X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Itaca Hostel Reviews

Ripoll, 21, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
2155 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Itaca is really a good choice when I go to Barcelona. The staff is very friendly, all of them guide me carefully how to enjoy and travel in Barcelona. Thank you, Itaca. :D


91%

Really helpful staff. Fantastic location, loved having breakfast on the little balcony.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

If rooms are available during the days you plan on staying in Barcelona, it would be nonsensical of you not to book this hostel. I cannot recommend this place enough. Only good times have been had at this hostel.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ohh so many thanks!! We're glad to read your review. It's a pleasure help our guest like you, always smiling. We hope to see you back in the future. Kind regards from all Itaca staff.

89%

Itaca is lovely! Very good central location, very friendly staff. The vibe among the other travelers was friendly and mature--no out-of-control teenage partiers. Great experience!

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

All the staff are very friendly. Always willing to help. Only thing is the showers go hot and cold quite frequently, but still a great place to stay!

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! We changed the boiler one month ago, maybe we need to regulate better the temperature. Thanks again, and see you in another occasion ;).

100%

Great place and easy access to everything and the staff were super friendly, helped me with anything I needs help with.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're in a strategic point of Barcelona. It's close from everything, quiet at night but very busy in the morning. Just two minutes away from the important sights of Barcelona. It was a pleasure to help you. Thanks very much ;)

80%

Quite basic but in a great location. Good for if all you want to do is sleep there. Very hot at night due to no air conditioning in the rooms upstairs. Not a great one for meeting people, vibe was quite conservative but this is what they are known for so if you want somewhere quiet Itaca is good for that. All the staff were awesome :), good connection with things to do in Barcelona such as walking tours, Paella cooking class, Spanish Flamenco dancing.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Itaca Hosel is in a great location and the staff was very helpful. They took the time to give us advice on sights to see and good local restaurants. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It was very comfortable in the private room I stayed in with cieling fans, multiple bathrooms and a pretty good breakfast. I appreciated their facilities water saving appliances and that somehow it was quiet at night even though we were in the middle of the city. The staff members I met were both very professional yet really nice and seemed to actually care about how our stay was. I'd stay there again!

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers for the review! We think you summed us up perfectly :D It would be great to have you back for more fun and frolics at Itaca Hostel ;).

100%

Nice staff. Great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much. We hope to see you back! Cheers!

89%

Bedrooms and bathrooms were very spacious. The staff were always very friendly and helpful, and the rest of the people in the hostel were fun and respectful.


86%

It was a pleasant stay, we were in 10 bed dorm, but rooms have really good bed arrangement, so you don't feel like you have 8 people in the room. The stuff was extremely nice and we loved that they let you use the common room and the kitchen even after check out. Location is really nice, close to centre and to the beach. The only down sides were that hot water really needs ages to come out in the shower and that apparently they also rent the common room, because people were sleeping there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking your time to leave a review. We have a spacious rooms with balcony. About the showers, we know the first person that use the shower have to wait a little bit to have hot water, but then it works normally. We apologize about that. We don't rent the commoon room, but we use it in emergency cases like someone missed their flight and we don't have beds available.

97%

Extremely comfortable hostel. Walking tour was very informative. Highly recommend this place.


89%

Had everything you need from a hostel and was in a great location!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much!! We have great facilities for all the guest and we are located in the city centre. All of this mixed with the great guest. What more we need? We hope to see you again. Thanks again ;)

80%

We stayed in a private bedroom/bathroom at Itaca hostel, which was great - it was about a 2-3minute walk away from the main hostel, still in a very good location. The room shared a kitchen & living area (both very modern) with just two other bedrooms, making it easy to cook. The room was clean& large and bathroom very modern. The fan in the room worked well (needed during Summer!). Breakfast included toast & cereals which were good. Would stay again.


100%

Great place to stay!


100%

Beautiful hostel, great location, and wonderful amenities with helpful staff. An oasis of peacefulness and comfort after the business of traveling and the city. Especially liked the communal shelves in bathroom and kitchen, balconies looking out at the street, free tea and coffee, and good maps and info. Great for meeting people, also for chilling out and having a night in. Disliked cold push button showers, but not a big deal. Overall one of my favorite hostels this trip.


91%

We loved this hostel!! Breakfast was awesome and the rooms were comfortable, and staff were happy to help with anything. The common room lounge area was awesome too and we met so many lovely people here :) We also stayed in an Itaca apartment for one night which was incredible!! Such amazing eh value for money!!


74%

It was a nice first hostel experience. I appreciated the bathrooms being clean, however it would have been nice to have the trash in the room picked up on occasion. It was nice to have the kitchen... and the dining room. It was a bit warm but I liked that we could open the balcony window. The lockers are quite small. Breakfast was poor.


89%

Fantastic location good hostel but not a party hostel


(83 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback