X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Istanbul Hostel Reviews

35 Kutlu Gun Sokak, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
2981 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Istanbul Hostel is a great, friendly place to spend your time in Istanbul. The location is amazing, right next to the Ayasofya an the Blue Mosque as well as close to the tram line that takes you close to Taksim square. A 5 minute walk away from the water and surrounded by lots of restraunts and corner stores for grabbing snacks for the day. The Breakfast is free and the WiFi is all throughout the hostel, in the dorms, lobby and on the roof! Stayed twice in my time in turkey and would stay again!


77%

Great location. Lovely roof top bar/restaurant. Easy going staff. Rooms were a little stuffy. Some of the plug sockets were dangerously exposed i.e. wires pulled out of the wall which was quite dangerous. Also there could have been more tourist information pamphlets in the lobby as we were looking for tips and advice on what to do whilst in Istanbul. Other than that it was an enjoyable stay


71%

The staff: Emre and Paco were great, friendly, honest and very helpful. The location is excellent, a stone throw away from both ayah sofiah and the blue mosque. However, for the sake of honesty: the toilets are in need of repair. Its slightly expensive for what facilities are being offered. Only a single fan offered between six beds which didn't really help. I booked an all male dorm but was placed in a mixed dorm. Still I recommend in terms of staff and location.

  • 9th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Paco was very helpful from the moment I arrived to Istanbul hostel. I had a lot of questions about the city, museums, football games, etc and he took the time to answer all of my questions. Paco is the best!!

  • 8th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

El hostel esta muy bien ubicado a solo unas cuadras de la mezquita azul. es muy limpio y tiene una azotea increible . Paco y compania son muy buena onda y siempre estan a disposicion para ayudarte en cualquier cosa que necesites . Me quede en el hostel por unos cuantos dias y no tengo ninguna queja al reves mi estadia fue muy buena . se lo recomiendo a todo el mundo que ande buscando un hostel barato seguro y limpio con buena onda es este.

  • 8th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

great location in the heart of Istanbul! We got a discount for coming again to the hostel ;)

  • 7th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Really good stay and excellent tour staff!


100%

Very friendly staff and nice location

  • 6th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mongolia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location! Very friendly and helpful staff; the hostel has a great rooftop bar and reasonable prices on food and drink! Great value for money= would highly recommend staying here!!


91%

Fantastic hostel in amazing location, close to all main attractions in Sultanhamet so can easily walk back after long day exploring. Staff (Emre) was so nice&helpful, always giving us advice on where to go, how to get places and really went out of his way to be a great host. Breakfast better than some hostels and facilities like shower was ok. No air con which didn't bother us as we asked for a fan. Considering the price, I think it's great value to stay at Istanbul hostel and would recommend.


83%

Good location, good staff and breakfast environment is very good.


97%

There you are Paco!


97%

Really enjoyed my stay in istanbul hostel

  • 4th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The stay here was great. They picked us up at the airport. it was very easy to walk to all of the sights including the ay sofia and blue mosque. it is also right beside the water which you get a great view of while eating a traditional turkish breakfast.

  • 4th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great staff. Very helpful about stuff to do in this town. Location is great.


71%

In general turkish people is great! At the hostel are not so many shared spaces and they should improve the room cleanning. Although this comments, the stay was very good.


100%

I have travelled all around Europe and have stayed in many hostels, and Istanbul Hostel has been one of the best. We had fantastic service, very accommodating staff, fantastic location (only a 5 minute walk to the Blue Mosque and within 10 minutes of the Grand Bazar) and it was super clean and comfortable. I Highly highly recommend Istanbul Hostel to anyone coming to Istanbul!!


100%

Firstly the staff is very helpful, and always ready to be of assistance (especially Mr Paco - thanks for making my stay very enjoyable!) Iit's also a rather conveniently placed hostel, right in the middle of the Sultanahmet area. That's where any visitor to Istanbul will and must go to. Not to mention the eateries around it are Tripadvisor rated. You could call it a jewel in the heart of a tourism area!! I would highly recommend this place to any discerning traveller.

  • 2nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location and stunning views out to sea from the balcony


100%

Best Staff!

  • 1st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(2322 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback