Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

JJ's Backpackers Reviews

11-13 Charles Street, Cairns, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained


262 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 69%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Had high hopes for JJ's based on their Hostel World profile, but did not enjoy our stay here whatsoever. The room felt like a cell, didn't even get a bed sheet to sleep under so had to use our own beach towels! The kitchen was tiny and all the pans and crockery etc were smelly and old. Too far from town as well, so we're glad we only booked one night as we couldn't have stayed longer!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your time here with us at JJ's! We are sorry you felt the room was like a cell however the twin room you stayed in is clean, spacious, 2 single beds a wardrobe. All beds are made prior to our guest's arrival and we hand out top sheets/blankets upon check in. Our kitchen is cleaned daily, at least 3 times per day. We do try our best to help all our guests however sometimes we cannot please everyone. Thank you for your feedback.


Had a really great stay at jjs, incredibly helpful and friendly staff! Perfect location just outside of town so it!s nice and quiet and peaceful and only a 15 minute scenic walk along the esplanade to town. Can't recommend it enough, if i'm in area again will defiantly be staying.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback. We are so happy you had a great time here with us at JJ's. Fun & safe travels x


Pretty decent hostel with a fantastic atmosphere. Owners were real nice but the guys staying there especially the long term stayers were awesome. Jackie boy! Shout out to him! ;-) Facilities were average so no complaints there. It was a bit far out of the centre though but the free shuttle service they provide is really helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for sharing your experience of JJ's. It is great that our guests meet and make new friends when here! Fun travels from us all at JJ's x


Had a great stay at Jjs lots of amazing memory's and meet some really cool people. All the staff very helpful and I would like to say a massive thank you to Tracey w and Simon. Jjs is defiantly a place you have to stay and I hope to return soon.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Thank you Thank you for your great ratings and feedback. We love that you had a great time at JJ's and thank you for sharing your experience. Fun and safe travels from us all at JJ's x


Only stayed for one night, but the room was really nice and clean. Staff was super helpful and nice about our really early check out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your great review and ratings. It is great that even after just one night you had a good experience with us. Safe travels x


A little bit out of the centre

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wonderful ratings, thank you! Sadly, we cannot move our location however if you do not fancy the 20 minute walk to town, you can always take our free shuttle bus :oD


Staff is good, professional, friendly. Free shuttle to town. Will arrange all tours you need or find info you want for activities. Breakfast is 2 types of cereal, sliced bread, PB, jelly, milk, coffee. Shower has good power-hot water. Bed is comfortable, rooms are spacious-good fan. AC is a lot extra, but don't need during Winter. Wifi is free and passable near office until many people log on. Full kitchen facility to use to cook meals.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for sharing your JJ's experience with others. We are happy you had a good stay with us :o) We do charge only $2 per person per night extra for a/c however, as you said, you don't need it this time of year. We do have blankets instead ;o)


about the bare minimum, which I guess is fine for the money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments :o)


Free wifi is pointless- 3G is faster! Also constant changing of wifi password was frustrating. Reception staff helpful and friendly but the feeling that commission is no1 priority is overwhelming. Free breakfast is basic. Nice quiet hostel but not easy to socialise and make friends. Rooms decent and hostel is very clean. Free shuttle bus good but timings are random. Laundry doesn't wash clothes well. Close to esplanade.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Mmmm very mixed feelings here. Thank you for your feedback. Sadly, since offering free WIFI the connection has slowed down. We are not in a major city and so our internet connections is not the best. We assure you we have the best connection we can get! We change the password to let our guests know what is happening at the hostel especially social nights. We do not work on commission, 100%! We try to offer tours that would be the best suited to our guests. We appreciate your comments, thank you.

View all Cairns Hostels

Please give us your feedback