Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

J-Hoppers Kyoto Guest House

  • 51-2, Nakagoryo-cho, Higashikujo, Minami-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1396 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1396 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Feb 2017
9.1

Hostel has a really nice and clean environment, rooms are quite large and the staffs are really welcoming. Also loved how they have a rewards card which had a discount if you stayed for 3 nights or more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Feb 2017
8.6

No secure lockers in room. A fairly decent distance away from train and bus station although did have local bus links a little down the road. Staff spoke good English and were helpful but didn't get the chance to know them. Wasn't much of an atmosphere in the hostel but people were friendly enough. Decent place to explore Kyoto from.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
10.0

This was the second time we had stayed at this hostel (both times in an 8 bed mixed dorm) and we had a wonderful experience both times. Listen to the recommendations of the staff- they really know what they are talking about. My husband and I would definitely visit a third time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
9.7

First experience with a hostel; would definitely use again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
20th Dec 2016
7.1

Not easy to meet people and there were not many social events in the hostel, very quiet. It takes about 10-15 minutes walk to the Kyoto station where you can take the buses and subway to go around the city.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Dec 2016
10.0

Had a wonderful stay in Kyoto! The bed was very comfy compared to my dorm beds in Hong Kong and the staff was super friendly and alway gave good tips for food and local events 😊 Would definitely come back again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Barbados, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Dec 2016
9.4

Great hostel, loved the thepayaki (?) evening, good Kitchen, near jr trainstation

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Nov 2016
8.9

Our stay here was great! Definitely recommend this hostel. It was clean and the common room was great for meeting people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Tipwadee
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2016
10.0

J-Hopper is a very nice hostel. I stayed there 3 night. If you guys come to Kyoto, I would recommended this hostel. It is a grate location and easy to find. All staff very kind and helpful, cleanness room, nice atmosphere, awesome facility. If I have a chance, I will come back again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2016
9.7

Very clean facility! Staffs are friendly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.