Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

J-Hoppers Kyoto Guest House

  • 51-2, Nakagoryo-cho, Higashikujo, Minami-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jul 2017
6.9

Place was OK and within walking distance from train stations. However, there's no elevator in 5 floors, and the facilities are not sufficient for the number of guests.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th May 2017
9.4

Stayed here for 2 days. Was not in the room much. Stay was pleasant. Got hot at times during the night on the fifth floor. Would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nsmith183826
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
24th May 2017
8.3

The lady who checked us in was so lovely and helpful :) the location was ok, but quite far from most places. We prefer to walk and most places were quite a distance but we still managed it. The station isn't too far to walk to. Was very clean. The air con in the dorm smelt damp and fusty. The shower doesn't stay on, it is on about an 8 second timer so you have to keep pressing it - a little annoying. Social area is quite large - open plan kitchen, table, comfy area with TV.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2017
10.0

Great, comfortable, clean and nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th May 2017
8.6

I had a great stay here. Very comfy beds and lots of privacy. The kitchen would be great to socialize in if anyone ever actually did that! It was quiet while I stayed there but the staff were awesome and so so helpful. Close to the JR station and a short train to gion. Such a good price for what you get.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th May 2017
9.1

Located in the quieter area of Kyoto south of the main station. Short walk from the subway and within walking distance from the central Kyoto station. Very convenient to travel via bus from here. Friendly staff with helpful tips and hints and updates on upcoming local events. Cosy communal area where you can socialise and meet new people. Clean and comfortable. I will always recommend J-Hoppers to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th May 2017
10.0

Kyoto J - Hoppers has exceptional staff that go above and beyond their duties. Whether it's organizing fun activities or helping people, they made my experience in Kyoto much better. The hostel is clean with good utilities and plenty of space for luggage. It does get hot at night though, so those unadjusted might find it difficult.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th May 2017
8.6

Good hostel, clean, nice ambience and near to Kyoto station (8 minutes walk). I didn't mind the 20 second shower timer, but the temperature control on the 2nd floor shower was terrible. Secure locker was too small for my camera backpack.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2017
10.0

Very well organised and hospitable. The staff are great, informative and help you out. Rooms and facilities are really clean. Would definitely stay there again or in their other hostels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2017
10.0

Great hostel, great location and great staff :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.