Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

JJ's Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 291 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 291 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.6
JJ's Backpackers Located at 11-13 Charles Street, , Cairns.
JJ's Backpackers
Australia
Cairns Queensland Qld 4870 11-13 Charles Street
81% 291
-16.9119624 145.7645201
JJ's Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Nov 2016
9.1

The staff here are really helpful and added to the quality of my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for this lovely comment, we are glad we could help. Safe travels :o)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Oct 2016
8.6

A great chilled hostel, only trouble was it wasnt so lively and was quite a way from town. But they do have a bus until 9 30pm which is mega handy

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sadly, we cannot change the location of our little hostel however it is great that we do have the free city shuttle, we agree :o) We are happy you did find our hostel clean and chilled out. It was a pleasure to meet you and we are glad you chose us as your first hostel to stay in upon arriving into Australia :o) Safe onward travels x

  • Fantagere
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Oct 2016
8.0

Very happy and helpful staff, close to the airport with the airport shuttle service making my stay very stress free and enjoyable. Thank you and I'll see you next time I'm in cairns.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Whoohoo, thank you for this great review. When you are on holidays, it should be stress free, that is what we are here for ;o)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Oct 2016
6.6

THey offer a free shuttle to the center, but the location is still a bit far away.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments. Sadly, we cannot change the location of our little hostel however the free shuttle bus really does come in handy. We are located just 2 blocks from the Esplanade and a 20 minute walk to the city. Not too far :o)

  • travelbug417
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
8.9

This was such a great hostel! The staff were so friendly and helpful and it was a nice atmosphere from everyone around. I was a bit disappointed that there were no security lockers when it was listed but I was able to leave my bag in the luggage storage behind the desk so it wasn't a huge deal. I wish they would have air conditioning since the rooms can get very hot and stuffy but that would be my only complaint. Free shuttles into the cbd area were wonderful and free breakfast was a plus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You are wonderful, thank you for this great feedback and ratings. We do have rooms with conditioning, you have the choice when booking (please see listed rooms) and also you are able to upgrade once you are here if the fan cooled rooms are too warm for you. Yes, we have the safe within the hostel rather than lockers within the hostel, we are sorry if this is misleading. Thank you again for staying with us and thanks for the great feedback. Happy travels x

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
20th Aug 2016
8.3

Good points: Situated in a quiete location, only a 15 minute walk along the esplanade to town. The hostel was calm and relaxing & the owners were polite, friendly and very accommodating. The bathrooms were cleaned frequently. Bad points: the bedroom needed a good clean - it was a bit smelly (damp smell), the mattress was totally worn out and there are no security lockers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for this feedback and fabulous rating, we greatly appreciate this :o) We can change this mattress for you, the room will have been cleaned however we will make sure it gets a good airing too. We do have a safe for your valuables however it is in the reception area and not in the rooms. Thanks again for this, we wish you fun and happy travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jul 2016
8.3

Overall, a very good hostel. Clean rooms, very nice atmosphere, 24/7 supermarket around the corner and very helpful staff. Location is not too bad: a nice 20mins walk on the esplanade or free shuttle bus drops you within 5 mins in the city centre. However, a few things were really lacking and could be easily improved: hooks in the rooms to hang up clothes and wet towels, soap and hand dryer in the bathroom, extra shuttle bus run during the afternoon (2pm?) would turn this hostel into a 10/10!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great rating and feedback. We will definitely look into the points you have made and hopefully make us a 10/10 hostel.

6th Jul 2016
6.6

For a place to sleep and clean up a bit, it was fine. It needs more toilets/showers. Free wifi only in the office area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your comments, you only stayed with us for the 1 night arriving at 23.00hr so we are not sure you got the full JJ's experience? :o( We have plenty of bathrooms located throughout the hostel which are available for everyone to use. We offer a map and general information upon check in so that our guests feel comfortable and know what is in the hostel and around town, should they need it. We have just been connected NBN WiFi now which we are very happy about :o) Thanks again and we wish you all the best in your travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2016
9.7

Amazing staff in a clean well run place. A change from the other places in cairns not a crazy party place a laid back atmosphere but close to the bars if thats your thing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Superstar, thank you so very much for these great ratings and comments, we love you we do !!

  • burgess78
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Jun 2016
9.4

Brilliant hostel with excellent staff and a relaxed feeling. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Whoohooooo, this is O for ORRRRRsome!!! Thank you so much for this great rating & feedback, muchly appreciated :o)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.