X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Istanbul Hostel Reviews

35 Kutlu Gun Sokak, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
3777 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

great hostel, great people, AMAZING location, great restaurant on rooftop

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel was in a great location with friendly staff and an excellent terrace/restaurant/bar. However, the room that I was put in was an extremely unpleasant experience. I was staying in the downstairs (underground) dorm. It was dark, smelled moldy, and there were no outlets to charge electronics anywhere near my bed. Definitely the worst hostel room I have ever stayed in.

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice hostel, great location...Good service and loved the roof garden.


91%

A very nice, good located in the old city center hostel, just a few minutes away from the Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia, with a very nice, helpful staff and a great view from the restaurant to the old town and sea. I highly recommend - great people and nice evenings spent there!


71%

Highs: location, the terrace (really nice to relax with your friends), clean rooms, breakfast included (no milk or juice!just coffee/tea). Lows: Just two toilets and two showers for too much people at the first floor, in the morning it would get crowded. Not that safe...no keys and no lockers for the biggest room, people get in and out at the main door as they want...


91%

The hostel was great in terms of location and facilities, but didn't do much to promote community. Just so you are aware, it's pretty loud from the other bars until about 2am and gets loud at about 7am from people walking around outside and in our case, construction - your best bet is to take a siesta during the day to supplement your sleep. We got unlucky with our roommates but the hostel was well worth the 15 Euro a night!


63%

It should be cleaned better and it needs more baths.


100%

It was really cool, the place is very well located. Paco is great he was very helpfull!!!!

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Awesome hostel, incredibly located 3minutoes away from both, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. The staff people are really friendly and always try to help you out, and give you the best advices so you dont miss any hotspot in Istanbul. There are bathrooms enough for everybody, and they have an incredible terrace where you can drink and eat for a very good price.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I have rally enjoyed my stay at the Istanbul Hostel . The hostel is situated very close to the Haga Sofia and the Blue Mosque ( on a few minutes walk to each attraction). The hostel is only a stones throw away from the tram and train stop to enable easy transport to best Istanbul sights . The hostel is also surrounded by many resturants , bars and shops .The hostel staff are super friendly , Paco is always happy to answer any questions I had and provide excellent sight seeing advice

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostels location was excellent! You are two minutes away from the major square, and the roof top restaurant also has nice views. The area is very very safe, I would come back at 3 am at times with not the slightest concern about my surroundings. They didn't really provide any maps, but they helped book activities through their hostal for the Turkish baths and such. If I ever go back to istanbul, I will definitely come back here!

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was perfect!

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The location is perfect. The dorm is too big, but for the price it is totally worth it. I'd stay here again


100%

Very good location and friendly staffs especially Mr. Paco.

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Great location and great staff. Blue mosque, Hagia sofia, Topkapi palace and the cisterns are all basically out the door. Staff were very helpful with suggestions for things to do while in Istanbul, and for other places to see in Turkey. A 4pm on my final night i made a last minute decision to leave that night and they happily helped me book a ticket and moved that night's booking to two weeks later. Lockers are a tad small, but fine for laptop and other valuables. Rooftop bar could be livelier.


100%

Great hostel, only a five minute walk away from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. The staff was very helpful and made us feel at home right away, and all the travelers that I meant while staying there were very friendly. I can only regret the absence of a common room where we can chill and meet other travelers. Overall great hostel!


100%

First time at a hostel and was a little apprehensive but this place was just awesome. Really close to the major tourist sites, 20 minute walk to Taksim (huge party area). Great staff, very clean, all round great trip.

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Staff are not professional, it's inappropriate to hit on guests.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfectly located in the heart of Istanbul this hostel was a pleasure to stay in. The staff were very helpful in arranging trips and activities and onward travel from Istanbul. Could not recommend any higher for a backpacker passing through Istanbul.


94%

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Always polite and eager to help if needed.

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(210 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback