X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6554 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The rooms and shower/toilet areas were clean. Special vibe when you walk into "the lobby", great atmosphere! Only a bit disapointing that some other guest stole my shirt while showering, maybe it's a good idea to install lockers or something like that? Other then that, it was great and i wouldn't mind staying there again during my next visit to Dublin! Keep up the good work!

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

No wi-fi in rooms? Seriously?

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
No sorry - but in all the common areas, we have good wifi .

69%

Isaac hostel is a safe place and we had a nice time there. Though, you need to know that you'll pay 2 euros (overnight) for lockers, even if you brought your own chain (its not big but you should know it). Also, one of the guys at the reception in the morning was very macho (everytime we spoke, he said something macho to by boyfriend about us...) Come on! 21st century! And he was not really helpful either, spoke very fast. But the other guys were REALLY nice so Im sure I was'nt lucky.

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Nice hostel in a good location but there was no atmosphere. the wifi didn't work in the room, the staff at the counter were nice but the cleaners were very rude and I thought €6.50 was a bit much for laundry

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review .We are so sorry you did n't feel any atmosphere during your stay ,this is highly unusual as normally we get great feedback on this-maybe it was an unusually quiet day ?The Wifi is offered in common areas . Disappointed that you found the cleaners rude this should not be the case at all but we check this out . We like to keep prices down for our hostelers and our Laundry rates are cheaper than laundrettes in the area

94%

Tout était parfait hormis l'isolation phonique de la chambre: Bruit du tramway et des sanitaires.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci tellement heureux que vous aimez, Désolé si aucun bruit vous perturbé Ps nous ne avons bouchons d'oreille pour les dormeurs légers prochaine fois que vous êtes de retour

80%

Great hostel. The facilities were very good with free sauna, pool table and reading room in the basement. The atmosphere was wonderful and I enjoyed the walking tour and pub crawl they advertised. The downside was that there weren't lockers in the bedroom and to store anything overnight in the lockers downstairs would have cost extra. Also there didn't seem to be any way of adjusting the water temperature in showers. The water was warm, but I would've liked it a bit cooler. Breakfast was alright


100%

The staff was more than exellent, please add a tick box perfect.

  • 21st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sweet.. thank you !

86%

Awesome place! Near the city center is the perfect place to stay if you want to visit Dublin. The staff is very helpful and every day they organise free tours of the city.

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cool, Thank you !

97%

Auberge sympa, dans le centre. petit déjeuner complet.


77%

Night staff was a bit unfriendly, could've been nicer. Clean place though!

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

When we returned to the hostel around 1 am the doors to enter were locked and a janitor let us in. We are not sure how we would have gotten in otherwise because we were never notified that the hostel would be locked at a certain time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi the Hostel is open 24/7 and a member of staff is always on duty - We just lock the doors as a added security precaution at nighttime - apologies for any confusion

94%

Helpful staff, plenty of gender seperate facilities, good kitchen!


89%

Mir hat es super gut im Isaacs Hostel gefallen, die Lage ist toll und die Mitarbeiter nett und hilfsbereit. Das Frühstück enthält alles was man braucht und sauber war es auch! Gerne wieder


83%

Very noisy. cannot sleep as train bridge is just across. Cannot charge my phone only two socket in bedroom. You cannot take shower on morning time as cold water only. self kitchen nice but smells terrible. Management should more keep eyes for cleaning in kitchen. Birds in kitchen are nit permitted due to healthy reason

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. For lighter sleepers we do offer ear plugs and will try and accommodate if you need a quieter room. There would be more than two sockets in each bedroom so I am sorry if you did not locate and they were not obvious, we will always charge your appliances at reception if you need We will check out the Kitchen but it is cleaned twice daily by our staff and we would ask that all guests leave as they found some would be more diligent than others.

97%

bathrooms rather busy in the mornings

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry if you had to wait alt all . This is not normally an issue but on occasion everyone seems to wants a shower at the same time . We do have additional bathrooms in the basement for future reference

86%

It was very nice hostel with a lot of facilities. We did the free walking and it was very good. We loved our guide Keith. He could explain everything very good with a good amount of humor sometimes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lovely to read this feedback . Thank you

94%

I really enjoyed my stay. The beds were good, the place was very clean and warm. There was little to no trouble with noise in the rooms. I would've liked the breakfast to have lasted longer: 7AM to 10AM eg. Further I think a bigger sink would be useful, similar to the type used for cattle.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the useful suggestions .

60%

장점: 객실 내부가 넓어서(여성 6인실 경우) 공동 생활에 볼편함이 없었음. 작은 옷장과 의자 2개도 있어 유용. 샤워실이 객실 안팎 여기저기에 있어 붐비는 느낌이 없었음. 아침 식사는 초간단이지만 커피도 제공되고 먹을만. 단점: 철도길 인근이라 소음 심하고 일대가 불결. 엘리베이터가 없어서 무거운 캐리어 들고 내리기 곤란할듯.

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
불편을 끼쳐 드려 죄송합니다 - 우리가 이러한 문제로 볼 것이다

100%

Great place to stay will return soon

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good to hear this !

97%

Great time with the family. Good base location not far from the center. Will be staying again next time. Excellent value for money

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks !

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(311 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback