Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

J-Hoppers Kyoto Guest House

  • 51-2, Nakagoryo-cho, Higashikujo, Minami-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,343 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,343 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
J-Hoppers Kyoto Guest House Located at 51-2, Nakagoryo-cho, Higashikujo, Minami-ku, Kyoto.
J-Hoppers Kyoto Guest House
Japan
Kyoto Kyoto 601-8027 51-2, Nakagoryo-cho, Higashikujo, Minami-ku
90% 1343
34.9794574 135.7616239
J-Hoppers Kyoto Guest House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Aug 2016
9.7

Perfect location, great staff that speak fluent English. Only problem is that there are only a few showers, can get busy in the evening. Dorms are well designed, you have a little cabinet and space to hang stuff up in your bunk bed. Staff is super helpful and friendly. 5 minute walk to Kyoto Station, great base for traveling around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
10.0

I only stayed at j hoppers for one night, but I enjoyed the atmosphere at the desk clerk was super nice and helpful with information and conversation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • julianwilson5937
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Aug 2016
9.1

Family of three stayed one night, close to trains and good kitchen facilities. Friendly staff and quiet night. Mind the stairs, a challenge with big bags.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Jamaica, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
8.6

Exceptional place, with exceptional staff and amenities. Very clean and well lit. Everything seems perfect except for the layout of the rooms, and the inability of the curtains to provide privacy. Only one shower seems to be truly private, and the other, more smaller one lacks privacy, has the water backing up as you shower, and is in general uncomfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
6.6

Okay-ish. It's in a good location and the staff is helpful. It's kinda clean, but the mattresses are uncomfortable and bed curtains slightly moldy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2016
10.0

3rd time staying, amazing place. helpful staff and close to station

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2016
10.0

I had a great time in J-Hoppers Kyoto! There are bus stops near by the hotel, convenience stores, cafe and restaurants... The kitchen in the hostel is amazing!! There are all materials that we need to make a meal during our stay there. The bathrooms are clean and are provided with shampoos and bath soaps. The staff and even the smallest decoration in the hostel make me feel home as they are all very friendly. There is nothing I can complain about. Thank you :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Jul 2016
9.7

We loved our stay at J-Hoppers in Kyoto, the only thing we would have liked is to be a little closer to the city center, although the main touristic attractions in Kyoto are quite spread out so there is no place that is close to everything. The hostel is close to the subway station and close enough to the main train station which is good. We enjoyed participating in the activities organised by the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2016
9.7

Great place to stay. Good location one stop from Kyoto station. Friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
9.4

This hostel was great! Very close to the subway system, train station, and bus stops. The atmosphere of the hostel was quiet, which was nice after a long day exploring around the city. The staff was very friendly, ac worked well, showers were hot, and the Internet was fast enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for staying with us! And your kind comment! We hope you had a great time in Kyoto and look forward to welcome you again :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.