X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5194 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

If you go to Dublin for holiday you have to go to Isaacs Hostel! Beautiful atmosphere and nice people!!


94%

I liked the hostel very much: staff is very friendly, beds are comfortable and clean (which is very important), bath facilities are good. Would go there again.

  • 30th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Overall a good hostel. There's no lockers in the room. There's not that many bathrooms and the water "saving" feature on the faucets, showers and toilets are a real annoyance, 2 seconds of water flow is not enough to wash your hands. Toilets were not nice because it took about 5 minutes for the water closet to refill, so more than often you walked in to an unflushed toilet. Kitchen rather small given the number of people staying at the hostel. Kitchen equipment was poor, pots and pans were old.


57%

Les toilettes étaient en panne, et les lavabos et douches pas pratiques. Il faisait froid dans le dortoire et l'isolation des fenêtre (courant d'air et bruit) était déplorable. Le staff présent lorsqu'on leur posaient des question ne donnait pas l'impression d'être concerné par les gens de l'hostel. La salle principale n'invite pas aux échanges ni aux conversation car elle est dans l'entrée et sert plus de passage.


97%

Une très bonne auberge fréquenté par majoritairement des français. Si vous souhaiter une coupure linguistique vous pourrez vous tournez vers vos co-habitant allemand ou espagnol

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

What a great Hostel! I won't ever stay in any other place when I will go back to Dublin! And the staff is very nice and totally helpful! :D


86%

ich war sehr zufrieden mit dem hostel mitarbeiter freundlich hilfsbereit. unser Zimmer war recht dunkel mit Fenster zum Hinterhof war für uns nicht weiter schlimm da wir viel unterwegs waren und zim schlafen reichts :-D wenn ma nicht mit dem taxi fährt hatten wir es nicht so schnell gefunden und trotzdem is die lage sehr zentral ca 15 min zur Fußgängerzone. ich würde wieder da hin gehn. macht weiter so!!!


77%

L'auberge est bien avec beaucoup d'activités à faire. ( les couettes ne sont pas changées entre les voyageurs ) .

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It was an amazing week at Isaacs Hostel ! Everybody was very friendly and we had a wonderful time !

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice place to stay for the night and even to start trips from that location. It's perfect for travellers who are only driving with the bus, because there are stations around the hostel and even groceries stores aren't far away. The breakfast was an improvement as well as the new shower and bathroom. But I think there is still some potential to improve the variety of frying pans and pots to cook. And whereas the internet was pretty fast, the computer on the entry room was pretty slow.

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I had a fantastic stay and cannot really fault the hostel, the only area for improvement was the breakfast which was a little on the sparse side. I think more variety such as yoghurts, fruit, croissants would have gone down well.

  • 27th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

We had a great stay at Issacs over the Christmas period. 5minute walk from the train station, and another 5 minutes from O'Connell street so was in a great location! The staff were helpful and there was a welcoming atmosphere. The rooms were an adequate size and good value for money. There were 3 floors, and each had 10/12 rooms. Was quiet so the 3 showers and toilets was enough. Clean and bright - toilets didn't flush first time though. We world stay here again! Best hostle Iv stayed in!


60%

El albergue se encuentra a 5-7 minutos de la calle comercial (Grafton Street), el hotel es bonito, sin embargo, no tiene camas dobles, unen dos camas y ponen las sábanas de una doble. En el mismo hotel hay una discoteca, lo que hay fiesta hasta las 3 a.m. Las ventanas no son de cristal doble por lo que se oye la música de la discoteca hasta las tres. Os dejan tapones para los oídos!!! El desayuno esta muy bien, huevos, bacon, salchichas y luego un poco de buffet libre.

  • 27th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It was a very nice hostel! Helpfull staff! Rooms were perfect! I enjoyed the great pubcrawl!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear Thanks,

94%

Due to our arrival during Christmas week, Isaacs Hostel told us they were going to be closed the next day. They promptly moved us over to the Jacobs Inn, along with an upgrade to a private bath, for the same price. I am so very impressed!

  • 19th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Very friendly staff! Made my stay in Dublin that much more enjoyable!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lovely Thanks so much .

89%

It has the best style among all hostel I have been to in Europe! I love the reading area here its really stylish and vintage though it doesn't smell excellent down in the basement.

  • 15th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Most stylish hostel in Europe - we love it thanks,

71%

This is a very good hostel but the noise is unbearable, people is too noisy and does not allow to sleep. Not having internet in the bedrooms is not useful.

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so sorry if you were disturbed by other guests - we do have earplugs for lighter sleepers as nothing worse than not getting a good night sleep. We don't have internet in bedrooms but free in the common areas as we want to try and maintain a sociable hostel atmosphere where people talk to each other !

94%

Perfect!!!

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Good location just a bit noisy with the train. Really stuffy in the hostel. And bathrooms could do with a better clean. But overall nice hostel and really reasonably priced. Very friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you found us friendy and helpful. we do have some other quieter rooms away from front or earplugs for lighters sleepers if you return to us.

(210 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback