X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Isaacs Hostel Reviews

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
7115 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

I stayed at the hostel on my first night in Ireland and was happily surprised at the cleanliness of the accommodations (showers, toilets, bunks, and kitchen) and the expert advice of the staff. Kind and friendly, it was a great way to start my three-week adventure. I'd recommend it in a heartbeat.

  • 25th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Ich habe drei Nächte im Isaacs Hostel verbracht. Dieses Hostel ist eines der saubersten, die ich gesehen habe. Badezimmer und Schlafräume sind in top Zustand und modern eingerichtet. Durch ein Kartensystem ist es auch sehr sicher dort. In der Küche kann man sich auch selbst etwas kochen. Sie ist aber nicht so sauber :/ Wlan gibt es leider nur im Aufenthaltsraum, der allerdings recht gemütlich ist. Die Mitarbeiter sind sehr freundlich und es gibt auch gemeinsame Aktivitäten wie einen Pub Crawl.


91%

The vibe and the energy in the hostel is absolutely outstanding. Its so joyful yo stay here. I'd recommend it to every bagpacker who are coming to Dublin!!

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It was my first time to Ireland and it couldn't have started better than the friendliness of isaacs hostel staff. I felt so welcomed and I cannot wait to stay there again!

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
That's so lovely to hear - see you soon !

94%

A really friendly hostel. Comfortable and well equipped. The only drawbacks - no wifi in our room and no sinkplug.

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you kindly ! We do have Wifi throughout the hostel so not sure what happened there it may be high demand period apologies for any disruption to normal service The sink plug was maybe taken as a souvenier- we will investigate !

60%

De sfeer was echt heel erg goed hier, heb hier snel mensen leren kennen. Het hostel was op zich prima qua hygiëne alleen overal ontzettend warm wat wel echt een beetje vies was. Op mijn kamer had je veel herrie van de straat maar dit bokste niet op tegen het gesnurk van mijn kamergenoot. Al met al qua gezelligheid een dikke tien, verder qua gebouw wat minder goed.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bedankt voor je bekijken en blij dat je overall.Our veld rond excuses voor warmte en geluid vond tijdens uw verblijf

77%

la limpieza y las camas eran muy deficitarias... los edredones estaba llenos de polvo, las camas en mal estado, la limpieza de las habitaciones tampoco era muy buena.... El desayuno era un poco pobre... Lo mejor la atención personal del equipo de recepción (felicitades a Alexandra!!!)

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lo siento mucho escuchar esto - tenemos normalmente buenas críticas en la limpieza. Todas las habitaciones se limpian a diario por lo que vamos a investigar. Pasaremos en sus respecta a Alexandra

83%

Wir hatten zwei sehr angenehme Nächte in diesem Hostel. Die Mitarbeiter sind äußerst freundlich und geben sich viel Mühe. Wir fühlten uns sehr gut aufgehoben und würden es auch wieder buchen :)

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Danke Schon

100%

Great place. Staff is amazing and will always be available to answer any questions. Very accommodating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great review and thank you!

91%

Nice hostel, well located in the city with nice atmosphere ! The ideal place to stay in Dublin for few days and visit the city. The staff is helpful and you can meet some nice poeple and enjoying pubcrawl to discover Dublin's night life !

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you liked the hostel . Thanks for your lovely review

100%

Wonderful stay. Very helpful & friendly staff. Very nice hostel & excellent location.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel. Great location.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Do not allow alcohol an the rooms please. We hat a eight bed room and six of them drunk and due to this the room smelled and sleeping was impossible

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry to hear that your roommates were drunk. We would if possible move you and would intervene if needed. Usually the common rooms are where socialising and drinking would take place, as we do want out guests to have peaceful nights sleep

100%

Great staff, location especially when travelling w/teenage sun. Highly recommend this place for budget travelers.

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Most wonderfull staff that pass down a very postive vibe right off to anyone who visits!

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

A group of people attempted to mug me at the front door. The front desk would not let me in until about three minutes later, where I was cornered at the door and being threatened. Their excuse was that they didn't know I wasn't with them. A very poor excuse -- the violent threat on the doorstep was apparently my responsibility. The next night, in the room, a man violently talked to himself and subsequently pissed the floor. By the next morning they supposedly removed him, yet he came back.

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Hostel is good and staff's are kind. Free breakfast is very valuble for budget traveller. One thing I like to recommend is Card key is overused for enter the dorm. 위치 시설 좋아요 카드키 너무 많이 사용해서 불편하긴 하지만 안전한거 같네요

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks, So sorry not sure what you mean re the card key - did you have you have issues with access ?

89%

In total we enjoyed our stay at this hostel. However there were not enough bathrooms for the amount of people that stayed there. Furthermore the train tracks were just outside our window.

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a great stay at isaacs. The staff was very friendly and helpful all the time. Especially after one week in a terrible hostel in Belfast, it felt like coming home when we returned to Isaacs Hostel! Furthermore the hostel decreeds big lockers, a sauna and many more, and also offers great specials like a free walking tour through Dublin or a Backpacker Pubcrawl (definitely recommend the Pubcrawl ;) )


54%

The kitchen was absolutely disgusting. The fridges are not cleaned or emptied of old food. I found items over a month old! The hostel staff switch around beds with no notice, so there were frequently issues where someone came back to a stranger in their bed. When brought to the staff, it was given a quick fix that just caused more problems later on. Also, the hostel rooms are very hot even when it's cool outside! The area the hostel is in isn't nice; I walked past a man doing drugs in the alley!

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(402 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback