Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jackaroo Hostel Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 671 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 671 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
Jackaroo Hostel Sydney Located at 107-109 Darlinghurst Road, Kings Cross, Sydney.
Jackaroo Hostel Sydney
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW 2011 107-109 Darlinghurst Road, Kings Cross
84% 671
-33.8742102 151.2229549
Jackaroo Hostel Sydney
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
10.0

Looks nice and fresh with the new painting and new things. Staff were super nice ad helpful. They are locals so they know lots of good beaches and places to go. Its very clean too which is nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
10.0

Very clean and nice. Good staff and friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
10.0

The jackaroo was recomended to me by a friend, and it did not disappoint. They have a bunch of activities going on so it made it really easy to meet people. The hostel is really spacious, has an awesome atmosphere, a nice pool table too. The staff are lovely, and best of all it's really clean. I arrived early before checkin so it was nice they let me use the showers and other facilities. Will be staying here again when I hear back to Sydney!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
10.0

Really enjoyed my stay. Met some great people and had a blast in Sydney. Free wifi is definitely a bonus. Be back in a few months for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
10.0

Loved the hostel. The rooftop and the nice big common area downstairs. Pool table is good for meeting people. Subway is next door so easy to get around. Be back for sure. Thanks jackaroos.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
10.0

Great place with lovely staff. Looks like it has been recently redecorated and it looks really nice. Great work guys.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Nov 2016
6.3

Staff were really moody, seemed like everyone was sick of the place

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry if some of the staff seemed moody, you may have just got them on a bad day. If you have a look at our overall staff rating from previous reviews you will see its really good. We are really committed to ensure our staff are as happy and pleasant as possible, but as you can appreciate, we all have an off day here and there. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Nov 2016
3.4

I am not a princess but this is by far the dirtiest and worst hostel I've been to. I can survive one cockroach, but not that many. Showers and toilets were extremly dirty, kitchen was disguisting. Staff is good. However, they booked me a shuttle which I paid but it never came to pick me up. I missed the Plane that I booked. They still didn't do the refund. Dont go with that shuttle company that they cooperate with. Workers do live in that hostel but That's not a reason to not clean it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, We thought you would write something like this after your email. The night before you checked out you actually told us how pleasant your stay was. Its unfortunate that the shuttle bus did not arrive, though as we explained, this is not our company and therefore we have no control over it. We confirmed the booking the day before. We have spoken to them and voiced our concerns, though as this is the first time we have had this issue there is only so much we can do. Next time your transport is running late, perhaps you should look at other alternatives earlier instead of waiting around until you miss your flight. Also, all of our hostel reviews always comment on the cleanliness of the hostel so please don't take your frustrations with an external company out on us.

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Oct 2016
10.0

Everything great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for the amazing review. Safe travels.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Oct 2016
10.0

Really enjoyed it at jackaroo. Clean and really good people. Free bbq on the rooftop was cool too. Be back soon guys.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you very much for the awesome review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.