X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Istanbul Hostel Reviews

35 Kutlu Gun Sokak, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
3207 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

If there is an air conditioner, I'll score more than 100%


60%

Reception doesn't give any information on arrival unless directly asked. Instead they harrass you with question like "Why don't you ask anything about the hostel?" Toilets are miniscule and showers are dilapidated. Still, perfect location on a quiet street, 2-minutes walk to the Blue Mosque and Aya-Sofia. And amazing terrace on the upper floor with 10% discount for hostel dwellers.


89%

You should go here on location alone. It is 2 minutes from the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sofia and the cisterns. It is very cheap, the staff are very helpful and all speak good English. There is a cheap rooftop bar with and incredible view.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel!! Nicest staff and great location with an expectacular view from the rooftop/restaurant!

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

A very good hostel with a great location.. Noise free and a good mix of people.. Very friendly staff..


100%

nice staff

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Istanbul hostel was very pleasant. It has a community of very nice individuals and a terrace on the roof with a very nice view of the city. Its location is steps away from the Aya Sofia and Blue Mosque. making it the ideal hostel for any traveler who wants to see Istanbuls main sites.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

If you want to stay near the touristic attractions in Istanbul, this hostel is perfect, Aya Sofya, the Blue Mosque and Topkapi are within 5 minutes of walking. It is a very touristic neighbourhood though and restaurants in this area for example are less nice and authentic than restaurants in other neighbourhoods. The rooms and the bathroom are nice and clean.


94%

I loved staying here, the hostel staff in particular were wonderful and so so helpful. Worth staying here especially for the rooftop bar!


91%

Great place to stay in Istambul. Location is perfect for getting to all the important places. The personal was very nice and welcoming, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. I would totally stay here again if I come to this great city once more.


94%

Hostel was great. Would have liked if they were able to help you book excursions around the city, though.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I was pleased to be able to stay in such a pleasant hostel nearby the heart of ancient Istanbul. I really liked the location, rooftop views, and friendly staff as well. I had lots of fun meeting enthusiastic travelers from around the world in a truly international hostel environment. Both Emery and Paco were lots of fun. Highly recommend this hostel!

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely hostel with very friendly staff and plenty of toilets, showers and hot water. Breakfast was a little disappointing but one can't grumble given the price. It is in the perfect location, literally 2 minutes from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and loads of shops and cafés


57%

A really poor hostel, except for the location. No personal lockers and anyone can just walk into the downstairs dorm from the street basically. The downstairs dorm is really unpleasant. When I checked in, before I had even got out my passport the sleazy guy at reception was hounding me about tours and shuttle buses, etc. I didn't see the Hosteling International flag out front, maybe they've been kicked out of the organization. No HI hostel should be this bad.


100%

Fantastic location and very convenient to have breakfast at hostel!


66%

Amazing location. 5 minute walk from Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque and a ten minute walk to the Grand Bazaar or the Spice Market. The place was not very clean. The bathroom was shared and only cleaned in the morning. Our sheets had stains and white stuff (ew) on them when we first got there. However, this place really was just a place to sleep since there's SO MUCH to do in Istanbul. Basically, the city as amazing, this hostel wasn't. For the same $, you can stay at a REAL hotel in the area.


91%

great location ..central to everything (blue mosque, sofia, grand bizzare ect). a walk away from the clubbing district. aewsome rooftop view!!


91%

I had a fantastic few of days at Istanbul hostel. It is located very conveniently near all the main tourist attractions in a safe, picturesque part of the old town. The staff are great and more than happy to help with any tours or advice for things to do/see around town. Highly recommend staying.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Not the most fun hostel I've ever stayed at but overall good experience. Great roof top terrace and they do serve beer.


100%

The staff was very helpful ın many ways. I felt at home.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(217 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback