Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jackaroo Hostel Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 742 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 742 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Aug 2017
4.0

Located in Kings Cross, close to the city centre but not a nice place at night. Tiny rooms, a few old bathrooms, not so generous breakfast ... check for some place better would be my recommendation.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
9.4

Cant complain at all great hostel. I had to change rooms due to the one I was in getting closed for some renovations but the new room was awesome. Easy to find with supermarket across the road, station next door. Friendly & helpful staff with plenty of things to do inside and outside of the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
9.7

This is one of the best hostels I've stayed in ... free pancakes on sunday.. I booked last minute, and was not disappointed. Its really clean, tidy and with a nice group of staff and people and a great location, can't really ask for more! Looks like its all been renovated, the rooms were fresh and nice. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location right next to Kings Cross Station was really handy! Great range of social events and their entertainment manager Tiia is awesome.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
9.7

Could not recommend enough! Awesome staff, great location for everything in Sydney and really nice new rooms. Can't wait to be back :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
9.7

Really nice hostel. Great common areas and rooftop. Looks like they have recently renovated cause our room was all new and fresh. Love the duvets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
10.0

Great hostel in the centre of it all. I had an amazing time here. Very helpful staff and clean hostel. Highly recommend this place if you want to have a good time in Sydney.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
8th Jul 2017
7.1

The room was really small, the wifi didn't work in the room and we only found one charging point which was in the toilet, probably for hair dryer. King's cross also didn't seem like the safest area around but there were police patrolling. Staff were friendly. Overall, it's an ok place for a short stay and if you don't really need wifi.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for the review. If you were unhappy with the room you should have come and spoke to us, we would have tried to move you. You will be happy to know all our rooms have been renovated now. All the rooms have at least 4 charging points. Kings cross is a happening place with loads of bars and cafes, it also has 14 hostels so its super safe. Perhaps it might be an idea to stay at the YHA in town, may be more suitable. Thanks

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
8.9

Main complaint was that it was freezing cold at night (I visited during the winter) and the blankets they give us are pretty flimsy. Otherwise, it did the trick. I'm a walker so I found it a little far from places but it wasn't too bad. Nice staff and atmosphere. Bathrooms were clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed the hostel. You will be happy to know that we now have lush new duvets on every bed to keep you warm at night. We are also only a 20 min walk to the opera house and the train station is right next door which makes it very easy to get around. Thanks and safe travels

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th May 2017
6.6

Overall a good hostel, great events every day, friendly staff, free WiFi and breakfast which is great. Some big downsides, no lockers in the room, just space under bed to store your bags. Plugs on the floor under bed, so top bunkers had to leave their phone plugged in under a strangers bed. Room was absolutely freezing and the bedding is not up to scratch. You need to give guests a proper quilt, not a really thin blanket. I slept in 3 layers of clothes and was still cold!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed the hostel. Our new lockers for the rooms are arriving soon, we do however have free lockers at reception for everyone to use. You will also be happy to hear that every bed now has a lovely new duvet to keep you warm at night. Thanks and happy travels

  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
20th May 2017
9.4

This is the best place to stay in Sydney. It is conveniently located next to Kings Cross station (literally), and there are a lot of dining options around the area. It is clean (very clean), and the rooms are very comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for much for the great review. Safe travels

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.