X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Istiklal Hostel Reviews

Divanyolu cad no 70, Sultanahmet/Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
355 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Really easy to meet people if you chill on the rooftop terrace, I was only there for two nights but found people to chat and wander with. Chilled out staff. Very clean and easy to organise transfers/day trips cheaply and easily. Would definitely recommend!

  • 25th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

superb location.the guys are extremely helpful from the hostel, providing everything from advice on travel and safety to low priced beers at night or a handful of coffees in the morning. vibe was excellent and very conducive to meeting other guests and sharing a night out. very clean and comfi bed too..

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I liked the hostel and staff. owner dodo helped me out with my flight,directions and everything i needed to know about this area and Instanbul,Its a cool atmosphere among the travelers , I made quite a lot of new friends and got drunk with different people from here every nightI rate this place..also very clean , safe..also has perfect terrace wiev..


100%

I loved my stay at istiklal! It is in very easy walking distance from all the major attractions. I stayed as the doubleroom and the rooms were beautifully decorated. Definitely the nicest hostel we stayed in. The restaurants next door to the Exclusive section of the hostel is delicious and the owner was incredibly helpful. The rooftop terrace and bar was awesome!deffinetly recomend.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

best location.perfect athmosphere in istiklal open buffet breakfast eggs butter jam watermelon olives and many other made us happy in the morning wit hagia sophia and blue mosque viev from terrace..romm also clean everday free locker and towel we loved..

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel, best saff ,superb location!!!!

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We were group of girls, had the best time in istiklal! The location was great- less than a minute walk to the nearest historical sights hagia sophia blue mosque topkapı palace grand bazaar less than a 30second walk to a strip of restaurants selling amazing turkish food and drink. great location, it was very quiet at night- double glazed windows, and never got woken up super friendly and helpfull staff..they can answer to all your questions..we were so happy at istiklal best hostel we ever stay.

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Location wise excellent! I stayed in a single room. It is in a different place 2 mins waliking to the reception and breakfast. 40 Euros for a single room was a bit too much. Room was very small but clean and toilet outside but that was not really an issue. Loads of privacy and in a quiet area. Don who works at the reception was very helpful. The other older guy was lying to me that i was late for a shuttle bus and it went without me. it was not true as i was there 15 mins before the departure.


91%

had a good time, staff was knowledgable and kind. would definitely come back


69%

A good hostel


100%

Istiklal Hostel is a great value for your money in Istanbul. Located in beautiful Sultanhamet, it is walking distance to Hagia Sofya, Blue Mosque and the tram line. There are many restaurants just around the hostel and the staff are happy to give you recommendations. they are beyond helpful and offer personal attention to each guest. The rooms are lovely, I stayed in a single private room and a dorm and both were lovely. good design bath also and very clean ac and wifi good.. Highly recommend!

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We enjoyed staying at istiklal hostel, the staff are extremly friendly! The location is the best location in istanbul probably in turkey also, right in the middle of everything grand bazar, spice bazar & many wonderful restaurants. The terrace is amazing with a beautiful view of sofia hagia, blue mosque..... big rooms perfect batrooms and music at the terrace especially breakfast time wonderfull. stay here again.


100%

best hostel ever..best rooms best terrace best staff..see you soon guys.

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

great location and terrace..very friendly and helpful staff you can ask them really everything about the city, bars restaurants museums shoppings.. shuttles .., free internet, big bathroom, great breakfast, and it's easy to get to know people from all over the world, good atmosphere.. the hostel looks better than on the pics highly recomend.

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It's a great place to stay but also to meet nice people on the lovely rooftop terrace. Good turkish breakfast at the terrace also open buffet turkish breakfast yummy. Excellent location.Very clean hostel..All the staff is very kind. I really felt very comfortable here and I would happily recommend to other people..


100%

Great location and the staff was just the best. they are they very accommodating and kind, but they are also so personable and I absolutely enjoyed hanging out with them. The familyroom was comfortable and clean. The hostel's atmosphere makes you really feel at home and the common room is a great also for dinners, and games. They do a lot of activities as a hostel so it's easy to get to know everyone and have a good time making new friends. Wonderful hostel and I highly recommend to new people..

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location!! We had a double ensuite, the bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean and good design especially bathroom. was good turkish breajkfast between 8.30 to 10.30 . they also but us capadoccia bus ticket and baloon tours in capadcoccia.they helped us lot .thank you so much

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks my friend come again for fish barbeque see you

100%

Extramly perfect location. 100 meters walk to grand bazaar. It is located well next to tram stop. Easy to find. The staff were all some of the best I have met. They are friendly and helpful almost to a fault. They all speak English well and other languages as well. The beds were comfortable in the room. The hostel was being cleaned Every day it was cleaned thoroughly. The shower and bathrooms were clean and the water was hot. The terrace perfedct to meet other people and the wievis alsoperfect

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks soo much my friend .hope see you soon and have a good time on your holiday..

97%

We had a wonderful stay! Welcoming environment, great wifi, free breakfast, and knowledgable and friendly staff. I would definitely stay here again.

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear guest, thanks for your kindness.your beer stlil inthe fridge off course cold till you come

100%

I was soo happy I ended staying in istiklal hostelIstanbul. It is one of the best hostels i ever stayed at. The staff is so friendly and helpful, the really feel like your family, I felt so welcome. perfect breakfast at terrace..The hostel is situated at a prime location right by hagia spohia, the blue mosque, the palace, spice market.. its right in the centre of all the things you want to see. It is clean, comfy beds, wi-fi that works really well, great terrace,great owner, amazing people

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
ozzyy ozzyyy ozzyyyyy!!! thanks thanks thanks!!!! see you soon

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(73 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback