Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

JGH Tokyo

  • 13-45, Nakacho,Kawaguchi-shi, Saitama Prefecture, Tokyo, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 345 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 345 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
10.0

We had a really lovely time at Mieko-san's place. It is only a short, enjoyable walk from Kawaguchi Station and was easy to find (it is also accessible to-and-from Tokyo with a JR Pass). It was very relaxed and cozy, and we found it was a nice place to retreat to after a hectic day in the city. Also, for people worried about language difficulties, Mieko speaks excellent English and you will be fine! Thank you again, Mieko-san! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
9.7

Had a great time staying at JGH hostel, the owner is such a wonderful woman. Would recommend to anyone that doesn't mind taking an easy train ride into Tokyo! Overall great place to stay and for 20$ quite a steal :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2017
9.1

JGH is an excellent choice for travelers who want to save some cash when looking for a place to stay, and don't mind being outside Tokyo. The rooms have locks if security is on your mind, but everyone who was there while I stayed were excellent people, so I had no worries about leaving my things in my room while I went out. I met some awesome travelers while I was there and most everyone was very social. Mieko is super friendly and helpful! Definitely check out the bath house nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
6.9

Alright place to stay in Tokyo, friendly staff, however there was no social interactions between guests. It probably didn't help that there isn't much space for people to hang out and the kitchen is small.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Feb 2017
9.1

I have stayed twice at JGH, in September 2016 and February 2017. The owner, Mieko and her assistant Mika do everything to make you feel home away from home. I have also always met great people there. Although it is a bit far from the city centre you can easily get there by train. As the hostel is located in a residential area it is very safe. There is no common room, but in my opinion it is not a problem as most people gather in the hallway or the kitchen. Would book JGH again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.4

I feel like Home very comfortable and mieko is super friendly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Feb 2017
10.0

WONDERFUL

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
8.6

Our stay has been a one night stay, we checked in very late informingthe hostel of the change only few hours before our supposed time of arrival, they still managed to arrange the late check in for us. We walked around the hostel and finding the room was not difficult. The next day on the moment of checking out the girl helpd us with finding underground directions. The only thing is, as they say, download the offline map on your phone! You WILL need it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
9.7

Value for money indeed and Mieko is very nice. We arrived late so she left a note for us with our room # indicated. She let us sleep even though we have not paid and even if we have not officially checked in yet. How many hostels would do that? Also close to train station and they got all the things you need (even a candy and peanut treat from Mieko :)) would definitely stay there again if I come back to Japan. Thanks for the warm welcome Mieko and for a comfortable stay at your hostel. ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2017
8.6

I highly recommend JGH. Meiko makes this place! She is the kindest and most helpful person I've encountered on my journey so far!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.