X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
5586 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Nous avons passé un excellent séjour à l auberge Isaacs l accueil extra situation géniale bien sous tout rapport et le prix de l hébergement imbattable à Dublin petit déjeuner compris bravo Merci

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup.

74%

solo controlar un poco los lavabos femeninos de los incontrolados. En las duchas femeninas se duchaban chicos

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review.

100%

Incredible awesome , good value for money . Excellent choice .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your lovely review.

83%

Hi, I was in your hostel second time. Last year, in 2013 I spend a beautiful time in your hostel, so that's why I coming back during my visit of Dublin this year. There is helpfull reception. Thank you for that! Maybe next year. Sorry for my byd english...

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your nice review. Glad you enjoyed it.

66%

Die Damentoiletten und Duschen waren sehr unsauber und wurden leider regelmäßig von betrunkenen Männern mitbenutzt.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do cleaning very part of our hostel every day - and we have extra staff checking the toilets and showers every evening. However unfortunately some guests have no respect for other people.

66%

Although I tried several times to contact them on their website to let them know I needed only two days not the three of the original reservation, they pleaded ignorance and had cancelled my reservation and let out my bed, it was raining and I explained I had paid a deposit equal to one nights rental, were they double renting beds? The solution they came up, since the One Demention concert was in town and no other beds were available. Installed a cot in the women's dorm.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
There are very clear instruction on what to do if you need to change your reservation on the websites you can book on - not all booking engine are directly with us - you might have been contacting a third agent - we are actually very precise in making any change we receive and the One Direction concert was one of the busiest weekend in the city.

89%

Accueil très sympathique (malgré quelques difficultés car je ne suis pas anglophone...). Très bien situé et la réception est ouverte toute la nuit !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup - je suis désole que je n'était pas la car je parle un peu de français .

83%

Habitaciones muy pequeñas para tantas camas

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Panama
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

We had a great stay at issacs will defiantly be back and will be referring to other friends without a doubt. very friendly staff and great location.

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Delighted you enjoyed your stay - thank you.

86%

Huge place, very crowded and a bit noisy, but very well located within walking distance from Train Station and Busaras Bus Station. 10 minutes from downtown. Very good facilities, very secure, nice breakfast, friendly staff, fast internet. Thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your nice review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

86%

Overall a cool spot to stay. My sister had a problem with no Wifi in the rooms (it's only in the common areas), but if that's not an issue for you then it's all good. Play area and sauna were a nice touch! Good stay there & staff was helpful except for one instance. I came back late w a 2 friends. They said no visitors so late; understandable. Except we were standing right next to the lobby door while we figured out what to do bc it was very rainy and cold and they kicked us out. Very rude

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay - sorry about our policy of not letting visitors come in late at night - our night porters have a difficult job to keep everything running smoothly so I apologise if they were a bit abrupt.

86%

The only criticism I can make it the free wifi not reaching the dorm rooms and the connection being very slow at times in the common room - but the hostel facilities are great otherwise and the stay at isacc's was very comfortable. Met some great people in the pub crawl and walking tour.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review - we don't want wifi in the rooms - we want guests to talk to each other.

74%

Ayant dormir a Isaac ainsi qu'à Jacob inn je garde malgré tout une préférence pou Jacob au niveau des isolations des murs et de la sécuriser de la literie . Mais le personnelle et les espaces communs sont au top ainsi que les gens qui y viennent séjourné . J'ai passé un agréable séjour n'hésité pas a une passer quelques nuits !

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci pour tous.

69%

Cheap hostel within the week. Lots of stuff to do in the hostel and around Dublin. Kitchen wasn't very tidy and clean as well as the toilets and showers. BUt thats cause there are many people staying in the hostel. Location very close to city center by foot

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review - we do clean everywhere daily but we need our guests to help keep the place tidy.

97%

Great place to stay. Affordable, clean (mostly), and safe. I am considerably older than most of the residents, but never felt out of place. The staff was awesome.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

63%

Friendly staff, decent location. The showers were dirty, the drain in one of the female showers was clogged with hair and I was ankle deep in dirty shower runoff from the adjacent shower stalls. There was dirty toilet paper on the floor in the bathroom and there was a dirty clogged toilet in the men's bathroom. The free breakfast consisted of white bread, jam, and cereal. The kitchen was small for the number of guests at the hostel. I would probably not stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Sorry you didn't have a good experience. We do clean everywhere daily but we hope that when our cleaning staff are off duty, guests will keep the place fairly today and not make too much of a mess. Clearly this didn;t happen. Breakfast is just a light breakfast we offer free of charge to our guests.

83%

The first night was extremely hot and I couldn't sleep. Other nights were better.


69%

I was terribly sick during my short stay there, which was unfortunate for me as well as my roommates. It was too hot, and leaving the windows open only brought in the noise from other tenants partying on their porches. I needed sleep, but the girls I roomed with kept the lights on until around midnight. I will not stay in a hostel again.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was terrible for you to be sick while you were staying with us. It is a pity you didn't let us know you were unwell and we would have moved you to a more private room.

97%

They only thing is the room was really hot. Could've used more fans or AC.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your great review. We will look at the comment you made about the heat.

86%

You have got a wonderful facility with friendly people staffing it! The atmosphere is incredible and we truly had an amazing time! The only thing I would suggest is making sure that all of the card reader protected doors are functioning correctly. Otherwise, keep up the great work!

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(324 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback