X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Istanbul Harmony Hostel Reviews

Hoca Pasa Mah.Hudavendigar Cad .no26, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
764 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Staff is very friendly and helpful and location is great. Near the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia and also lots of restaurants.


86%

great location, great staff. great breakfast serving guy. cant complain. although the quality of rooms could have been better:)


97%

Here is the best hostel in Istanbul!!!

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

The staff that work there are so nice and really cool people; the owners not so much. They're jerks in my opinion treat the staff pretty crappy. The hostel is what you would expect on cleanliness , it's a really good location to many things, right in front of the tram (good for access but bad because it can be very noisy). The breakfast is good! I would stay there if the owners weren't such jerks. If you don't care, it's a good place to stay. Don't book bus to cappadocia there, use a travel co.


86%

Good and cheap hostel! We stayed just for one night, but the staff was really helpful in everything that we needed! The localization is perfect, in a walking-distance from Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia.


100%

I really love this place! The best thing about Harmony hotel is the stuff treats you as a friend but not as a customer. Go the the terass upsters - it's the coolest place ever! The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, location is just prefect because it's the middle of the old sity so I could feel the atmosphere of old Istanbul. I've stayed a couple of times in this hostel and definitely I will recomend it to all my friends.

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location for tourist nice terrace with bar to spend evening friendly staff big rooms with single beds (even room for 10 people was not crowded). it is good to bring your own lock, because some lockers do not have any good price (price differs at some servers, so I choosed the lowest one and it was respected) This was my first stay in hostel and I was very nicely surprised, when I return to Istanbul, I will stay in Harmony again.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

i really enjoyed my stay at Harmony Hostel even that i stayed a couple of days but i felt great with the friendly staff , the location was great it's near to every things !! the beds were comfortable , the rooms clean , and at the terrace you can cook and drink what ever you want and there is amazing view En verdad la estadia en este hostal fue excelente, recomiendo a todos ir alli, todo el staff es muy amistoso en especial Nour ;)

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This Hostel is right in the heart of the old Town of Istanbul, step out of the front door( but remember to add a few minutes to talk to the super friendly staff on the way out) and everything you need is on your doorstep. Choose to watch the cruise liners dock or marvel at the Blue Sofia from the roof terrace and enjoy the sound of the call to prayer from all directiions. Luxury living it is not, but if you want a bed, shower, bar and breakfast for under £10 a night this is for you. Love it!

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good hostel... Really close to all monuments that you can visit. Nice staff, good breakfast, nice terrace with good view and fresh air :) Nice place to stay for who come to stay for short time, because of good place of hostel. Near are all transport stations, especially for ferry. Recommended for everybody to staying here.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place to stay, super close to many historical sites, easy to get anywhere with the light rail on the doorstep. Only knock is that the locker did not work (but rooms had automatic door locks) and did not get internet in the room, although it had a router. Great people working the desk and bar area. Would recommend.


89%

It was my fourth time in Harmony Hostel in Istanbul :)


100%

Great location, helpful staff

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Thanks to all of the staff for making our stay this special: Nour for always being so helpful and friendly, always having a smile on your lips. Special thanks to Çağlayan: We enjoyed your company a lot, you teaching us some words we would always forget and ask again ;) The barbecue, you playing turkish guitar... that was a magic evening! The turtle always wins ;) Thanks also to everybody else working there for you help, your kindness and for sharing your Istanbul-experiance with us! See u again!


69%

Rooms are a good size for larger groups (we had 5). Good location and breakfast (but basic). Lock on our door was temperamental and the hostel staff came into our room to get stores from a cupboard in our room. Being directly below the terrace where breakfast was served was noisy.

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

The staff was very good at constantly smoking and not being at the front desk, but when we found out our shower was leaking into the room we told the staff and they said it would be fixed. It was never fixed and we had to just let water pour onto our floor. The floor of the room was uneven and looked like it was built by kids in shop class.


49%

One of the worst hostels I've ever stayed in! We booked & paid a 6 Bed Dorm and ended up in an 8 Bed Dorm. We asked for a Discount, which was confirmed to us after asking. But we never saw the Money, since the staff member didn't show up again during our stay and the other staff members weren't willing to help. The beds are horrible, the room was incredibly loud and it didn't make a difference if the windows were closed or open. The lights had a defective contact and sometimes didn't turn off.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
74%

When we arrived planning to stay in the 6 bed room like we had booked, they informed us our room had an issue and we'd need to stay in the 11 bed room on bunk beds. This happened for the next night as well, until the third night when our room was finally ready. It turned out the shower was leaking, which was the reason for the closure, although we quickly learned the problem hadn't been solved when it leaked that morning. However, the staff was incredible, as was the rooftop patio and location.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Hostel has a great location, good breakfast and (when we were there) some very friendly staff. However there is much room for improvement (especially in bathrooms & toilets). A dedicated and motivated team with smart management could make it much better and one of the best hostels this side of the Golden Horn. Many thanks and compliments to the staff, especially Kevin and Nour. Special HI's to everyone!


46%

We booked for a 6 bed room. We arrived and were allocated into a 8 bed that turned into a 9 bed 2 days later. The room w/ two showers, one was leaking and making the whole room wet, the other ran out of water or hot water. Staff promised to fix it by the end of the 1st day but it wasn't after the 4 days we spent there. A real headache. Everyday we had to take a shower in a different room, which not only bothered us but the people there. Staff needs better training. Breakfast and location nice.


(545 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback