X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Istiklal Hostel Reviews

Divanyolu cad no 70, Sultanahmet/Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
311 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I was soo happy I ended staying in istiklal hostelIstanbul. It is one of the best hostels i ever stayed at. The staff is so friendly and helpful, the really feel like your family, I felt so welcome. perfect breakfast at terrace..The hostel is situated at a prime location right by hagia spohia, the blue mosque, the palace, spice market.. its right in the centre of all the things you want to see. It is clean, comfy beds, wi-fi that works really well, great terrace,great owner, amazing people

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Couldn't ask for better: -Staff to guide you with local knowledge as well as organise day trips ( Troy and Gallipoli) - location is second to none ( from the rooftop terrace you can see both sofia and blue mosque) - rooms are great with plenty of room and security - breakfast is fresh and plenty of it. Wouldn't bother staying anywhere else!


51%

Be aware if you're booking a private room here it's probably not in the same building as the hostel so you're not likely to get a true hostel experience. Our room was several blocks away in a different building & our friend was in a whole other building. Room was large but beds were uncomfortable. They didn't warn us the room would be cleaned during the day & I found some cash missing upon our return. When I confronted the hostel owner about it he made it right & reimbrsed me in full.

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Excellent place and staff very friendly and helpful. Great location and very easy to find. Breakfast was nice and free drinks are provided throughout the day. Rooftop terrace was a wonderful place to hang out at and meet others. Bathroom in private room not as nice as expected, but bathroom in mixed dorm was fine (one bathroom/shower for 10 bed dorm so queues likely!). Owner was awesome, and had lots of suggestions for things to do and could arrange them for us! Wifi was quick.


97%

Everything was perfect in our stay.terrace was perfect perfect wiev perfect tea all day free and cold water free all day absouletly fantastic t t turkish open buffet breakfast yummy.. We stayed in 4bed female dorm absouletlyfantastic. The staff were extremely helpful in helping us plan our time in Istanbul as well as recommending us to a great travel agent to book the rest of our Turkey trip. They were very friendly always happy to chat and genuinely interested in what we had to say.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you my friend for your good words..your very welcome to our hostel and good friend of us..

97%

Excellent

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks so much...hope to see you soon again

100%

We felt like home! This place has a very convenient central location with a fantastic view from the cozzy terrace to hagia Sophia ,marmara sea blu mosque! It was completely amazing. The staff was friendly and attentive. The bedroom was always clean and tidy, as was the bathroom and shower. the breakfast is delicious. ,you have Topkapi, the Grand Bazaar and the Blue Mosque minutes away. The neighborhood is very safe . One of the best option to stay in Istanbul.

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I loved the atmosphere of the hostel, the staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable, we almost felt like home. The rooms were great, everything was very clean and tidy.If you need help with directions, sights etc., you can always turn to the staff, that made things very easy for us. Also the location is great for seeing all the major sights and go about the city. I'd definitely recommend İstiklal hosteif you are looking for a really nice, well-located and well-priced hostel to stay

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

thisis my first time to trip Istanbul and istiklal hostel already made me feel like home. very Nice and clean, extramly friendly staff, terrace with great view, perfect location. and price of istiklal hostel absouletly a great value bonus..highly recommended.

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel its very cozy! The staff super friendly, the owner very friendly and willing to help.


100%

we like istanbul ,,istanbul is very beautifull city,many museums ,good food , bosphorus golden horn blue mosque hagia sophia .istiklal hostel middle of all museummums perfect location and very clean hostel terrace very compfortable also..highly recomended))))

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

istiklal hostel has great Location! next to the blue mosque and hagia sophia topkapı paalce and grand bazaar. The staff are very helpful and nice Great rooftop terrace which is very easy to meet people if your travelling alone. Easy to book a day trip to cappadocia and pamukkale. Really loved staying here! Highly recommend!!!

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The owner of the place was lovely (in a Turkish manner of course!) and very helpful. Location is excellent, within a 2 minute walk from the Sultahnamet tram station in the center of the city. Rooms were good with clean bathrooms, there were only too many people for only one bathroom (10:1). Rooftop lounge was relaxing with free tea 24/7.


60%

We were disappointed about the breakfast. It was really poor and bad quality. There were not enough quantity or variety. They do not allow you to pay with credit card. We all had to take off cash from the ATM and paid commission.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel is the best hostel I've ever stopped in. The staff were so friendly, when we turned up, my friend and I got a handshake and a welcome beer. The location is ideal for sight seeing, also the tram stop is just outside the door and can connect you to any part of the city. The price was very reasonable, considering you get a free breakfast and all day tea and coffee. The only issue we had while there for 8 days was that one day the water stopped working, but the was fixed within half aday

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I've been staying in hostels around Europe for a month now and this is one of the best. Great rooms, price, cleanliness, breakfast, and extremely friendly service and prime location, near to the Hagia Sophia and Grand Bazaar. I highly recommend it.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel was very well located, really near from the tram station. The room was really clean and they used to clean the bathroom every day. The staffs were great, they gave us tea all the time for free. The breakfast was incluided and delicious, they had eggs, cake, bread and jam!! I recomend 100%!!

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

love it here! The staff are awesome. The hostel is clean, clean, clean. Beds comfy. Pillows soft. Shower water boiling hot. Free water. Breakfast area/bar is on top floor overlooking Istanbul, right in the heart of Sultanahmet, so close to some of the main attractions. Fantastic

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

The Hostel has a good location but it is the only good thing. The reception is in a 7th floor without lift and the breakfast is served there. When we arrived, there were not rooms available and they moved us to another hostel located 10 min away walking, so we lose the breakfast that we had already paid. We booked a transfer to go to the airport and we had to pay it in advance. That day the transfer never appeared and they regret to give us the money back so we had to pay another taxi.

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

İstiklal hostel is well located near the tram station, and few minutes to blue mosque, Ayasofya and Basilica Cistern. The food street downstairs and on the rooftop holding party with nice view.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(55 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback