X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Istanbul Hostel Reviews

35 Kutlu Gun Sokak, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
3923 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Nice crew, great location close to some historic monuments and the rooftop of the hostel was nice!


74%

The shower was nice, the breakfast was good, and the location was absolutely spectacular. However, there were no lockers and you could only store small things in the safe. The staff all speak English, but most with a limited vocabulary so that you can't actually converse with them and they might not be able to answer or understand your questions. If you take the airport shuttle, pay in euros, it's cheaper. Overall it was decent, but I've stayed in better.


100%

I liked the location and the reception. That was amazing!!


100%

If you got just a few days, this really is the place to stay because the big sights are just around the corner. The staff is very nice, funny and always helping you out. They even got needles for blisters and desinfection or loadingcables for any kind of phone... They should probably have a room as meeting point where every guest could hang out and get in touch - else it was just the case during breakfast on the roof - Amazing view from here: hagia sophia, the typical houseroofs, the sea...!

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly staff and fantastic location, right next to the Aya Sofya, perfectly placed for walking around and then stopping by the hostel to relax again before heading back out for the day.

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Had a near perfect stay, very friendly and helpful staff on the reception and tourist desk. Great location. Only but noteworthy criticism, the terrace bar and restaurant manager was particularly creepy and inappropriate to women. From saying inappropriate comments to physically touching a girl. He was sleazy and I would fear for lone female travellers to be put in this situation. A real shame as the hostel was great and we did really enjoy it, nothing happened but we both felt uncomfortable.


100%

Stayed in a four-bed room. Excellent location. Sultanahmet train station is very close where you can go to everywhere easily from.Room was clean, staff were friendly, shower was hot and clean, strong and free wi-fi connection inside the building and terrace restaurant was wonderful where you can have lovely diner. One the best hostels I have been in my life.

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Location and staff are outstanding

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

This was my first time staying in a hostel, and it was very pleasant! The staff was very friendly (though there were some language issues), the beds and sheets were clean, and the showers were absolutely phenomenal. Located two blocks from the heart of historic Istanbul and only a few blocks from the tram line, the location couldn't have been better. The only negatives were that the WiFi wasn't very strong and there were no locked storage places for our bags, not even the room we stayed in.


100%

great hostel, great people, AMAZING location, great restaurant on rooftop

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel was in a great location with friendly staff and an excellent terrace/restaurant/bar. However, the room that I was put in was an extremely unpleasant experience. I was staying in the downstairs (underground) dorm. It was dark, smelled moldy, and there were no outlets to charge electronics anywhere near my bed. Definitely the worst hostel room I have ever stayed in.

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice hostel, great location...Good service and loved the roof garden.


66%

Great location but the atmosphere was not as I expected. My girlsfriends didn't feel relaxed there since the guys (staff included) kept staring at us.


91%

A very nice, good located in the old city center hostel, just a few minutes away from the Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia, with a very nice, helpful staff and a great view from the restaurant to the old town and sea. I highly recommend - great people and nice evenings spent there!


71%

Highs: location, the terrace (really nice to relax with your friends), clean rooms, breakfast included (no milk or juice!just coffee/tea). Lows: Just two toilets and two showers for too much people at the first floor, in the morning it would get crowded. Not that safe...no keys and no lockers for the biggest room, people get in and out at the main door as they want...


91%

The hostel was great in terms of location and facilities, but didn't do much to promote community. Just so you are aware, it's pretty loud from the other bars until about 2am and gets loud at about 7am from people walking around outside and in our case, construction - your best bet is to take a siesta during the day to supplement your sleep. We got unlucky with our roommates but the hostel was well worth the 15 Euro a night!


63%

It should be cleaned better and it needs more baths.


100%

It was really cool, the place is very well located. Paco is great he was very helpfull!!!!

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Awesome hostel, incredibly located 3minutoes away from both, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. The staff people are really friendly and always try to help you out, and give you the best advices so you dont miss any hotspot in Istanbul. There are bathrooms enough for everybody, and they have an incredible terrace where you can drink and eat for a very good price.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I have rally enjoyed my stay at the Istanbul Hostel . The hostel is situated very close to the Haga Sofia and the Blue Mosque ( on a few minutes walk to each attraction). The hostel is only a stones throw away from the tram and train stop to enable easy transport to best Istanbul sights . The hostel is also surrounded by many resturants , bars and shops .The hostel staff are super friendly , Paco is always happy to answer any questions I had and provide excellent sight seeing advice

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(259 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback