Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

J-Hoppers Kyoto Guest House

  • 51-2, Nakagoryo-cho, Higashikujo, Minami-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1408 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1408 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jtdatwood
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
8.0

The hostel was in a great location for catching buses and the subway. The only problems I had with the hostel were the staircase being too narrow (I had to walk down sideways to make sure most of my foot was on the stair.) and the showers having a 20 second timer. You had to continually push the lever to keep water flowing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
9.1

Perfect for who travel a lot. Staff is great and helpful. Place clean. Beds really comfortable. Close to metro station and others facilites.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for staying with us! We hope you had a good time in Kyoto and a whole of your trip in Japan. Hope to see you again sometime in the future:-) Take care!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
9.4

I loved this hostel! I would definitely come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • YannGriffiths
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Mar 2017
8.0

Comfy beds, decent location. Staff were helpful but some were moody. Would definitely stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for choosing our hostel. Hope you had a great time in Kyoto. We really appreciate your review on us and we always find a way to improve our service and give guests friendly and comfortable stay. Thank you for staying with us once again and hope to see you again. Take care.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Mar 2017
8.0

Very comfortable and good hostel, half the staff were lovely and helpfull one or two of the staff were rude, bed is very very nice however rooms are a 10

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Feb 2017
9.1

Hostel has a really nice and clean environment, rooms are quite large and the staffs are really welcoming. Also loved how they have a rewards card which had a discount if you stayed for 3 nights or more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Feb 2017
8.6

No secure lockers in room. A fairly decent distance away from train and bus station although did have local bus links a little down the road. Staff spoke good English and were helpful but didn't get the chance to know them. Wasn't much of an atmosphere in the hostel but people were friendly enough. Decent place to explore Kyoto from.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
10.0

This was the second time we had stayed at this hostel (both times in an 8 bed mixed dorm) and we had a wonderful experience both times. Listen to the recommendations of the staff- they really know what they are talking about. My husband and I would definitely visit a third time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
9.7

First experience with a hostel; would definitely use again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
20th Dec 2016
7.1

Not easy to meet people and there were not many social events in the hostel, very quiet. It takes about 10-15 minutes walk to the Kyoto station where you can take the buses and subway to go around the city.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.