X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6670 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

This was a horrible stay. Was in a shared room, which was fine but the walls were so thin that sleep was very lacking. Not one of the stalls in the woman's bathroom locked. I could go on about bad things but the location was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay - we have ear plugs for our light sleepers.

100%

A great place to stay with great staff and atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review - we love guests like you!

63%

They have a sauna, nothing else. No lockers either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Sorry you didn't appear to appreciate our facilities. Most guests just use the hostel as a base to go out and visit the great city of Dulbin - the sauna and our basement area are with WIFI, fussball table, reading area and laundry facilities for the end of the day before you taste the nightlife of Dublin

80%

En general todo bien. El desayuno pobre comparado con otros hostels

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Glad you liked the hostel.

89%

Era la primera vez que iba a este tipo de alojamiento y me ha parecido extraordinario, limpio, organizado y el personal muy agradable. Repetire

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

En general muy bien. Destacaria la limpieza del hostel y la ubicación, se puede ir a pie a cualquier sitio.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much.

94%

The staff were friendly and helpful. Atmosphere was good - busy because it's a big hostel. Location is about 15-20 min walk from the center. Good breakfast - boiled eggs! Wifi in the common areas. Clean and good beds. The all female room I was in had its own bathroom/shower, which was nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

86%

You should make more events internally. Pub Crawl was fun, but would have been more fun to just do it with a group of Isaacs Hostel or only one other hostel.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your suggestions - we do a lot of events in the summer alright.

86%

Ein Hostel wie man es sich vorstellt. Alles da was man braucht ;-)

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Vielen Dank

94%

Would be easier zu have lockers in the rooms. Was missing more opportunities to leave ms Stuff in the bathrooms.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Glad you liked the hostel. We are looking at putting in lockers.

80%

Great hostel. The only thing missing is some sort of locker in the room. Somewhere to keep a change of clothes. If you have a computer, you keep it out of sight so that means in a bag and if you have a bag and don't know your room mates you want to keep it in the lockup, which is in the basement. I think I did 10 trips to that basement on the first evening.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We do have laptop safes in reception for laptops and smaller items.

74%

The rooms are noisy. One can easily hear everything that is going on the same floor and the one above. The WCs are cleaned every morning so they are usually very clean. The staff is very friendly and they will help in everything they can.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the noise - we do offer ear plugs for our light sleepers.

91%

Great hostel in an excelent location in dublin. Very easy to access from airport or to go to visit the city. Excelent recommendations given by the staff. Very good that hostel has a kitchen. I just only suggest that the rooms should have more plugs. Difficult to charge the mobile and camera inside the room. Definitly recommend Isaac's Hostel !!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review - glad you enjoyed your stay.

91%

Great staff, for every problems a solution, good advises, nice Young People, Perfect stay at Isaac's Hostel :)

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much - so glad you enjoyed your stay.

97%

Really amazing hostel ( and we've stayed in a few so we know what we're talking about!!). Perfect location, really good value for money, lovely staff plus all the facilities we needed and then some (the free sauna was an especially nice bonus). Only very minor complaint was that the room was insanely warm and noisy, but the noise was to be expected (as we were in the 16 bed dorm) and we found out afterwards that earplugs were available at reception. I would definitely recommend this Hostel!

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay.

74%

Very big hostel no real atmosfere. Lockers, hot showers, clean nice bathrooms, Reading area, laundry facilities, helpful staff. Dirty and crowded kitchen. Alot of expats.


63%

Spent a long weekend at Isaacs. Beforehand I had some disappointing email-contact with the staff (who only replied in standardised ways or very short and in an unfriendly manner t to my issue). Found the hostel okay, but very big - this way the staff probably wasn't as friendly due to the big amount of people. Great activities offered though! Overall a clean, okay hostel. Breakfast wasn't as bad as I'd expeced. ;-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your reply - sorry you felt that we didn't answer your emails more fully - we are really busy and we just try to answer every query that comes in as quickly as possible.

77%

The hostel was expensive for the quality of stay. The stay was not bad, but I have had the same or better rooms, breakfasts, etc. for cheaper prices. The staff was very helpful, the location of the hostel was convenient for taking the Underground, and I liked the family feeling. Overall it was a comfortable, decent stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Our prices are actually very competitive for Dublin hostels. Weekends are very busy and we are full every weekend especially on Saturday nights.

74%

The hostel was good. Two things to mention: + The staff is very helpful and polite. All of them. - There are no lockers in the rooms. That is so easy to fix and such a basic amenity if you ask me, yet it was not there. There were lockers in the basement but for suitcases or bags. Your stuff had to lie around in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Yes lockers would be great and we are looking at this. We used to have lockers in the rooms but unfortunately we had guests who used to break the locks and vandalise the lockers so we ended up having to get rid of them.

80%

Enjoyed my stay at Issacs hostel. Good atmosphere, clean bedding and showers. My only concern was the corridor at the 3rd floor is very creaky so I had a patchy sleep with people walking past late at night and early in the morning. Location wise the hostel is excellent, being only 30 seconds from the airlink stop and within walking distance of all the main sights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

(326 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback