X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6148 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Der Aufenthalt war sehr schön! Vor allem die Mitarbeiter waren sehr freundlich und zuvorkommend! Die Gemeinschaftsräume waren sehr gemütlich und einladend. Nur ein paar Ablageflächen oder Regale in den Duschen und Zimmern wären toll!

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Vielen Dank

100%

Friendly staff

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much

97%

Great place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your great review.

77%

Ist auf jeden Fall ein cooles hostel. Wir mussten allerdings innerhalb von 2 Nächten umziehen und landeten dann in einem Zimmer, direkt vor den bahngleisen. Nich so toll. Aber ansonsten is es sauber. Sind viele interessante, internationale Leute da. Die Kerle an der Rezeption sind meist freundlicher als die Mädels :) gibt keinen Aufzug, also schleppen angesagt. Und es gibt die beste Butter ever :)

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location in the city! Staff were helpful and friendly. Noisey at the weekends as to be expected but they do provide ear plugs, which did the trick! It was a tad expensive for a Hostel but that could just be Dublin as a city! We really enjoyed our stay on a whole and would recommend it to friends.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments - glad you enjoyed the hostel.

74%

The hostel is ok! The beds and the bathroom were ok. There's no lift, so be prepared to use the stairs! The staff was friendly. One small detail: they made us did check-in/out process twice. Great facilities!

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for posting your comments. If you changed rooms and paid on a daily basis you might have had to recheck in again. Sorry about that.

91%

Temperatur in den Gängen zu den Zimmern zu warm. Teilweise zu starker Lärm durch Schulklassen auf Klassenfahrt.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Vielen Dank - Gott sei dank ist es jetzt ziemlich kalt in Dublin.

100%

This place is awesome, it's the 2nd time this year I have stayed here. Location is Amazing staff can't do anymore to help, with great atmosphere for all ages.

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the great review.

89%

Helpful staff, pretty close to city, nice atmosphere. Room incredibly noisy though-right next to a railway bridge and could see train passengers(and vice versa)

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments - we do have ear plugs for any light sleepers.

77%

Excelente ubicación, junto a la estación de autobuses Busaras y estación de tren de Connelly. Gran ambiente y muy buenos espacios comunes (sofás, mesa de ping pong, mesas...) . Lo peor, hay poco espacio en la habitación para dejar las cosas. Y el agua de la ducha estaba excesivamente caliente, casi insoportable.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Very well located, wih a simple but complete breakfast with staff always ready to help!

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your lovely comments.

100%

Amazing and helpful staff made our stay that much better!

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your fantastic review.

83%

No geral foi uma boa estadia. Como pontos fortes destaco o pessoal de serviço, o pequeno almoço, a limpeza nos quartos e balneários e o tamanho dos cacifos que se podem alugar. Como pontos fracos assinalo o calor intenso que se sentia principalmente na zona dos balneários. Os duches só têm torneira de água quente, que por sua vez vem a escaldar. Devia ter um sistema de ventilação mais eficaz. Quanto à limpeza da cozinha fica um pouca a desejar, no entanto cabe a cada hospede limpar o que suja.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Has a sweet lobby to chill out in with decent wifi. Rooms are clean but it's right next to a train line so just keep that in mind. It's a 10-15 minute walk from the bar region so a little bit of a hike but it's super close to the main bus station out of Dublin.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Don't forget we have ear plugs for any light sleepers. Glad you enjoyed the hostel.

49%

No elevator although 3 floors, no lockers in the rooms (just some dirty lockers in the basement, and again no elevator to get there), internet was not working half of the time (at least on my phone, although it works perfectly at every other place), my first dorm room before I changed to a better one was unbearably hot and fuggy because you could not open the window. Anyway. I thank the staff that they gave me a new room. But I won't come again to Isaacs Hostel.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
This is an old building - the first independent hostel in Dublin so we are limited with regard to installing elevator. Sorry you didn't appear to enjoy your stay.

97%

Highly recommended. Not so many hostels like that and you get free breakfast included. Lockers are secured and Internet at high speed. Just you don't get Wi-Fi in room but only in common area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your great comments.

100%

The staff was awesome. Some of the doors slam shut which is annoying. The building is very nice and the breakfast is awesome.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great comments. We will see what we can do about the doors slamming.

66%

Lack of wifi in rooms can be frustrating when you want to lie in bed and figure out what to do next day or talk to family back home. Internet on the main floor did not work very well and took quite some time before you could get connected. Became tad frustrating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about the wifi- we don't have wifi in the dorms because 1. we want people to make friends and talk to each other and 2. when you are in a room with lots of people the tapping of the computers late into the night could be very annoying to people trying to sleep. However we do hear what you are saying.

89%

Staff were great and really appreciated things like the lockers that could be rented. Only real issue is if you could sort out the creaking floorboards in some of the rooms and corridors, no matter how conscientious everyone was it was still impossible not to wake people up!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Delighted you enjoyed your stay. We will see what we can do about the floorboards but it is an old building.

97%

Staff is wonderful, helped us with all our questions. Maybe hang a sign on the doors not to slam them at night.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(364 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback