X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

JJ's Backpackers Reviews

11-13 Charles Street, Cairns, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
242 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Great hostel felt very welcome. Laid back and chill vibe and the free shuttle bus into the town was great. Staff were very nice, especially Simon and Tracy they always went above and beyond to help you out. Would definitely recommend this hostel to other people

Owner Comment (Hide)
Fantastic review, thank you so much! And thank you also for recommending us to other travellers, we hope they feel the same way as you did when you was here. Safe travels, from us all at JJ's x

89%

This is the cleanest hostel I have stayed in since being in Australia. They have a regular free bus into the town center but its also nice to walk into town along the esplanade. Tracy and Simon are so nice and extremely helpful. I can't really fault the place. I would definitely stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you thank you thank you for this great review!!! We love that you had a good time here and would stay again. Hopefully we will see you after you have finished your work. Take care and thanks again from us all at JJ's x

83%

Very cool, chilled out hostel. Would definitely recommend :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for adding your review, we really do appreciate this. It is great that you had a good time here and would return again. You are a superstar!

91%

Awesome staff!! They helped me to book a spontaneous daytrip and drove me to the departure location for free!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences at JJ's with others. We really appreciate your comments and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us. Thank you.

91%

20 mins walk from the hostel to city, but they provide shuttle bus for transfer. The owner is so nice, I would definitely stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your feedback and comments. It was a pleasure to meet you and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at JJ's. Safe travels x

83%

JJs is a bit out of the city. 20 minute walk along esplanade but during the summer months with the heat and the storms it felt like forever. the shuttle is easy but not always convenient with times. front office were so helpful and really awesome. not a party hostel and if your looking for work I'd suggest staying in the city


86%

Nice and clean hostel. Stuff is very helpful and always happy to give their advice. They have shuttle that takes u to the center of the city for free!! Nice and specious kitchen. Rooms are also very specious and affordable. Differential a hostel I'd stay again and recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Whoohoo thank you soooo much for this great reply, we are so happy to enjoyed your stay with us and would return, thank you. Safe travels x

91%

Improve the quality of the wifi

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great ratings and feedback we really appreciate this. We actually have the highest level of internet that we can have. Unlimited usage and download with our internet provider. We are sorry we cannot make this any better. As we are unable to improve the WIFI this is why we have now offered this as a FREE service. WHOOHOOOO!!!!

100%

Great hostel, I stayed only for one night but it was really nice. Great staff and atmosphere. I had to take the bus to Tully early in the morning and they drove me to the bus stop, awesome service!! Definitely coming back to Cairns and this hostel. x Sabine

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your review, it is great that you liked us from staying just one night AND it is double great that you will come back after your farm work. Don't work too hard and we look forward to seeing you again in a few months.

80%

The staff are the best part about JJ's Tracey and Simon were great, so helpful and friendly. We stayed in a double, it was very clean and really quiet at night. The bus into the town often every day was great. Only disappointment was that when we booked it was advertised that it provides free evening meal but we were told on arrival that they no longer did and it had been taken off all sites but after checking still found it being advertised on Hostel world.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your fantastic ratings and for your feedback. Sadly, we have not offered the free evening meal since January 2014 and we thought we had removed all of the advertising for this on all websites. We thank you for pointing this out, it is now removed. We did have meal vouchers for 30% discount at the same venue and still have our free breakfast. It is great that you did enjoy your stay and we do apologise for the inconvenience you did not have the free evening meal :o( Safe travels.

91%

Tracy and Simon were the most helpful staff I have met anywhere so far in Australia, maybe even the world! Very very understanding of my blundering ways and helped me out with shuttle buses and trip bookings so much it actually amazed me. Would recommend this hostel to anyone, shuttle buses are great, town and lagoon are a quick walk along the promenade, staff unrivalled :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you sooooo much for this fantastic review!!!!!! Sometimes things can go how you planned them and we are glad we can help out if this ever happens. Happy travels and thank you for sharing your experience here at JJ's for others :o) Thank you, Tracy & Simon x

94%

Brilliant, small family run hostel. Provide travel-agency services and advice on best trips to do. Everyone is always willing to help.

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your great comments and feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed yur stay with and have shared your experience at JJ's. Safe Travels x



View all Cairns Hostels

Please give us your feedback