X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Istanbul Hostel Reviews

35 Kutlu Gun Sokak, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
2976 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Perfect location. so close to Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque, so convenient to reach everywhere in the city. Nearby the hostel there are a lot of restaurants and coffee shops. Lovely staff, especially receptionist PACO, in the hostel, always willing to help and give recommendations. The ambience in the hostel is awesome, very easy to make new friends, totally recommend,


97%

We enjoy staying in this hostel so much that we decided to come back after our Izmir trip. Strategic location within Sultanahmet, walking distance to major tourist spots ie Blue Mosque, AyaSofia, Topkapi palace etc which is less than 5 mins, easy public accessibility ie tram/ bus, lots of food choices around and most of all a great place to get to know new friends. With the helpful staff around, we will never round out of idea where to have fun next. Is definitely our 1st choice to recommend!

  • 25th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location of the hostel, Paco who is the main manager is a very very friendly guy and is super helpful. He is the main reason why that hostel is doing well and feel he should be acknowledge more. The guy who works at the bar can be be rude at times but once you get to know him he aight. a bit cold down. over all staff is friendly and it would be ideal in the future if they allow cooking at the hostel. everybody on a budget... THanks Paco for you great energy and advise had a great time!!


63%

1. There is no heater in the underground mixed dorm, which makes me cold in the evening. 2. The lower decker bed is too narrow: when I woke up, I would be hit by the bed ceiling.


91%

Great location, great rooftop deck, beautiful view of the water. Staff is a lot of fun, and the environment was fantastic.


100%

This hostel is great. I had a great time there. Paco is awesome and very helpful, but in general the staff is helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hostel to my friends that also want to come to Istanbul. If I return to the city, this is the place I will stay. The hostel is located in a nice area closed to the main attractions of the old city and new part as well.

  • 24th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Huge disappointment. The hostel was freezing. I stayed in December - they refused to shut the front door or turn on the heat. After I and some other guests complained about the cold, they turned it on - then shut it off again. I was told, "You're American, right? You should be used to the cold." Then, when I asked again, I was told "Maybe you pay extra, you move to different room, with heat, and you pay more for it." I've never before seen such cold, sleazy disrespect for hostel guests.

  • 23rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
İ stayed at the hostel at the same time as this guest. he did nothing but complain. he had 6 blankets on his bed. he came from kazakhstan where it is much colder. he turned on the hot water in two showers and left the doors open to try to heat the room. he is an idiot. this is not a 4 star hotel. this is a hostel. many many other travelers had no problems. they did turn on the heat just for him. to say they are sleazy and disrespectful is very much uncalled for. he is a crybaby.

100%

The location is just 5 mins from the major attractions, and staff are super helpful with the adventure: they can book local cuture experiences like Turkish Bath, Dancing show and so on, plus advices for the restaurants, traffic as well as places to go. The price of hostel is superb for this season, and nice people also hang around.


97%

Location couldn't be better..! Only issue is no wifi in the apartments.. :/ (apartments were separated from the hostel)


100%

Great envirnment and excellent friendly service. Location of hostel is also very good. Feels very secure and hosting is great. Khalid

  • 17th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The Istanbul hostel is in a perfect location to see the city and has all the facilities and staff to make a stay here brilliant.

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Location Is perfect, Walking distance from every major attraction in sultanahmet. the owner also very kind.


100%

This is a definitely a GOOD VALUE hostel with excellent location, security and nice staff. Breakfast is included, which was also good. All the major tourist attractions are within walking distance. Paco, the manager is kind and generous. You will feel at home while staying there. Highly recommended.


97%

Nice location and their staff are helpful


86%

The hostel is located some minutes walking from the main touristic places, The hostel itself is small, i guess a two-storey building with small rooms, a small hall/lounge/receptiona nd such. There is no kitchen but a restaurante on the roof where you'll find tables to have your own meals or the ones you can purchase from the hostel. Toilet cabin is small and badly fit a person. Hard to find ideal water temperature for the shower, either it scalded or it froze me.


100%

非常的棒,值得去这家店,老板人也很好…


89%

The location is excellent and the staff was helpful and friendly. It was close to the main tram lines and a few blocks from the Blue Mosque. Also, it is quite convenient for going to Taksim Square (taxi cab is approximately 20 lira one way). It has a great atmosphere for meeting people. A few of which I subsequently met up with in other cities. I would recommend staying here and I have stayed here on two occasions.

  • 8th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice location very friendly staff *tks my friend Paco Would definetly recommend it :-)

  • 8th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very best place in Istanbul to stay for sightseeing. Every landmarks not far by walk than 5 minutes. Nice view from roof top. Paco was very friendfull and helpfull. It s realy worth to stay there!

  • 3rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

All the staff are exceptionally friendly and particularly helpful!

  • 3rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(176 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback