X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Istanbul Hostel Reviews

35 Kutlu Gun Sokak, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
3923 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

great location and ,Employees were very helpful, food was really good on the roof top terrace,view is amazing on the roof top terrace,Paco were really helpful Thank you guys

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The restaurant was great! Great service and so friendly!

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The location was absolutely superb; a stone's throw away from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. The Rooftop Terrace was also wonderful, a great place to spend time with friends. The manager was very friendly- but that might have been because he fancied the girls I was with. No air-conditioning in summer, but I stayed in the basement which was cool. Overall a very good hostel- no complaints.


100%

Awesome location also. Very good overall

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The lockers are pretty small -- definitely can't fit a suitcase in there.

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This is the hostel you should be looking for when you come to Istanbul, I really love it. The owners here were so friendly and I felt very welcome here, not as a guest but as a family member. I spent 2 nights there before traveling to Cappadocia. At first, I intended to go straight to Sabiha Gokcen Airport afterwards in order to take the early flight back to the UK the morning later. However this hostel was so good that I decided to come back and spend one more night there. Highly recommended!

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Istanbul Hostel was great. Conveniently located near main attractions like the AyaSophya and the Blue Mosque. Across from the Fours Seasons. I stayed in a double room the bed was comfortable and the facilities were very clean. I arrived a later in the night and was able to get something to eat on the roof-top terrace restaurant. Because of the time I was only able to have appetizers but they were delicious and the restaurant owner Matt was very welcoming.

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very Friendly and helpful/ highly recommend

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing location in Sultanahmet, very close to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Wonderful breakfast!

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Loved my stay at this hostel

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It was amazing, the staff are really helpul and they always are really friendly with the guest.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel is right in the middle of the old city. I was able to walk everywhere in 15 minutes. The staff was very helpful as soon. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.


100%

It was wonderful time to stay here. Breakfast is delicious. It's worth enough to meet PACO.

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel! Employees were SO nice, the rooftop lounge has a really cool vibe, the included breakfast is substantial (a lot of other hostels are really stingy with breakfast), clean bathrooms and showers The activities recommended by the hostel (baths and cruise) didn't seem like the best value or experience so we went with different ones but it wasn't awkward at all WARNINGS: 1. there's only AC in the main hall so the bedroom was hot and smelly and 2. The wifi didn't work in bedrooms


83%

Excellent location for exploring Istanbul with helpful staff and good facilities.


77%

One of the staff members was very friendly and helpful- thanks! The others could not speak very good English. The rooftop restaurant has a great view but not alot of local cuisine on the menu. The luggage room is not secure, and the bedrooms have locks but a stranger could sneak in during the day if one was left unlocked. It was nice that they let me pay for my stay on departure. The Turkish bathhouse that they work with was pretty good value and a fun experience, however we had to pay in cash.

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

great hostel, far enough from the main strip to not be kept awake but still close enough to a bar area if you want a drink or you can always go to the bar upstairs and try the food and take in the sunset as the call to prayer echoes in the background. paco is really helpful and always quick to make you laugh and can give you directions or organise tours or airport transfers. its really close to the blue mosque and the hagia sophia and the cisterna.

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

perfect location between blue mosque and ayasophia. great and friendly staff especially paco. if you want to know or do something just go ask him. he will be your guide.

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Rooms tend to be small hot and airless given that there is no air conditioning. Good location and helpful manager


100%

Had a great stay at this chilled hostel. Clean and comfortable, great showers, was able to leave some stuff in the safe box while I went travelling outside Istanbul and felt completely happy doing so. Staff are helpful, and restaurant terrace has a great view.


(262 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback