Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jackaroo Hostel Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 684 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 684 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • pinkpunto86
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
8.0

Amazing location, right beside kings cross station, so it was easy to get to anywhere in the city. Felt like alot of the people who stayed there were long term, which didn't make it a very friendly place. Staff were helpful and did try to keep everything clean, unfortunately careless guests didn't make that easy. Coffee in the morning was a welcomed bonus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2017
7.4

I made the same mistake as a few others of not researching the Kings Cross area before booking a stay there. I'm not the party type, more just kick back and socialize so I wasn't so keen on the area. Which is why I'm so glad I stayed at Jackaroos! The organized activities and social hour were exactly what I needed to get confortable and have a good time. The staff was mostly awesome and overall you get what you should expect for the price!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
4.0

Hostel full of long termers who don't want to socialise&rude. Hostel dorms so small & dirty because they are full of long termers. Mattress is awful!! Bathrooms discusting & stink. Hostel residents noisy & lack of respect for other people. Some staff great, some staff rude. Not good location-public transport awful. Have to pay deposits for keys and lockers. Communal area okay but don't recommend

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for the review. Its unfortunate that you have written your review out of anger. Obviously you are still upset that we asked for a key deposit upon checkin, but as i explained when you checked in, people lose their keys regularly so we need to charge to cover this. All deposits are returned when the keys are returned. Now to address the other points. 1. Of the 90+ guests in the hostel, there are appx 20 long term guests which is normal in a city hostel as these people are working. Some have been here a little while so they have made some friends and unfortunately stick to their own groups. This beyond our control though we do have an entertainment manager who organises events to try and involve everyone. 2. Our rooms are cleaned everyday, though as you can imagine, once a guests gets comfortable they do get a bit lazy with the tidiness of their belongings in the room. We regularly ask them to tidy their stuff up. 3. If you had an issue with the mattress, all you had to do was speak with reception and we would have replaced it. We do regular checks on these but with almost 100 beds it may have been missed. I have since replaced it. 4. Our bathrooms are always very clean and tidy. We have a contracted company that come in everyday and thoroughly clean them. 5. Our guests are all aged between 18 and 35 so as you know they do like to enjoy themselves. We have a very strict noise policy but not everyone is as respectful as we would like. 6. The train station is 2 meters from our front door so this point is just ridiculous. Every single one of our reviews scores very high for location. 7. Key deposits are mandatory with us, and all hostels as guests regularly lose their keys. They are deposits and returned when they keys are returned. 8. Our communal areas are large, clean and very accommodating. Based on your review i would suggest that perhaps you are more suited to a different level of accommodation, obviously you expect much more for $35 a night. All the best and safe travels.

26th Jan 2017
8.3

Everything was good, right beside the train station so you could literally hope on a train right there. Location was good. Security was good, only thing I didn't like they tried to make more room for beds so there was no lockers to lock your stuff up in the room. Lockers were way down stairs that you had to pay for. Early check out was no problem but the only thing nobody told us is they lock the kitchen and main area so can't grab your food if you are leaving early.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks very much for your review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We have our lockers at reception so they are always in the clear view of our staff to ensure everything is safe. They are free to use, we just ask for a deposit for the key which we return to you when the key is returned. The kitchen is locked at 10pm and opened at 6am, which we explain on check in. Thanks and safe travels

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2017
10.0

M favourite hostel in australia. Close to train and easy to go everywhere. Always people cleaning so very nice. Lots of place to social and meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2017
10.0

had a good time here. Already booked another hostel for the days after but wish i stayed here. Thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malta, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

Love this hostel. have been many times since coming in australia. Nice people and very good hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

Very nice and clean. Close to subway.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
6.9

Not super friendly group, but there are lots of places to go out and meet people around. It is in the "red light district" so the evenings can be pretty noisy! Bathrooms are pretty rough and rooms are basic, nothing surprising. Facilities are nice with pool table and tv room. Location is good for transport but a little far away if you're looking to walk around the main sites or cooler neighborhoods.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
10.0

Looks nice and fresh with the new painting and new things. Staff were super nice ad helpful. They are locals so they know lots of good beaches and places to go. Its very clean too which is nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.