X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Itaca Hostel Reviews

Ripoll, 21, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
2456 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Stayed in the 10 bed dorm, never had a problem with noise, everyone was quiet if coming home early hours. 2 showers and 2 toilets each for males and females - never had to wait though. Staff were really friendly, the guy that owns it was very helpful. Plugs by every bed and also inside your own locker to charge valuables if you're out. Good common areas. Only downside was no air con in any of the rooms or common areas. Too hot being upstairs and in summer. Would definitely stay again though.

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel was nice. The rooms, the kitchen and the bathroom were clean. The staff was pretty polite and gentle.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

A lovely Hostel which isn't too overcrowded. Location of the Hostel was really good, only a short walk to Liceu or Jaume I and is behind the Cathedral. The Hostel was not the noisy in the evening and there is a living room and dining area where you can socialise with other travellers and the Staff are really friendly and helpful

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Itica was a good hostel in terms of location, you are very close to everything. My only down points I would say is the beds are like sleeping on the floor. My back ached all day and still aches now from the beds, the rooms are also super hot even with the fans so it's hard to sleep at night and the showers stay on for 15 seconds, you are constantly having to press the button over and over again, so I would say making the showers time out at a minute would be better, also they need lights in ther

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location! And the sangria night was a lot of fun. Rooms were a bit hot and would have been better if they had reserved our beds near each other as we booked together.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking your time! Sangria night it's perfect. It was a pleasure have you at Itaca Hostel. We apologize we always try to choose the beds close to each other for the same reservation. We hope to see you back!

89%

Only stayed there for one night but the staff was very helpful and friendly, however I had to leave early morning and forgot to ask for my key deposit and the girl at the desk didn't give it to me either but oh well. They had an electric plug in every locker which was good for leaving my laptop to charge while I was away. Breakfast was good and the location of the hostel is excellent.


94%

Had a great time, the staff is excelent. They'll help you with anything you need.

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking your time!! It was great to meet you! We hope to see you back! Cheers!

66%

Hostel is located on a great spot next to the cathedral. However the room was way too hot and for that price no air conditioning is a shame. And last but not least I personally didn't like the atmosphere. I've stayed in many different hostels in Barcelona and I found I had a hard time getting to know everyone.


94%

It was way too hot in the summer in the rooms at night but it was a great atmosphere and a nice front desk staff!


94%

We had a great stay. The staff was super friendly and answered all our questions. The location is great in the gothic quarter. Overall a great stay!

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I love this hostel, the location is amazing, you can walk to all the shopping areas, the beach, the touristy places too. it's clean, friendly and very chilled out.


89%

Great location and lovely staff. Had a very homely and welcoming feel to the place. The common areas are nice to spend time in.


100%

Fantastic central location and very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Would highly recommend and would definitely stay here when next in Barcelona.

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The location of this hostel is amazing. Right next to the Catedral. There are nice common areas and a kitchen. The hostel is a bit worn down and could use some updating, especially in the bathrooms (the showers!). But it's clean! Bear in mind that this hostel has NO AIR CONDITION!!! The rooms get extremely hot, and it was difficult to sleep because of the heat! This is ok in the winter, but go somewhere else in the summer (unless you like the heat).


97%

Fantastic location


89%

It was a wonderful stay. It was my first time in a hostel and first solo holiday and so I was quite nervous but the staff were so friendly and helpful that they made for a very relaxing holiday.


91%

A really really good hostel. It has everything to make a hostel perfect - my only complaint was no air conditioning. Aside that I would choose to recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Barcelona. The staff is great, location is perfect, breakfast is good, facilities are acceptably clean. The people I met at this hostel were really cool.


97%

We loved our stay, would highly recommend the hostel,great location, friendly helpful staff, relaxing environment, great value, with breakfast too!

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Itaca was a great place to spend a couple of nights. Everyone was friendly but it is not a party hostel which I liked. People were around in the evenings to hang out and talk with and the staff did everything they could to accommodate all requests (they promptly resolved an issue with my key and replaced the lightbulb in my bedside lamp that was not working when I arrived). It was a very central location for walking to many of the major sights (and access to metro) Overall a great stay.

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel! Only rough part was how hot it gets upstairs in the dorms during summer months.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(81 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback