Bar and other nightlife. Decent breakfast for a hostel and sizable kitchen to cook for yourself. Definitely do the pub crawl and free morning walking tour.


71%

It's a nice place to stay for a couple of nights, lovely staff and people, a bunch of cool activities offered. They have to install an aircon or something in the hallways and the bathrooms though, as soon as you leave the room you're in a sauna. The breakfast is better than average in hostels, you get good coffee and juice, sometimes even boiled eggs. It's as clean as you expect a budged accommodation to be ;)

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Only one problem- the first floor heating was always on, and it was roasting in the dorm.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Bestest hostel, next time I'm back in Dublin, I will stay here again. Great staff, great atmosphere, perfect location, can walk to city centre.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your lovely review.

91%

Dublin was a very cool city and this hostel let you experience it all! The free walking tour gave us the historical overview of the city we needed and the pub crawl was the perfect way to end each night. Thank you Isaacs for a great stay! Slanja!!!


74%

The hostel was trickier to find than listen on the website. It also seemed a little bit unsafe late at night.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ah no it is as safe as anywhere in a big city - you need to be careful in every city.

100%

One of the best hostels I stayed in! The best atmosphere and there are lots of opportunities to meet other travellers. The staff was fantastic and the facilities were clean and I had no complaints! Would highly recommend!


89%

Loved my stay, good location and very social hostel. However, the floors are very loud, the rooms were very hot and the showers weren't very clean. But overall great stay - and would come back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. So sorry you found the rooms to be hot. It doesn't happen very often!

83%

Rooms were good but the halls were way too hot always! Floor was ridiculously noisy which made for terrible sleeping both nights as people coming and going from the rooms could not avoid making large amounts of noise.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you found the hostel to be too noisy - we do offer ear plugs to our lighter sleepers.

91%

Stayed in a 2 bed private room. Great location about 10 min walk from Temple bar - not too far but far enough for a quiet night's rest. Hostel is very clean, GREAT kitchen area and very welcoming common area as soon as you come in. Only complaint is that we were on the third floor and our window only opened an inch so it was VERY hot in there. Common shower definitely required flipflops but was warm and great pressure even late morning. Lots of activities to take advantage of!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

80%

Great facilities and location (only ten minute walk from Temple Bar area), very helpful staff, and we really enjoyed the free walking tour and pub crawl. Major cons were that the wifi only worked in the common areas (which was inconvenient) and that it was very loud. Isaacs was definitely a party hostel, so if that's not what you're looking for, I wouldn't recommend it. Otherwise, we really enjoyed our stay!


91%

Walking tour was missed on my first time trying to take part--essential part of a hostel stay as a lone traveler needs a friendly environment to meet people. It was missed because of bad information from the reception--was told to wait nearby, but nothing happened. Other than that, I had an excellent time. I came in late June, and there were many annoying pretentious American girls in the main area, but meeting other people made up for it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

77%

Not one of the best hostels I've stayed at. As a solo traveller I found the atmosphere wasn't that good. The location is okay but there are a few shady characters hanging around. Trains are loud and the rooms are extremely hot. Wifi was also hard to log into a lot of the time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you did not love the place. We do try to make everyone feel at home.

89%

It would be good to add lockers under beds that can be locked with a padlock. Nothing has been stole from me, but i was maybe lucky.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes, that is a good idea and it is something that we are looking at.

97%

Fantastic, can't fault our visit to you! Staff especially were great, good banter with one chap on the front desk! Thanks so much.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review. We love guests like you!!

94%

the showers are not clean. Everything else was perfect.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review. However I have to tell you that our showers and toilets are cleaned every single day without fail- the housekeeping supervisor would never allow it to be missed.

60%

A nice hostel, with one but terrible drawback: paper thin walls. Couldn't get a minute of sleep from constant noise, other guests shouting, slamming doors, running up and down on stairs and corridors. Only for deaf people!

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry you found it too noisy - we do offer ear plugs to our lighter sleepers.

74%

Overall, a decent stay. However, a big downfall was the lack of decent wifi. It was so slow that it was basically negligible and there was only one computer to share amongst hundreds of people. Internet is so important when you're trying to plan the rest of your trip. Also, the bathrooms did not indicate a gender. Which is fine. I assumed it was a mixed bathroom But found out later there was a ladies room on complete opposite end of hall. I would have figured it out sooner if there were signs

Owner Comment (Hide)
I need to check the signage or lack thereof - we have always had a large sign just above the entrance to the showers and toilets but perhaps they have disappeared. Sorry about that.

77%

Reception was very friendly and competent, but staying opposite to the men's bathroom sleep was virtually impossible, plus our room neighbors clearly enjoyed loud music all night long.

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about the noise. We are going to look into this.

89%

With free sauna, free movie nights, and a huge well equipped kitchen, this place is awesome. The staff was always very helpful and the atmosphere was perfect for the young backpacker. The floors in the rooms were dirty but nothing we couldn't live with. The hostel is right next to a train station so it does get pretty noisy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much. We will take up your comment regarding dirty floors with our housekeeping staff - they do wash the floors daily.

(297 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback