X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jackaroo Hostel Kings Cross Reviews

107-109 Darlinghurst Road, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
505 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

Clean it up! Add toilet paper and an air freshener! Pretty sure our beds were not changed!

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

We were in room 11 a dorm of 4 girls and the room was very stuffy as no windows or adequate ventilation so sleeping was very uncomfortable due to lack of ventilation.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

This hostel was ideally situated to see the main attractions in Sydney for a few days. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Showers were always hot. The unlimited wifi was great. Unfortunately the air conditioning downstairs had broken so the kitchen was a sweatbox and the laundry even more so! The staff were pretty helpful on the whole but the atmosphere in the hostel was lacking, most people kept themselves to themselves so we didn't find it very sociable.


83%

Good hostel in good location, rooms and bathrooms cleaned daily, staff v helpful and free wifi was a massive bonus in oz


46%

The smell was overwhelming. It smelled liked cleaning chemicals / chlorine. No ventilation. It got so hot. It's not acceptable. The plumbing is terrible. MUST BE FIXED. HUGE waste of water. Water runs even after you tightly close the taps. They need to be fixed ASAP.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The whole hostel is cleaned daily. Rooms can be a bit messy but that is the roommates not the hostel staff. The location is superb walking distamce to bars, restaurants, hyde park, opera house, darling harbour. Free wifi that works throughout the building 24 hours per day. Free breakfast (toast, cereal, milk, tea, coffee,and spreads). Activities scheduled each night and staff was helpful providing directions around Sydney. Worth the stay.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Extremely helpful people and staff (the ones at the desk are always willing to help out) & very good location just beside the King's Cross train station! Great experience overall, would recommend it to my friends..


89%

Was traveling alone and met a great crew also staying there. Staff were polite. Beds were comfy and clean, bathrooms were maintained. Literally right next to the kingscross station so getting anywhere is a piece. About 30 mins walk to opera house and bridge.


77%

For my first hostel in Sydney, I'm happy I picked Jackaroo. The free breakfast (toast and cereal) and free WiFi are a definite bonus. The area is absolutely fine and there's a lot near the hostel - bars, supermarket, bank, cafes, etc. The staff are friendly and sort any trouble immediately (we had a couple of incidents one night). The hostel can get quite noisy late at night due to people being loud and the walls being super thin. The bathrooms were okay but at least the showers were hot!


86%

Overall really great!!

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

This is a great place to stay! I was here for a week while in Sydney and is right next to the Kings Cross station. It is about a 15-20 min walk to Circular Quay. Good location and free breakfast, I would stay here again.


86%

This is hostel is very good however it's more for people who are living and working in Sydney, not many travellers, my roomroom mates were excellent! Very clean showers and toilets. Will be staying again

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

A great hostel, everyone staying is super friendly as are the staff. The rooms are clean and nice, I had an ensuit which was perfect. The kitchen/dining area was spacious and well looked after, the free breakfast was great, cereal, toast, tea and coffee. Could have done with a lift with the many many flights of stairs! Great location to party, short walk to town/harbour. Free WiFi throughout the whole building!! Would recommend!


89%

Great hostel! Location is convenient, right next to the station. Staff was friendly, rooms and bathroom were very clean! Brekkie was ok, only minor point was that there was no hot water to do the dishes (a bit gross).


100%

Very very good hostel with many fun things to do. Always smiling and helpful staff people on reception and always so clean everywhere in the hostel in the rooms and kitchen and bathrooms. We enjoy so much the free wifi and free breakfast every day. Very close next door to train and city very close. We will definitely come back to stay for sure, we have such a very good time at this hostel.


100%

An awesome hostel, had the best time ever!!! Planned to stay a couple nights but ended up staying a couple weeks. They always had activities planned and they had so much free stuff like breakfast, internet AND wifi - which is such a bonus in a Sydney hostel because it cost a fortune usually. It was so clean and the staff are so friendly. Rooms and bathrooms were cleaned every day and you can't forget the handy location, right next door to Kings Cross station!

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This is by far one of the best hostels I have stayed in while in Australia. It's a family run hostel and they really look after and genuinely care about all their guests. The hostel is cleaned every day and it is air conditioned as well which is great. There's FREE internet, FREE breakfast every morning and they organize lots of activities to do everyday. I was travelling by myself so this was great for me as I made a lot of friends. Will definitely be staying again when I'm back in Sydney :)


86%

Considering they offer free breakfast from 7am-10am PLUS free wifi on every level AND activities every night... I'd say this place is heaven sent! Hard to find all of that in one hostel for such a good price. I'd say the only downsides are that the lockers are on the reception floor (that closes after 12am), there's no real water bottle fountain station - got to fill up via sink, and there's no lift. But still not even that big of an issue.

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Loved loved loved the jackaroo. Really clean hostel and the people that work there are awesome. They have stuff going on all the time so you can go out and meet loads of people. Its easy to get around with the train station right next door. The staff are locals so know how to get everywhere and what to do. Easily my favourite hostel in Sydney. Free wifi and free breakfast help as i know some other hostels make you pay for this. Will stay again for sure when i return to sydney.

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very clean and good place to stay. lots of nice people and staff very friendly. Free wifi very good and nice kitchen. Lots of fun things happening and lots to do. Would stay again for sure. Thank you jackaroo.

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(35 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback