X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Istanbul Hostel Reviews

35 Kutlu Gun Sokak, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
3004 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The craziest hostel in Istanbul! Great place, great ppl that I've met and great staff!


94%

The only complain I have is that the showers could be a little bit more clean and had more hooks to hang your clothes in so you dont have to over use the only 2 available where your clothes can also get wet. Other than that, the rest was sincerely excellent. Staff was helpful anytime I needed something (ask them for the Hamam), bed was comfortable, 0 security issues and excellent value for money.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location with value for money but the location is suited for travellers staying for a few days as it is hang in the center of all tourist attractions but the amount of tourists and tourist oriented shops might be a bit much for long stays


83%

Location is great. Less then a 5 minute walk from the Blue Mosque and also close by to a bunch of other sights close by. The owner/guy who runs the place is super helpful with any questions you have. Asked about a good hookah bar and sent us to this unreal place, made for a good night. Only place it lacks is a common room so that atmosphere can be missing at times. Overall a good place though and would recommend.


94%

The staff was especially friendly and helpful, even willing to take guests out to bars and shisha in the evening. The rooftop restaurant and bar was great as well, and the rooms and bathrooms were impressively clean. Overall, would highly suggest this hostel!

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had a great time at Istanbul Hostel! The staff was really friendly and helpful and it was so centrally located. Only 5 minutes to Hagia Sofia, the blue mosque and the Baslica Cistern! I could not have had a better time here.

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to stay in town.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

A great location (there really couldn't be better) and nice facilities as well.


43%

Directions to get there aren't clear, I got lost for half an hour. On my first day in Istanbul, I left the trousers and blouse on my bed and they got stolen. I went to the receptionist, who's name starts with an M, looking for help, he came to my room, didn't know what to say and started YELLING at me walking away after. I would leave next day if it wouldn't be for a nice man who runs the travel agency, he offered me apologies and a refund or 1 free dinner. Bad staff, lovely terrace and locat


94%

Staff not always there but really good location


94%

I travelled with my friend and we really enjoy our stay here! The location is perfect, next to The Blue Mosque and Sophia Meseum, we can enjoy the great view everyday when leave and back to the hostel. Rooms are clean, the staff is very helpful and he taught us Turkish:) I miss my breafast time at the terrace with sunshine and sea view. Definitely will recommand this hostel and i will stay here again next time! Tesekkur;)


77%

It was a very nice 5-nights stay in Istanbul Hostel! It has the best location as it is really just a minute walk from famous locations. However, I was a bit worried with the security in the hostel. I stayed on the 22 bed mixed dorm and I wasn't given any keys or anything. I was worried people could just sneak in. There was no lockers in the room as well. Facilities could be better (more showers and toilets esp for the basement rooms) and especially electric sockets in each bed :)

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff was very friendly and the hostel was in a excellent location. The view from the terrace was awesome and the breakfast was better than some 2 star hotels i've stayed. Definitely go back, well worth the stay!


100%

Stayed with a group of friends and really loved the place. It is in the best location possible, a minutes walk from blue mosque and hagia sophia situated in the heart of the old city. The terrace restaurant has sweeping views of the great buildings and the sea in the background. Would completely recommend for backpackers.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very nice hostel with a terrace to chill out. Some computers are available for guest and they have the best water pression in the shower I ever seen! Also, the location is right next to the 2 big mosque, but quite a walk (35 minutes) From Taksym square.


97%

Its a nice located hostel, there is free breakfast at the rooftop where you can see the Bosporus! we really enjoyed our first stay, and came back after traveling in Turkey for another night!


100%

I think it is very comfortable and well located. Very clean and awesome staff. Will definitely come back.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Chill place. Paco was incredibly helpful: he didn't charge me for the first night I missed bc I missed my flight and lacked internet access to contact him. He also allowed me to use the computer for a couple hours after I checked out so that I could complete my taxes. Loved the beds and decor inside. Great location by the sights and close to the water. Definitely one of the best hostels I've stayed at if not the very best.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

It was a really good location, very close to a lot of the tourist attractions. The staff was friendly, but you should do your research on places to go and not just blindly follow their advice. I did not enjoy the bath house they sent us to and there are plenty in the same price range that are much nicer.

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very friendly and funny staff (think quiet, grim looking but sarcastic and funny). Location is very close to the main tourist attractions, hard to meet people though, with no real common room and no kitchen. Not ideal if you're looking to live with the locals but very clean. Suits some but I'd probably stay at Taksim next time.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(188 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback