X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Jackaroo Hostel Kings Cross Reviews

107-109 Darlinghurst Road, Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
426 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

It's a great location, right above Kings X station and surprisingly unaffected by train/street noise. The pull for me was the free wifi (almost unheard of elsewhere in Sydney), inclusion of breakfast (basic but helps start the day) and position to other areas. However the 4-bed female dorm was incredibly small with not enough space for everyone's belongings, nor power sockets, individual reading lights and no window or seemingly any decent ventilation. The bedding was also poor quality.

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Beth, Thanks for your feedback, we're glad that you enjoyed the free Wifi and breakfast. The hostel us an older building so some of our rooms are smaller, we do have larger rooms available and we would have been happy to move you if you had come to see us. We are surprised you found our bedding of poor quality but you will be please to know that we are now going through it and replacing as necessary. Safe and happy travels!.

31%

We had room without window, NO air condition,hot as hell. Filthy rooms, housekeeping came into room three times a day and still left our room dirty as it was from guest before. Kitchen in the basement, very hot inside without ventilation system, just big ventilator in dining room to blow your face. During night you can hear everybody in the hostel especially your neighbor who is sleeping under/above you (noisy beds).Location is catastrophic as well-hookers, junkies, etc just in front the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jaroslav, Thank you for your feedback. We are sad to hear that you didn't have an awesome experience here. The air conditioning can be adjusted as needed, if you would have come and told reception we could have resolved this for you. In regards to the noise unfortunately some guests are not as considerate as others, from your feedback we have increased our night managers patrols to keep the noise to a minimum. We have also gone through the hostel and checked for any noisy beds. Safe travels!

89%

clean, nice, bit far from the city centre and there are a lot of stripclubs in the street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Helmie, Thanks for the great feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We are located next door to Kings Cross train station which can get you to the city within 5 minutes. You can also walk to the city in around 20 minutes. Safe and happy travels.

86%

Had a comfortable stay in a 4 bed dorm. The bathrooms were kept pretty clean for a hostel. Couldn't get closer to the cross if we tried. Breakfast was basic, but who really wants to eat after a night out?!!? We felt really comfortable, and it was all really secure. Would definitely recommend staying here if going out in the cross for a night or 2

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Louise, Thank you for the great feedback we are also happy to hear when a guest enjoys their stay with us. Safe and happy travels!

77%

A good hostel, not quite great. Location is convenient, directly above the King's cross metro. We had a street facing room and it was noisy every night of the week. Glad we had earplugs. Wifi is excellent during the day, but grinds to a halt in the evenings with everyone on it. We had a private room, but at 10am every morning housekeeping would knock on the door and immediately come in, regardless if we asked them not to. Then again to vacuum, then again to empty the bin.


83%

Can't ask for a better location, literally right next to the train station. Hostel is decent. Only real thing I could complain about is even though the listing says it has Air Conditioning, it doesn't.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Michael, Thanks for the review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We had an issue with the Air-Conditioning unit over the weekend of your stay, it had to be turned off to prevent water leaking throughout the building. As you can imagine due to the size of the building it took a few days to be fixed. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

74%

It really was a nice hostel, Free Wine night is great. There were a lot of longstayers.. Really in the centre of kings cross, didnt bother me at night.


97%

The crew, the managers is very friendly and easy going. helps out with whatever you need or ask. i been to both jackaroos, Mission beach and Sydney. Highly recommend people to stay here

  • 26th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

very small rooms


97%

Everyone was super friendly, the rooms were perfectly clean and kept clean. We really really enjoyed our stay at the jackaroo

  • 4th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in January 2014 in a 4 bed mixed dorm. The hostel was extremely grubby, the rooms and bathrooms were dirty and felt like they hadn't had a proper clean in a long time. The staff were friendly but distant because they had so many people to look after. The location was good, within walking distance from the city, or a short taxi ride. We stayed here because it was the cheapest option we could find and it certainly felt cheap. Personally, I wouldn't opt to

  • 2nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This is an amazing hostel! When i arrive the staff were very friendly and helpful to me. They also help me see all the best parts of the city in my short time spent in Sydney. The hostel is very clean as they clean it everyday, throughout the day. I loved the free breakfast and free wifi which is very big help when you are a backpacker with not lots of money, making the price you pay to stay here very good. The location is great too, as kings cross is fun but very close to the rest of the city.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very great hostel. Always so clean and staff are so friendly and nice. I had so much good times here with all the people i meet and made so many friends. My room was very clean and the bathrooms too. They have so many activities and fun things for everyone. Free wifi and free wine friday are the best. Jackaroo is the best hostel I ever stay at. I recommend to everyone.

  • 29th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I had an awesome time at the Jackaroo. Was only supposed to stay 3 nights but ended up staying here for 2 weeks cause i had so much fun. Its one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. The staff were really cool and friendly and helped me with any questions I had and they always mingled with the guests and made everyone feel so welcome. It's a really clean hostel, there was always someone cleaning the bathrooms and common areas and my room was cleaned daily. Definitely going back - loved it!!

  • 29th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The guys that work there are awesome, they know the city very well and have great ideas on things to do. Free Wifi is really good and the free breakfast is pretty good too. They clean everyday so its really nice. I stayed at another hostel before going to jackaroo and i am very happy i changed, jackaroo is so much nicer. They have a great TV room with lots of movies. Will definitely come back after i finish my east coast trip.

  • 23rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel is a breeze to find, right next to the train station at Kings Cross! I stayed in a dorm room and it was very clean met some good people and had a good time. The staff are really helpful and if you can you should defiantly stay for the free wine.

  • 23rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Awesome hostel, had loads of fun and met lots of really nice people. Got off the train and the hostel was literally right there, made it so easy to get everywhere. They hostel is always busy though they still manage to keep the place really nice and clean. The staff are locals so they know the city really well and were really helpful with ideas of where to eat, party and things to see and do. I booked my east coast trip with them and saved a bit of money too. Loved the free BBQ on the rooftop.

  • 22nd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback