X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6053 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Too Try hard Hipster

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

We had an amazing time in Dublin as a group of 8 and the hostel was fantastic. The staff were very helpful and all so friendly. It was full of great people to talk to and the atmosphere was good. We went on the free walking tour which was so interesting and well worth doing and also got involved with the pub crawl (in our own fancy dress) which was a mental night out ending in a sick club. Would definitely recommend this hostel :)


100%

If you are looking for a upbeat atmosphere this place is for you! Loved every second of my stay

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice place to stay if you want to see the city center of Dublin.

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A great hostel, staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming, letting me peruse their bookcase and offering advice on my 2 week cycling trip! There's a pretty big communal area in the hostel which was great for socialising, and the breakfast was a good added bonus! They also had a locked area for bike storage, including a bike rack attached to the ground for even extra protection.


100%

le top du top en matiere d hostel 10 euros bresfast included !!! qui dit mieux ? un emplacement central, une equipe jeune , souriante, motivée, competente et disponible ( felicitations ) des chambres spacieuse, propres, un breakfast copieux , des propositions de visites multiples .... une des meilleurs auberges que je connaisse et que je recommande chaleureusement a dublin


86%

I spent two nights there. The hostel is clean and the staff very helpful. I would stay there again anytime.


100%

The top bunks only have a rail on one side. Either request a bottom bed or one against a wall if you fear falling off!


71%

Wir waren 2 Nächte im Hostel und es war wirklich ok. Das Bad war zwar auf dem Flur und ohne Tür, war aber nicht weiter schlimm. Die Küche ist auch gut ausgestattet und weitestgehend sauber. Das Einzige, was zu bemängeln ist: im 16-Betten-Zimmer war es nachts so heiß, dass man kaum schlafen konnte, obwohl das Fenster offen war. Im Zimmer hing zwar ein Hinweis auf Ventilatoren, die man sich ausleihen konnte, als wir nach diesen an der Rezeption fragten, gab es keine mehr.


80%

This was a great hostel but the staff weren't very helpful when I first arrived. It was very clean and the breakfast was typical but good. Great location, awesome walking tour of the city. Could do with a little grease on the bunk beds.


83%

I really enjoyed my stay at the hostel! It's fairly noisey but it's a busy place to stay with lots of people so that's to be expected. The staff were great and the airport transfer was really cheap. I wouldn't really recomend the pub crawl, it could be better on other nights as you can't predict who will go. But we left early, as did lots of other people on the crawl. I think if you want to go out drinking in Dublin it's easy enough to make your own way around the pubs for a great night :)

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments - glad you liked the hostel. It is a pity you didn't like the pub crawl.

77%

Could use some more in-hostel activities. Security was good and most of the staff were very welcoming

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, As the winter draws in we will be looking at more nightly activities. However at this time of the year we find that our guests like hitting the town.

97%

Best hostel I've been to !

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice hostel, friendly and helpful staff. Free walking tour and pub crawls every day!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for posting your comments.

91%

Facilities were excellent and the vibe was young and urban. Great location, only a 5 minute walk into the city centre. Facilities such as the sauna were great! The best showers and toilets I've used in a hostel. The staff are always cheerful and happy to help! The prices are the best in Dublin! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your great comments.

74%

stayed in a private room for 6 days. it's a large hostel with a young atmosphere, so expect music in the main common room and lots of teen guests loudly trying to impress each other. my room was pretty great, tidy and spacious. the bathrooms in my floor where few and gym-style (with doors in between showers), but still very easy to use. the only problem i faced was said teen guests slamming bedroom and floor doors all day and night long. tip: for some quiet time, go to the 'library room'.


91%

If you can't handle a lot of people, this place isn't for you. But it had great entertainment rooms, good lockers with locks, everything was cleaned every day, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. It's a fun place. Great for making friends.


86%

Good hostel: the staff is helpfull and the atmosphere is excellent. The good choice if you are looking for fun! The WiFi service is poor and in the bathrooms there are no windows and little space.


94%

Staff were fan-flippin-tastic!

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Not a bad hostel. The building is so old though, that the floorboards were so creaky, it was almost impossible to go into the rooms at night without waking someone up. They need more hooks in the showers too so you have somewhere to put your stuff. The wifi kept cutting out and it was not available in the rooms. Nice big kitchen though and it was close to most things.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. It is an old building alright but we hope we make up for it with our service and little extras.

(387 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback