X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ivy Guesthouse Reviews

North of Old Market, Siem Reap, Cambodia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
132 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

Aircon room full of hundreds mosquitoes (only ones seen in Cambodia during whole stay!), incredibly small, with a small sealed window and unhealthy for mold everywhere. Changed to fan room, and gave us a top floor oven with broken wooden walls, cracks and holes with direct connection with outside road. No mosquitoes, but dead for extreme heat! half hour of full fan, temperature unchanged. I am a backpacker, but too much! Staff unfriendly. Left for higher level side hotel, aircon same cost!!


54%

Booked an aircon "deluxe" room. Got a tiny room with walls falling apart for humidity, narrow and sealed (not opening) window and full of mosquitos (note that in whole week we remained in Siem Reap, we have "experienced" only one or two). Requested to change with room with opening window, and got a room at first floor that was a real oven, with broken wood walls; from the holes you had direct connection with external world! for same cost side hotel gave real confortable room with aircon


89%

Was supposed to arrive at midnight but was 4 hours late. Even though I woke staff they were very friendly and next day very helpful with info. Food was delicious and on Thu they have quiz night to support disadvantaged school kids. Great place to stay but get an A/C room

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

The hotel is good located and have a good restaurant. Stuff was very unfriendly though, not very helpful, never smiling to you. Worst stuff I have met on my way of 7 months of traveling. Rooms Delux (AC), which are the most expensive, doesn't have any windows, very small and not very clean. We stayed in 3 differents rooms and all of them were very disappointing. For 15$ per night you really can find much better. At least a window. Go for fun rooms on the 1th floor. Better option.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Best staff so far I have seen in country, also teaching some language and this is not easy. Very comfortable AC room for 15 dollar and huge plates of fried rice with lots of pieces of chicken. Quiet location a short walk to action. Highly recommended but reserve ahead.


77%

Good vegetarian food!

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Everything was great, perfect location, super price! Just room 8 is a little noisy, next-door neighbour did at 7am very annoying sound, but nothing so bad :)

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A little funky place, our room was lopsided, but we enjoyed it, clean, good food, and quiet although very close to Pub Street.

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

Too many mosquitos of 1F AC room! I can't sleep well (I live there for 4 nights...) Although the price is cheap.


94%

Just around the corner of old market and night market this guesthouse is a bit of home far away. Nice clean rooms with fans, helpfull and friendly staff and in the restaurant/barvthey have both Khmer as Western foods. Happy hour between 4 and 6pm, fryday tapas night,..... I had a great stay for under $10 for a single room!


71%

Funky rundown guesthouse -- broken tiles, rusty water system, -- next to a noisy construction pit. BUT nice people and good value for the $7 nightly charge. If you're in Siem Reap for Angkor and just need a bunk, bike, breakfast and beer, this is a fine choice. For low-budget travel it's about what I expected, and close to good restaurants, old market.

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

wasn't aware there wasn't hot water. price for one person is the same as two. many mosquitoes in room.

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place to stay, friendly and helpfull staff. Food tastes womderful so, thank you for a great stay


89%

We loved this guesthouse, which had a lovely vibe, knowledgeable staff and a fab location. Bikes were a little rusty but ok. Food was great - we spent much more than we thought we would.


80%

Having only stayed at this hostel in Siem Reap, I can't compare it to others; however, the hostels I've stayed at in Phnom Penh were so much nicer. Great evening time atmosphere, and very close to Pub Street.


94%

Super nice hotel but a little bit expensive.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Cheers to all your staff members. They were all great! But one side note on the rooms....possibly use some bug spray in the rooms from time to time, because there were strange ticks on and around the bed. I'm not worried about mosquitoes and spiders, but these ticks were very unpleasant.


66%

Ivy's guesthouse has a nice ambiance and friendly staff. The rooms are simple but clean. Toilet and bathroom on the contrary were full of mould. Furthermore it would be nice to have a light near the mirror so you could see where to shave or put your make-up. But I would surely recommend it as a cosy hostel.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Ok. Bed bugs in one room. Cockroach in another. Away from pub street which is nice if you dont want to party 24/7. Friendly but maybe not very effective staff.


57%

Cheap and a bed. If you want a bed for the night its okay enough. Muggle in the corners. Okay atmosphere in the bar/restaurant.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Siem Reap Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback