Hostelworld.com

Island Vibe Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 150 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 150 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.9
Island Vibe Backpackers Located at 10 Daagraad Street, , Jeffreys Bay.
Island Vibe Backpackers
South Africa
Jeffreys Bay 10 Daagraad Street,
82% 150
-34.0603392 24.9250388
Island Vibe Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
9.1

Lugar incrível com pessoas queridas!!! Adorei as aulas de surf e simplismente ficar olhando as ondas em frente ao hostel ... Quando eu voltar, com certeza é lá que vou ficar!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Mar 2016
10.0

One of my favourite hostels! Only stayed one night but it was so much fun! All the guests and the staff partied long into the night and it was so easy to meet new people. Everything was very clean and I recommend asking for the house at the bottom. We had our own Easter Sunday house braii and it was class. Only thing I would say is that if you are not happy with lying on the beach or surfing, there is not a whole lot else to do and the town/beach is not safe at night

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2016
4.0

This place is under renovation and was a mess. Broken doors, broken glass, etc The bathrooms and showers smelled so sour and awful and the dorm room smelled so stale it was hard for me to stay it in. All in all, this place looks like it has seen one too many parties and needs a total makeover.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Feb 2016
9.4

Loved my stay here! The staff are so friendly and welcoming. It is really easy to hire surfing kit. If you like a party this is your type of hostel. Beer pong overnight with the master freddy. Went on a township tour with Good Man and this was a really good way to spend my afternoon. Wish i stayed there for longer, really enjoyed my stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
16th Feb 2016
7.1

The hype around the hostel is a little to much. The vibe is really cool if you want to party, but if you don't want to get drunk every night of your stay, it's not the best hostel. Good surfing lessons tho!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2016
4.0

Facilities weren't very clean, bunk bed mattresses are wafer thin, only one member of staff seemed to know what was going on and I had to hang around until 10am on check out day to get my key deposit back as there were no staff on site until then.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jan 2016
9.4

LOVE IT! Came back twice after my awesome first stay. This place has some great vibes and there are always cool people to hang with! The staff is great (miss you Merel!), but don't go here if you want to see a lot of stuff and not hang out in your hostel, because you are gonna want to hang.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Jan 2016
5.7

Great location and if party vibe is what you want then it's perfect. However for us, a couple in their early 30s is was not ideal. The check in girl was abrupt and rude. Couldn't even manage a hello when we arrived. When I asked for towels to rent she was dismissive and unhelpful and all I wanted was a towel! The evening dinner was cheap but basic. The dorm was clean but had no key and was not locked therefore if was not secure.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jan 2016
9.1

People talk this hostel up a lot but it's worth it. It's right on the beach and offers everything from surfing and sand boarding lessons to horse back riding and township tours. The staff make it, they're so welcoming and get involved in everything. Great restaurant & bar which means you see everyone all the time, which makes it feel like a little community. Very easy to meet people. Idea for young travelling alone

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
9th Jan 2016
8.9

It was actually really nice there, i just had to lower the rating- not because of the staff- but because of the guests who where partying (which is good) but then sick was all over the toilets and the facilities... Not nice... The bar area could be friendlier- its very dark there... Otherwise a cool location and friendly staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.