X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jacob's Home Reviews

St. Jacobsstraat 17, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
21 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Nice place and nice owner. It's located in the very centre of Amsterdam but in a quite place. I really like it!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Everything is perfect, just stairs are a bit dangerous, especially at night when you want to go to toilet 2 flors downstairs.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We spent 3 wonderful days. The location is superb. Right in the centre. Danny was very helpful. The only word of caution, the stairs are extremely steep so if you have mobility problems beware. If you can cope with the stairs there is a nice balcony to enjoy a drink and some local fresh food. Would definitely book again

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

We have been in Amsterdam four times and this was the best place we stayed. The localization is really good. Few minutes by walking to markets, shops, pharmacy and restaurants. Kitchen with equipment necessary for make some food . The oner was friendly and kind with us all the time. The price is quite high but accommodation in Amsterdam is expensive everywhere.

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

This perfectly formed little/tall house was wonderful & suited our needs. I think it was fairly priced in comparison to the prices of accomodation in Amsterdam but a little more expensive than I would have liked to have paid, if that makes sense? Danny was very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. I will recommend to other people. I did notice that other reviews mentioned the steepness of the stairs, which they were but for me this added to the charm & it was good exercise for the glutes!

  • 10th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Really enjoyed our stay. Was greeted by the owner who gave us loads of useful information about local facilities and things to see which was very useful. Can't fault the apartment, it was perfect for what we needed which was a base to see the city from. Centrally located and everything we needed really! The balcony was good. Had a great long weekend!

  • 14th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Be careful of the stairs... Difficult to manage if you have heavy luggage. Additionally, the only bathroom is on the ground floor which proved to be very inconvenient sleeping on the 3rd floor

  • 24th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a very pleasant stay, thank you again. The location is fantastic, as is the flat. Unfortunately it was too cold to take more advantage of the balcony :( but that is not your fault of course... I blame it on the so called "summer" ;)

  • 17th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Jacob's Home apartment! This was our fourth time to Amsterdam, and this was our favorite place to stay. We loved having our own apartment, especially such a nice one. The only "quirk" is the bathroom is on the first floor, and the bedroom is on the third. But, it actually didn't bother us at all. It was well worth it for the price, the great location, and that awesome patio! =)


83%

Breakfast was lovely. Wifi reception was good too. But since there were three floors and the stairs are steep, found it hard to move the luggages upstairs. Anyways location was excellent and many shops nearby, easy to look for food even in late-night. Enjoyed the stay at Jacob's home.


100%

Excellent price, dead middle of center city, easy walk to the train station and all tourist activities. Danny the owner is very friendly, helpful and accomodating, and easily reached as he runs a barber shop just downstairs. Our fridge was always stocked, the place was clean and comfortable. Just look out for that steep staircase!

  • 8th Jul 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


87%

The place is three levels tall. There is really really steep stairs to every level. No old people or handicap or young children should stay here. He did however stock the refridge with breakfast supplies.


97%

Amazing location in great part of the city. 5 mins from centraal station. 2 mins from 420 cafe 30 secs from a wok to walk !!!! Booking was easy and staff very helpful. The stairs are a little bit steep so small children etc might be a problem but is an all round great little place. Enjoy. Peace




View all Amsterdam Apartments

Please give us your feedback