Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Istiklal Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 852 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 852 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
5.1

After one night there they moved me to another hostel (Castle hosltel) because they had everything booked. The staff was rude and didn't help me much when I asked them about information. The level of English of the staff is very low which complicated the communication. The breakfast was ok considering the price. I wouldn't recommend or stay there again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2017
9.4

Me and my wife were staying at this hostel for a couple of days. The host at the reception was great guy, very helpful and taking care of everything. good breakfast at the terrace on the rooftop of the building with a nice view. We booked a private room, very big one. We had some short issues with cold water, but our host, reception guy resolved it in a very professional way. We would recommend this hostel to anyone, since also it is on a great spot, close to the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofya...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2017
2.9

Hands down the worst experience in terms of accommodation. I ever had and I'm a God Dan hippy I don't mind mosWe reserved a paid for our first night but experienced delays with our bus from Greece. We knew we would not make It for our 9 pm check-in. We emailed twice to notify them that we would arrive early next morning and to keep the room and we didn't mind paying for the night anyway. Long Story short they resold our room. And the receptionist couldn't of cared less. Terrible service

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2017
9.7

My wife and I liked this hostel a lot. The breakfast is very healthy and there is tea 24/7. The staff is friendly and the hostel is centrally located. The bathroom does stink a little but that is the drainage system you will find all over Istanbul. I don't think there is anything the hostel could do about that. I would most definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • khoff026
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
6th Jul 2017
8.9

A great hostel to stay in. Perfect location (just a little difficult to find on arrival), and within walking distance of all main attractions. Lovely breakfast each morning with turkish tea always available.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
10.0

Istiklal hostel we been there very clean room and beds and verygood breakfast)))

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th May 2017
8.3

I think cleanliness and lack of facilities are major problem in this hostel. I was staying in the 10 mixed dorm room and it was dusty and dirty, with lots of left over belongings under the bed. Staff are lovely but they never reply my emails to clear my queries. The flushing system was weak at the top floor so you need to flush it several times. There was no plugs beside my bed which was inconvenient. Location is great but it could be a bit noisy because of the tram along Sultanahmet Street.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2017
10.0

This is hands down the absolute best hostel I have ever stayed in. From the moment you arrive the staff treat you like family, some of the kindest people I have ever met.They made my time in Istanbul an absolute pleasure. The location is incredible and the facilities are top notch, clean and comfortable. Such great value for money, I cannot recommend this place enough. If you are in Istanbul you MUST STAY HERE..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Georgia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2017
10.0

super clean hostel and super friendly owner dodo, he helped us so much thank you so much dodo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2017
10.0

extreamly clean hostel.we only stay one night there so clean and smell o perfect room..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.