X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Istanbul Hostel Reviews

35 Kutlu Gun Sokak, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
3775 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Good what what we needed. A bed and a roof and a free breakfast. Nothing flash but did it's job.


91%

Great location, friendly 24 hour staff with a good sense of humour. A nice breakfast and comfortable room. Travel desk was very helpful. Could have been better with personal lockers but overall a good hostel.


71%

Fantastic location on the old side. Showers very old and unclean.


100%

Incredible location - right next to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. For anyone looking to get the most out of their Istanbul experience, this hostel is perfect. Facilities were great, showers were one of the best I've seen in all of Europe. Highly recommended!

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Pretty good location, close to main sights in 'old town'. Rooms are spacy and beds are good.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel. I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel for 3 nights especially the amazing location! The staff were friendly and helpful and there was a good a good atmosphere amongst the travellers. The rooftop bar is really cool too.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location! And you get what you pay for. Wifi and breakfast included free. Bed was comfortable. Being June was very warm at night. Bathroom was pretty dirty, showers had mould and needed a good scrub. One toilet had no flusher. Safety a problem, front door left open, would be easy for anyone to walk in off the street. Bedrooms had locked doors but no lockers inside bedrooms so I had to carry important things everywhere rather than being able to lock them away.


97%

Very friendly! So helpful and nice, perfect location - sometimes the restaurants and cafes are more expensive but great place to stay!


74%

It´s ok, I spent there only one night and was fine. The rooms are ok, its clean, the location is perfect and its cheap. The breakfast is very poor. Nothing special. I stayed in Bahaus hostel after. better breackfast, view ... but rooms at Istanbul Hostel are better. Its fine, font think much about it!

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The shower was nice, the breakfast was good, and the location was absolutely spectacular. However, there were no lockers and you could only store small things in the safe. The staff all speak English, but most with a limited vocabulary so that you can't actually converse with them and they might not be able to answer or understand your questions. If you take the airport shuttle, pay in euros, it's cheaper. Overall it was decent, but I've stayed in better.


100%

I liked the location and the reception. That was amazing!!


100%

If you got just a few days, this really is the place to stay because the big sights are just around the corner. The staff is very nice, funny and always helping you out. They even got needles for blisters and desinfection or loadingcables for any kind of phone... They should probably have a room as meeting point where every guest could hang out and get in touch - else it was just the case during breakfast on the roof - Amazing view from here: hagia sophia, the typical houseroofs, the sea...!

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly staff and fantastic location, right next to the Aya Sofya, perfectly placed for walking around and then stopping by the hostel to relax again before heading back out for the day.

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Had a near perfect stay, very friendly and helpful staff on the reception and tourist desk. Great location. Only but noteworthy criticism, the terrace bar and restaurant manager was particularly creepy and inappropriate to women. From saying inappropriate comments to physically touching a girl. He was sleazy and I would fear for lone female travellers to be put in this situation. A real shame as the hostel was great and we did really enjoy it, nothing happened but we both felt uncomfortable.


100%

Stayed in a four-bed room. Excellent location. Sultanahmet train station is very close where you can go to everywhere easily from.Room was clean, staff were friendly, shower was hot and clean, strong and free wi-fi connection inside the building and terrace restaurant was wonderful where you can have lovely diner. One the best hostels I have been in my life.

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Location and staff are outstanding

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

great hostel, great people, AMAZING location, great restaurant on rooftop

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel was in a great location with friendly staff and an excellent terrace/restaurant/bar. However, the room that I was put in was an extremely unpleasant experience. I was staying in the downstairs (underground) dorm. It was dark, smelled moldy, and there were no outlets to charge electronics anywhere near my bed. Definitely the worst hostel room I have ever stayed in.

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice hostel, great location...Good service and loved the roof garden.


91%

A very nice, good located in the old city center hostel, just a few minutes away from the Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia, with a very nice, helpful staff and a great view from the restaurant to the old town and sea. I highly recommend - great people and nice evenings spent there!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(206 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback