X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
7743 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The staff was really charming and helpful. Rooms should have lockers for security reasons. They should tell in their web that the train line passes almost touching the windows of the north part of the building. It is very noisy at night.


89%

Staff very helpful and didnt mind changing us to another room on our arrival , information on Luas , directions very thorough and correct ! Some occupants were a little loud late at night but it did settle down quickly , breakfast was a very enjoyable experience and the fire in entrance hall was welcoming

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

the room we checked into already smelled like sweaty men at 2 in the afternoon. I appreciate its constant with people in and out of the hostel on a daily basis but i have stayed in quite a few hostels now and none already smelled before you check in. Also the cleaning staff were banging on the toilet doors with their broom to hurry us along. Wifi on the 3rd floor was also not very good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback.Sorry if this was the case we will try an accommodate a move to another room if you are unhappy. We will discuss this issue with cleaning staff - not the norm i can assure you. Wifi in public areas is good if you are having problems in the rooms

74%

Ottimo Ostello per la posizione ed i servizi offerti in rapporto al prezzo, pulizia delle parti comuni e dei bagni buona , consigliato +++ Un appunto da fare solo al personale della cucina che aspramente ed in maniera maleducata ci ordinava di lasciare la cucina perche fuori tempo massimo erano le 14: 40 ( la cucina chiude alle 15:00) ed io stavo pranzando , ma da un lato esigeva lavassi le stoviglie immediatamente , cosa che abbiamo fatto sempre con la massima premura.


100%

I've been traveling around Europe the past 3 months, and this is one at the best hostels I've stayed at. The staff is INCREDIBLE, all of the facilities are clean, and it's a reasonable price. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • 5th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

the staff were so friendly and fun! the hostel itself had a good atmosphere and I found myself just hanging out in the common room when I wasn't out exploring Dublin. I really enjoyed my stay at Isaac's.

  • 5th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The best hostel I have ever been, clean services of all kinds, very cheap prices during the week. Downsides: the prices during the weekends (especially on Saturday) are rising much, but it happens everywhere in Dublin and there aren't lockers in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Fair Praise indeed - Thank you . Yes Saturdays are very busy in Dublin but midweek you can still get great value here if you are able to be flexible

94%

Less than 5 mins from train station, free breakfast, and a large common area. Had a great time here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to hear it ! Thanks

66%

No wireless connectivity in rooms Showers were cold VERY loud train noise started at 6.20am till 12 approx midnight Breakfast was VERY basic just cornflakes and toast €10 euro deposit required for left luggage facility No lifts


80%

Nice place, good value for money. Showers were warm, and lack of sockets in room, but location was good and staff were friendly! Breakfast is always nice too. :)


77%

Very secure, no lockers in room they are in the basement. The whole hostel was extremely warm, the room was almost unbearable the first night. All of the staff were very nice and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, Glad you found our friendly crew helpful, We are adjusting the heating - the weather has been veering in all directions this last 2 weeks which has affected the normal winter settings

89%

Everything was good and the hostel is suited in a very strategic area exactly two minutes away from the centre on foot. The only problem was that the kitchen was always dirty which made it very hard for me to enjoy my food. They should do extra cleaning rounds per day. As far as I was concerned, the bed and the sheets were clean, and the toilet with the shower were clean as well.


86%

Excellent tourist advice. Walking tours right from the hostel. Computers adequate. Friendly/professional staff. Laundry expensive. Beds wobbly but blankets are nice. Wifi doesn't work except in the common room. Breakfast isn't all that good...sugary, low on nutrition, and ends early at 1030am. Showers are push-activated...lame. In other words, this is a European hostel - some modern things, some old things. It's a good choice to stay here unless you need wifi in your room or computers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your useful and constructive feedback - We are always looking to improve where we are able and will look at the issues raised

63%

Impossible to sleep even with headphones as quiet hours are ignored and the room was directly next to train. Location was best part of hostel. Staff was able to answer questions but never seemed happy to do so (except for the man that checked us in). If you want to party the whole time then this hostel would be a great pick but if you value sleep I would give it a pass.

  • 2nd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry to hear that sleep was not great for you. We do offer ear plugs for lighter sleepers and have rooms to the rear of the Hostel away from the train . Staff are normally so friendly so our apologies if we had an off day -this is highly unusual.

66%

No hot water for 3 days

  • 1st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so very sorry about this. We have been adjusting the system to ensure consistency of water throughout the day

54%

Random People from outside the hostel entered inside during the free breakfast while others where enjoying the free wifi.

  • 1st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for letting us know, this should not be in the case and we will keep an eye on this

100%

I thought it was excellent for money.


91%

Definitely great place and easily located. Ideal location to make a connection (to airport, train, bus) and be right at the very center of Dublin. Individual boxes/lockers would be a great addition, even if everyone seems confident about their valuable items.

  • 1st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your great comments

91%

Posizione ottima e comodissima! Si può raggiungere a piedi qualsiasi posto nella città in poco tempo. Personale molto gentile e atmosfera calorosa. Stanze carine e pulite!

  • 30th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We enjoyed our stay. The poor rating for facilities I gave is just to warn those expecting piping hot water and building wide wifi. The showers are ok if you time it right and don't mind lukewarm water. The wifi works fine downstairs, where you can enjoy the company as well. If you're a light sleeper bring earplugs and a blindfold. And BEST TIP: Bring a small penlight to use when the room lights are off. Most people end up using their phones but a tiny flashlight works better.


(383 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback