Hostelworld.com

Islander Backpackers Resort

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 608 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 608 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.3
Islander Backpackers Resort Located at PO Box 344, , Surfers Paradise.
Islander Backpackers Resort
Australia
Surfers Paradise Queensland QLD 4217 PO Box 344
70% 608
-28.0030408 153.4283852
Islander Backpackers Resort
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th Mar 2016
6.6

Well located and staff are friendly enough. The room I was in was a ground floor converted apartment kind of thing. It was accessed by a gate which was always left open so anyone could (and did) walk in. Rooms are pretty small, but otherwise it was okay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Mar 2016
7.1

Good value for money, cheap hostel in a perfect location. And the room had its own fridge! There was mould in the shower floor and bathroom... Nice common areas and pools!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Mar 2016
5.4

awesome location, however not a hostel I would highly recommend. it's pretty unpersonal, the kitchen area was most of the time quite dirty and the beds are uncomfortable! nevertheless you have an own TV in your room + balcony! all in all, it's ok!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
6th Mar 2016
6.3

I have very mixed feelings toward this hostel. It has many negatives for example it has a generally run down atmosphere with none of the facilities appearing to gave any matinence in years. However the rooms were clean to a decent standard they had nice big sequirty lockers and the location was pretty decent. Guess it just depends where your priorities lie

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • ashadoeve
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Feb 2016
6.9

Rooms have no airconditioning and look like a prison, but you have a balcony so that is Nice. You have a jacuzzi aswell and that is good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Feb 2016
3.7

The only good thing is location. We were in an '8bed' which turned out to be 2 4 beds so very unsociable. One tiny floor fan for the whole room does NOT suffice, I've never been so hot I literally couldn't sleep. Not only that but my top bunk did not have a safety bar on all sides, so I spent the whole night worried about falling off. The room was only lockable by an outdoor gate, the staff were very unhelpful and the kitchen was hugely under stocked for pots and pans etc. I would not stay here

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2016
7.4

Need air con on rooms or better fans. And supply towels for free. You stay in hostels because you want to save money then have to pay to use a towel. Silly. And is a deal breaker for people. Room was so spacious though and had a tv which was awesome. And a bathroom connected. So thumbs up for that

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Feb 2016
6.9

Great location, bathroom was filthy and had cockroaches. Nice swimming pool.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Feb 2016
9.4

Great hostel at the perfect location. Very close to the beach and the shops, bars, nightclubs and restaurants. Loved that the dorm looked like a hotel room, with an ensuite bathroom and a fridge in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2016
8.3

Only negative comment I have about the hostel is that the rooms are very warm. Other than that it is perfect. Including the jacuzzi

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.