X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Itaca Hostel Reviews

Ripoll, 21, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
2126 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Beautiful hostel, great location, and wonderful amenities with helpful staff. An oasis of peacefulness and comfort after the business of traveling and the city. Especially liked the communal shelves in bathroom and kitchen, balconies looking out at the street, free tea and coffee, and good maps and info. Great for meeting people, also for chilling out and having a night in. Disliked cold push button showers, but not a big deal. Overall one of my favorite hostels this trip.


91%

We loved this hostel!! Breakfast was awesome and the rooms were comfortable, and staff were happy to help with anything. The common room lounge area was awesome too and we met so many lovely people here :) We also stayed in an Itaca apartment for one night which was incredible!! Such amazing eh value for money!!


74%

It was a nice first hostel experience. I appreciated the bathrooms being clean, however it would have been nice to have the trash in the room picked up on occasion. It was nice to have the kitchen... and the dining room. It was a bit warm but I liked that we could open the balcony window. The lockers are quite small. Breakfast was poor.


89%

Fantastic location good hostel but not a party hostel


100%

Beautiful, well stocked, great common areas. Great location, nice for a hostel night in. Not a party hostel, but still great for meeting people. Peaceful, clean, comfortable. Great hostel!


86%

Itaca was lovely, we stayed in the twin private room twice during our trip and both times the staff was great, rooms were great and noise never bothered us.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great first time hostel experience!

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for taking your time to leave a review. We're glad to hear this, the hostel experience is unique, you can meet people from around the world, and Itaca has the perfect conditions to love the hostels. We hope to see you back.

89%

Great location and very comfortable, but rooms were quite hot at night and hot water in the shower wasn't that reliable


77%

The hostel has a really nice breakfast that is included. We would have liked if the hostel provided some evening activities or at least collaborated with other hostels evening activities. We were also disappointed in the lack of knowledge the front desk staff had with the city transit system as we almost missed our flight because of their inaccurate directions. The hostel is close to restaurants, the market and shopping.


94%

Itaca is a small hostel with superb staff. It was very clean and had lockers for each person in the dorms. There was a big kitchen, eating area, and living room with a tv. It was in the best location right next to Cathedral de Barcelona. Easy to walk to everything and near 2 metro stops. I would definitely recommend this place again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a great review! Thanks so much! We would recommend you as a perfect guest :P . The location is perfect, and the facilities too. We don't have words to express our happiness after read your words. Kind regards from all the Itaca staff.

94%

We stayed in the apartment which was great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much!! We try to take care in every detail to make an unforgettable experience in Itaca Hostel. Kind regards!

77%

We were staying in another building from the dorms so can't speak for them. The room was nice, kitchen was the best part and breakfast was quite good too. Only downside was that the bathrooms were a bit dirty and there were only two toilets and showers for at least more than eight people. Best thing about the place was the location, close to all the popular sites and quirky areas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for this review! You were in Beatles apartment, it have 3 double rooms and you shared the bathroom with 6 people only. We clean the bathrooms every day. We apologize if the bathrooms were a bit dirty in those days. We hope to see you again. Kind regards.

97%

I will not spend my words about location,cleanliness,staff... :D Cause i was twice in this hostel,and i'm coming back again,as soon as possible :).Actually,i will say something about the people who are working there >>>Very good job guys,you are really nice and helpful,and alwasy with a smile on face :D.Hasta la próxima!nos vemos pronto!Adeu! ;) Marko,Serbia

Owner Comment (Hide)
You're making us blush! Thanks a lot for your fantastic words. The lovely guests like you make Itaca Hostel a great place stay, off course the great staff that works here too! Thanks again. We hope to see you soon again!!

100%

great staff,location,value.what more?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking your time to leave a review!! Hopefully we will see you in the future!

100%

Really great place has a really homey vibe! great for meeting people,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank for taking your time to leave a review! The guests like you make good vibes in Itaca hostel!! We hope to see you in the future! Kind regards from all Itaca staff!!

100%

Loved this hostel! Beds and lockers in dorm rooms were great. Great common room, kitchen and eating area. Small hostel which made it a comfortable environment with lots of attention from staff when needed. Location is amazing for the price. Would recommend for sure :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We love you! Thanks a lot for this fantastic review. We are little hostel and we are close each other, for these reason the guest can feel like home. We appreciate your comment, it's gratefully reading this kind of reviews. We hope to see you again. Keep on rocking!

80%

Average hostel, not very sociable though. The common room closes at night. If you want to party, its not really the place to stay. Located right next to La Rambla, which has its ups and downs; it's a super touristy area and kind of far to go anywhere else and the metro is expensive so it'll cost you. But it's a clean place, good price, good kitchen


91%

This place is just what you need when you want somewhere central but quiet,a popular hostel but small/private and a place you don't jut sleep but can also hang out and to have some downtime. Perfect stay for us as a young couple.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

My boyfriend and I stayed one night in the mixed dorm and I liked that we got lockers (large enough for all of our luggage!) for free. We were in the twin private room for the rest of the week, and it was like having a hotel room for a fraction of the price! Private bathroom, though we had to use the showers in the shared bathroom, which had hot water most of the time. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. Loved free coffee all day!

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your fantastic words! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed yourself at Itaca Hostel Barcelona and we hope to see you back here one day. Keep on rocking in the free world!! Thanks ;)

89%

The location of the hostel was excellent, right in the center of Barcelona and very close to metro stations. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were OK, with nice lockers, and the internet was also good. The breakfast was plain, but not an issue. And the common room was nice. I really liked it and intend to go back to this hostel in my next trips to Barcelona!


(73 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback