X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Itaca Hostel Reviews

Ripoll, 21, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
2107 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

If rooms are available during the days you plan on staying in Barcelona, it would be nonsensical of you not to book this hostel. I cannot recommend this place enough. Only good times have been had at this hostel.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ohh so many thanks!! We're glad to read your review. It's a pleasure help our guest like you, always smiling. We hope to see you back in the future. Kind regards from all Itaca staff.

89%

All the staff are very friendly. Always willing to help. Only thing is the showers go hot and cold quite frequently, but still a great place to stay!

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! We changed the boiler one month ago, maybe we need to regulate better the temperature. Thanks again, and see you in another occasion ;).

100%

Great place and easy access to everything and the staff were super friendly, helped me with anything I needs help with.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're in a strategic point of Barcelona. It's close from everything, quiet at night but very busy in the morning. Just two minutes away from the important sights of Barcelona. It was a pleasure to help you. Thanks very much ;)

80%

Quite basic but in a great location. Good for if all you want to do is sleep there. Very hot at night due to no air conditioning in the rooms upstairs. Not a great one for meeting people, vibe was quite conservative but this is what they are known for so if you want somewhere quiet Itaca is good for that. All the staff were awesome :), good connection with things to do in Barcelona such as walking tours, Paella cooking class, Spanish Flamenco dancing.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Itaca Hosel is in a great location and the staff was very helpful. They took the time to give us advice on sights to see and good local restaurants. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It was very comfortable in the private room I stayed in with cieling fans, multiple bathrooms and a pretty good breakfast. I appreciated their facilities water saving appliances and that somehow it was quiet at night even though we were in the middle of the city. The staff members I met were both very professional yet really nice and seemed to actually care about how our stay was. I'd stay there again!

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice staff. Great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much. We hope to see you back! Cheers!

86%

It was a pleasant stay, we were in 10 bed dorm, but rooms have really good bed arrangement, so you don't feel like you have 8 people in the room. The stuff was extremely nice and we loved that they let you use the common room and the kitchen even after check out. Location is really nice, close to centre and to the beach. The only down sides were that hot water really needs ages to come out in the shower and that apparently they also rent the common room, because people were sleeping there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking your time to leave a review. We have a spacious rooms with balcony. About the showers, we know the first person that use the shower have to wait a little bit to have hot water, but then it works normally. We apologize about that. We don't rent the commoon room, but we use it in emergency cases like someone missed their flight and we don't have beds available.

97%

Extremely comfortable hostel. Walking tour was very informative. Highly recommend this place.


89%

Had everything you need from a hostel and was in a great location!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much!! We have great facilities for all the guest and we are located in the city centre. All of this mixed with the great guest. What more we need? We hope to see you again. Thanks again ;)

100%

Great place to stay!


100%

Beautiful hostel, great location, and wonderful amenities with helpful staff. An oasis of peacefulness and comfort after the business of traveling and the city. Especially liked the communal shelves in bathroom and kitchen, balconies looking out at the street, free tea and coffee, and good maps and info. Great for meeting people, also for chilling out and having a night in. Disliked cold push button showers, but not a big deal. Overall one of my favorite hostels this trip.


91%

We loved this hostel!! Breakfast was awesome and the rooms were comfortable, and staff were happy to help with anything. The common room lounge area was awesome too and we met so many lovely people here :) We also stayed in an Itaca apartment for one night which was incredible!! Such amazing eh value for money!!


74%

It was a nice first hostel experience. I appreciated the bathrooms being clean, however it would have been nice to have the trash in the room picked up on occasion. It was nice to have the kitchen... and the dining room. It was a bit warm but I liked that we could open the balcony window. The lockers are quite small. Breakfast was poor.


89%

Fantastic location good hostel but not a party hostel


100%

Beautiful, well stocked, great common areas. Great location, nice for a hostel night in. Not a party hostel, but still great for meeting people. Peaceful, clean, comfortable. Great hostel!


86%

Itaca was lovely, we stayed in the twin private room twice during our trip and both times the staff was great, rooms were great and noise never bothered us.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great first time hostel experience!

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for taking your time to leave a review. We're glad to hear this, the hostel experience is unique, you can meet people from around the world, and Itaca has the perfect conditions to love the hostels. We hope to see you back.

89%

Great location and very comfortable, but rooms were quite hot at night and hot water in the shower wasn't that reliable


77%

The hostel has a really nice breakfast that is included. We would have liked if the hostel provided some evening activities or at least collaborated with other hostels evening activities. We were also disappointed in the lack of knowledge the front desk staff had with the city transit system as we almost missed our flight because of their inaccurate directions. The hostel is close to restaurants, the market and shopping.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(66 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback