X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6438 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

I have really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. The staff is very helpful and available on every moment, even in the middle of the night. The location is excellent, it only takes a 5 minutes walk to get in the city centre. Breakfast is simple, but good and the communal areas, bedroom, showers and toilets are clean. After all, I do really recommend this hostel!

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Douches redelijk proper, beddenlakens ongelooflijk smerig. Goed om vlooien van te krijgen

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff are very knowledgeable and willing to show you all their favourite pubs and tourist spots

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A bit noisey, but ok

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

good value for money, stuff is nice and helpful, and the hostel is clean. nice kitchen and common space. close to main street, not far from most of turist attractions. problem is with showers, as timer for shower ends up in every 10 sec so you need to press it all the time... but water is warm :)”


89%

Ideal for a stay in Dublin where you can meet very Kind people. Atmosphere cosy and friendly.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Good atmosphere, friendly staff. Bathrooms somewhat dirty


86%

I really loved the atmosphere. The only thing that was annoying was that there was no wifi in the rooms but in the common area. Besides that I have nothing to complain about.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Good things to know about this hostel, the wifi is only in the common areas, not your room. The breakfast is minimal. The floors creak very loudly whenever anyone on he floor above you walks so bring ear plugs. The free walking tour in the morning was very informative and a nice way to get to know Dublin. This hostel is a good choice if you're just looking for s place to sleep at night.


80%

Overall our stay was fine. The main issues for me were that the floors in the rooms were very creaky and so when people came in late or got up early it woke me up. Also there were no lockers in our room so there was no way to secure my stuff without paying for a locker which I didn't want to do.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Bon séjour passé au Isaac. Cependant, établissement très mal insonorisé, et voisins très bruyants, donc nuits peu réparatrices. Petit bémol aussi sur les douches, difficiles d'accès depuis les chambres d'hotel. Mais il ne faut pas retenir que le négatif : excellent accueil, bien situé dans Dublin, et beaucoup d'animations au sein de l'Hostel : idéal pour rencontrer d'autres backpackers !


66%

awful creaking beds, plain rooms (no bed lights, hardly any hooks, some rooms very small)


100%

Best Hostel in Dublin! It was my 2nd stay in Isaacs Hostel! Next year i will come back - also to Isaacs Hostel!


89%

Helpful staff, clean, the kitchen had a few quirks, as in only one oven works, and it only seems to throw heat from the top. But if you won't to be doing much of your own cooking that shouldn't be an issue.

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

very clean room, new towels/linens every day, hostel was very clean overall. atmosphere was great. i traveled alone and stayed for 6 nights. wasn't bored once. people hang out in the common areas and are very friendly. location is perfect for shops, pubs, restaurants. Stephen's green/grafton street shops 10-20 minutes depending. temple bar was about a 10 minute walk if your into that. not a bad walk to guinness factory. central bus station is around the corner. A++ hostel.

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Betreffend Sicherheit uns wurde aus unserem 2er Zimmer die Fotokammera gestohlen. Als wir beim Polizeiposten die Anzeige aufgaben, meinte der Polizist nur, dass sei in diesem Hostel normal, das Gegenstände aus den Zimmer gestohlen werden. Das Personal war bis auf 1 Mitarbeiter (Andy) sehr unfreundlich. Die Toiletten und Duschen waren meistens nicht sehr sauber. Die Küche welche man benutzen konnte war sehr schmutzig und es waren sogar Tauben drin. Die Lage ist sehr zentral.


80%

Great location. Good atmosphere. Definitely take advantage of the free walking tours and the cheap pub crawl, good way to get to know people. Staff are very friendly. Could do with more bathrooms though for being such a big hostel.


97%

Isaacs was a great hostel to stay at if you're looking to explore Dublin. They offer the average backpacker a lot for their money in terms of facilities and resources for additional tours outside, and inside of the city. I really enjoyed my stay there, but i think there are a few things worth mentioning that one should know before making the choice to stay here. 1: They're located next to a train bridge (noisy) 2: Push-button showers (just frustrating) 3: Birds in the kitchen (not clean)


86%

Great atmosphere at Issacs hostel. Definitely my first choice of hostel if I ever go back to Dublin!


89%

It was a short 1 night stay on the way to the airport for me. It was clean and there was plenty of entertainment. I got a room next to the train tracks, but after about 11:30 or so, I didn't hear it. If that would be something that bothered you, bring earplugs. I enjoyed my stay and the staff helped me out with all of my questions.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(295 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback