Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Islander Backpackers Resort Reviews

Reviews & Ratings Explained


549 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Hi! Enjoyed my stay again... but cleaners need to do a cleaning course on how to clean bathrooms. Stayed 5days/4nights in backpacker section & not once was our bathroom or shower cleaned. :( Apart from that the stay was a pleasant one!! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for your comments on your stay at the Islander backpackers. We'll be sure to pass your comments about the bathrooms to our housekeeping team. We usually only receive positive feedback about the cleanliness of the rooms so suspect this was an oversight. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.


When I arrived, it looked like a rundown mess. I tried to cancel my booking but I was unable to get a refund.

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us. We do not allow cancellations on the day of arrival and apologise for the inconvenience that this caused. Obviously we don't agree with being referenced as a "mess", but do appreciate your opinion. Regards The Team @ Islander


Good spot in Surfers, rooms are old and tired, beds are cheap and small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for noting our excellent location that sits next to the bus station and a short stroll to the beach and night life of Surfers Paradise. We are working hard with the property owners to reinvest and we have some exciting plans ahead. Stay Tuned. The Team @ Islander.


Book this place if you want to experience Surfers in all its glory. Truly an eye opening experience. My roommie ran a meth lab. And the beds shook late into the night. But walking distance to best stuff. Especially the clubs. Lockers in room were great. Hot tub meant no sleep late into the night. Nonetheless, good stay.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, ahhh the joys of dormitory rooms!. We appreciate the feedback and recognition for having the best location in Surfers Paradise. Our heated Spa shuts down at 10pm, but feel free to call our 24 hour Reception next time should you need any matters addressed either in room or externally :). Safe travels. The Team @ Islander.

View all Surfers Paradise Hostels

Please give us your feedback