Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

J-Hoppers Kyoto Guest House

  • 51-2, Nakagoryo-cho, Higashikujo, Minami-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1442 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1442 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2017
10.0

Couldn't recommend this place more - staff were so lovely and accommodating, facilities were top notch and the service was incredible. Let me shower and store my bags both before and after check in, and the other guests were friendly too so it just had the best atmosphere. And all for such a great price ^^

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for staying with us and valuable feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Kyoto (and following Tokyo!), and hope to see you again in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Aug 2017
8.3

Great staff. Though the neighborhood is a bit quiet, everything is accessible using bicycle. Near the Kyoto station. All the staff were excellent in recommending areas of interest especially Tomo. No elevators and the climb is a bit steep. Good value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2017
10.0

Cool place, good location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
9.1

The staff was friendly and the sleeping area was comfortable and very spacious - I had a very enjoyable stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jul 2017
6.9

Place was OK and within walking distance from train stations. However, there's no elevator in 5 floors, and the facilities are not sufficient for the number of guests.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th May 2017
9.4

Stayed here for 2 days. Was not in the room much. Stay was pleasant. Got hot at times during the night on the fifth floor. Would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nsmith183826
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
24th May 2017
8.3

The lady who checked us in was so lovely and helpful :) the location was ok, but quite far from most places. We prefer to walk and most places were quite a distance but we still managed it. The station isn't too far to walk to. Was very clean. The air con in the dorm smelt damp and fusty. The shower doesn't stay on, it is on about an 8 second timer so you have to keep pressing it - a little annoying. Social area is quite large - open plan kitchen, table, comfy area with TV.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2017
10.0

Great, comfortable, clean and nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th May 2017
8.6

I had a great stay here. Very comfy beds and lots of privacy. The kitchen would be great to socialize in if anyone ever actually did that! It was quiet while I stayed there but the staff were awesome and so so helpful. Close to the JR station and a short train to gion. Such a good price for what you get.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th May 2017
9.1

Located in the quieter area of Kyoto south of the main station. Short walk from the subway and within walking distance from the central Kyoto station. Very convenient to travel via bus from here. Friendly staff with helpful tips and hints and updates on upcoming local events. Cosy communal area where you can socialise and meet new people. Clean and comfortable. I will always recommend J-Hoppers to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×