X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Istiklal Hostel Reviews

Divanyolu cad no 70, Sultanahmet/Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
356 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

love it here! The staff are awesome. The hostel is clean, clean, clean. Beds comfy. Pillows soft. Shower water boiling hot. Free water. Breakfast area/bar is on top floor overlooking Istanbul, right in the heart of Sultanahmet, so close to some of the main attractions. Fantastic

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

The Hostel has a good location but it is the only good thing. The reception is in a 7th floor without lift and the breakfast is served there. When we arrived, there were not rooms available and they moved us to another hostel located 10 min away walking, so we lose the breakfast that we had already paid. We booked a transfer to go to the airport and we had to pay it in advance. That day the transfer never appeared and they regret to give us the money back so we had to pay another taxi.

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

İstiklal hostel is well located near the tram station, and few minutes to blue mosque, Ayasofya and Basilica Cistern. The food street downstairs and on the rooftop holding party with nice view.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel was great! Location (near Blue Mosque, Grand Bazar, Hagia Sophia, etc), breakfast, staff (so friendly!), clean!!! Everything was perfect! I slept in a bedroom for 6 with private bathroom and everytime was very clean. We went everywere by walking, so it was very close to all turistics places.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is located right in the old town, so many sights are in walking distance. The rooms are nice and clean, the bathrooms are fine and the staff is very friendly. And the tea is great. Breakfast is fine as well. Totally recommend staying there!

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel was amazing.. location,breakfas,rooms,staff was perfect.Highly recommended.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

All is well especially the staffs and location. Only comment was about the wash room, where there is only 1 washroom attached with shower for dorm of 10 people.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff at hostel was very helpful, especially Dogan the owner of the hostel! We booked via him cheap flights to Kapadokya and he introduced us to awesome tour guide and driver there!! Dogan knows A LOT about Istanbul and it's a good idea to plan the trip with him (esp the food)

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

loved the super friendly and helpfull staff, especially the owner of the place is a really nice guy! Great hostel! Perfect location, in the heart of Sultanahmet (the roof terrace has a view on the Blue M osque grandbazzar basilica cistern...whenever i came and asked for help or tips on dining or shopping, they helped me out and gave good recomondations. the athmosphere at the terrace and the wiev is perfect..they have 2 different wi.fi free you use both also in rooms recomended all see you soon

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Really impressed with the hostel, very good for the price. Staff were friendly, it was clean and well kept. The breakfast in the morning was also delicious,, good choice of food!

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This was our BEST hostel in Turkey.Hostel has beautiful terrace and nice breakfast with Honey,jams,olives,butter,fruits and watermelon also you can have turkish tea and coffe during breakfast time for free. The staff are extremely helpfull Any advice on sight-seeing, help with translation, drinks on the house, any questions are answered with detailed explanation. The rooms are quite spacious, clean and home feeling. location is very near to nightlife and atmosphere is really fantastic. Recomende

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Decent hostel, great location, but there are better places in Istanbul. The rooftop bar doesn't have the atmosphere or views of other hostels in Istanbul (eg Bahaus Hostel), the breakfast is poor (bread, eggs and olives - no meat or cheese) but worst of all the WiFi doesn't work properly! Nearly every time I tried to load a webpage I got redirected to advertising sites / malware, so I was unable to do anything online. The staff said they'd had this issue for 9 months but couldn't fix it!!!

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Greatest Hostel I've ever stayed.. Wısh ı could stay more.. Perfect view from terrace with turkish tea and friendly staff.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Algeria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location, close to Aya Sophia and the Blue Mosque. Most beds are normal single beds and not bunk beds, which is impressive for hostels. Staff is helpful. The airport shuttle bus company made some mistakes with my booking, the hotel talked with the bus company and solved the problem by putting me on a taxi instead. All in all I enjoyed my stay.


100%

Friendly and helpful staff, nice room, cheap price, open 24 hours.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Very Good Location & Staff, next time we wiill come back again.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

What an amazing place!!! We stayed three nights and wish we could of stayed more. The best hostel we have ever stayed in. Staff so friendly and helpful.Breakfast is also really good!

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Good price, friendly staff

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

We had an amazing time at Istiklal. It's rooftop bar becomes a lively hub in the evening. It's location is excellent and is within easy walking distance of many top sites, like the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya and the Grand Bazar and has good tram links. The staff are very friendly and hospitable, Furkan had his work cut out teaching backgammon to my friend and I. I will be coming back to Istiklal in the future to enjoy even more of what Istanbul has to offer, and for a rematch!


100%

Very nice place, lots of things to do, staff is friendly and great fun to talk to. Very sociable atmoshpere, we met so many people to share the good times. Best hostel I've ever been in. Definitely recommended!


(179 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback