X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Istanbul Hostel Reviews

35 Kutlu Gun Sokak, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
2983 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This was genuinely the best hostel we have stayed at during our travels through Europe. The location is perfect (right between the blue mosque and Hagia Sophia, and there is a supermarket opposite). The sun terrace has incredible views of Hagia Sophia. Although there is no kitchen, there are plenty of very cheap restaurants near by. Also, they give you a free Turkish breakfast. The bathrooms were clean, and rooms spacious with plenty of natural light. The staff were extremely nice and helpful!

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Awesome location with a nice terrace on the roof! Met nice people there. It was not really dirty, but the showers could sometimes need some cleaning. All in all very recommendable!

  • 31st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel in the center of Sultanameth with a super roof top a fantastic view (great for the delicious Turkish breakfast)! Paco is very friendly and welcoming, the rooms are clean and spacious and the atmosphere very friendly. All in all a great stay that allowed us to enjoy Istanbul to the most!

  • 29th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

One of the best youth hostel i've been in my life ! Onur, the manager is a great host, and the atmosphere was amazing . I'll definitly recommend the place for an amazing stay in Istanbul, great location near Taksim, all partyinig spots and rstaurants. Thank you Sofa Hostel !


74%

There is no A/C and the bathrooms are shared male and female and can be a bit messy in the mornings. Otherwise the staff were nice and the breakfast was ok


100%

Very good locattion to center part of town. Walking distance/ Paco was very helpful. Recomanaded good Turkish bath and help arranged everything.

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Friendly staff, nice location and good value for money! ;)

  • 25th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Really good place, in an incredible location near Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. We rented a private double room and it was a nice room in an spacious apartment. Although we stayed just one night, we will never forget the breakfast with a great view of the Bosforus.


100%

Excellent location. Literally two minutes from the blue mosque and the hagia Sophia. They have a rooftop terrace with good views and a restaurant. Highly recommend staying here.


97%

We had a lovely stay. The staff were really helpful. The rooms were good they were cleaned every day and the showers were better than lots of hostels i have stayed in. Excellent location

  • 24th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location ,very friendly staff and amazing rooftop you can see all istanbul.also i met to many people's here. Definetly recomended.thank you istanbul hostel

  • 23rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great hostel, would recommend. Nice rooftop bar/restaurant with a view of Hagia Sophia, clean rooms. No AC, which can get hot in Istanbul in the summer, but that would be the only complaint. You'll have to leave the window open, so bring ear plugs because the first prayer call is two hours before dawn.


97%

The staff have been fantastic, went out of their way to help us. Great rooftop terrace and in an excellent location. Would highly recommend staying here if you are planning to visit Istanbul! Paco is awesome!!

  • 22nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Nice terrace and helpful staff. Brilliant location in the heart of istanbul.

  • 22nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Et hostel, hvor vi mødte en glad, positive og hjælpsom personalegruppe. Velegnet til vores familie, som er fra 14 år til 55 år.Beliggenheden er centralt, tæt på havet, bymidten og offentligt transport. Med en god udsigt til havet fra lækker tagterrasse.

  • 21st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We stayed at hostel just 2 nights but we left it very satisfied. It was a nice staff (especially Paco) inviting us for breakfast the first day when we just arrived. Its a nice, very calm and good located hostel. And we would definitly recomend it. Katia and Luciano


83%

Istanbul Hostel was a fantastic choice - the location is very central to the Old City (just blocks away from the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia) and walking distance from the bazaars. The best part about the hostel by far is the staff. Everyone is so helpful and friendly, and really made us feel at home. We had a great stay, and would recommend this place to everyone!

  • 20th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff at Istanbul hostel were amazing! I arrived after much travelling and was unfortunately very sick with pneumonia, the men who could always be found at the front desk were so helpful and accommodating helping me get around and making sure i felt like this hostel was home. The facilities were always clean and the beds were so cumfy! There's a great restaurant next door and its so close to all the tourist attractions. By far my favorite location to stay in istanbul. highly reccomend here!

  • 20th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Good location and good price! Fair deal :)


94%

The best thing about this hostel is its location. Very close to the blue mosque and hagia sofia, you can easily walk around. One of the staff is very kind and speaks English very well (I forgot his name). Also a van for the two airports in Istanbul comes and picks you up every morning (costs 30 Turkish Lira), which I found very useful.


(2325 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback