X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jacob's Home Reviews

St. Jacobsstraat 17, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
44 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The cosy house is a really good place to stay: Situated in the center it's nevertheless calm. Thanks Danny we had all informations we needed. It would be fine to have some cushions and blankets in the livingroom and also on the balcony. All in one we can recommand Jacobs home for all who want to discover the city and to have a nice home in the heart of the town at the same time.

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Jacob's home was great! It was in the perfect location, very central and we were provided with everything we needed - towels, coffee, tea, bedding, etc. Our host also sat down with us for half an hour and explained everything there was to do in Amsterdam during our short stay. He pointed out fun areas, restaurants to try, beautiful scenery, shopping areas and more. This was incredibly helpful and much appreciated! Thanks again.

  • 10th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Home from home in a quiet street, great central location and near to may sights and transport options.


74%

One of the single beds was too near the stairs for comfort, Fortunately I was able to decamp to the sofa bed. Otherwise the facilities were good.

  • 6th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The pictures on the sites do not do this little spot any justice. Very private and it is an apartment rather than a hostel. Very clean and and for the price I was expecting a lot less. I work in the 5 star hotel industry and this was a pleasure to stay in. Some people have said the steep stairs are an isuue but I loved the of the property and the quirkiness of the layout . Dan was and Will stay there again and recommend it to my friends . Thanks

  • 3rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
94%

Aside from the steep-stairs we had a lovely stay. There is a private balcony off of the bedroom and plenty of extras (shampoo,condiments,soap,chocolates). A few things worth mentioning are that the door is a keycode panel. I don't know how often the code is changed. I also arrived late so I had a hard time contacting the owner. If you book this hotel make sure you read the confirmation email. Also very uncensored artwork in bedroom, and the stairs are practically ladders with a railing.


94%

Everything was perfect !Would highly recommend this place to anybody how would like to stay in center of Amsterdam!


89%

The place was great, the owner was really friendly and helpful, and we really enjoyed staying there!

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Perfect location, just a few minutes walk from central station. Host was superb, gave logs of information that helped us make the most of our stay. The house was lovely, loved the roof terrace and sound system. Stairs are narrow and steep. It that didn't bother us. A great time in Amsterdam and Jacobs house is the perfect place to stay. Would love to stay again in the future.


100%

EXCELLENT STAY.....SHOULD BE RETURNING TO AMSTERDAM IN SEPTEMBER SO HOPE TO STAY @ JACOBS HOME AGAIN. ONLY ONE SMALL DOWN SIDE WAS THE "VERTICAL STAIRS". I KNOW STAIRS IN AMSTERDAM ARE STEEP ...... BUT THESE WERE LIKE STEP LADDERS. ......STILL...GREAT STAY !!!

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent and precious place, fantastic location. The stairs can become a little upsetting but every house in the city is like that. A little expensive but really worth it. Dany, the owner, is charming and very attentive, every detail being taken care of. At our arrival we found a fully equipped kitchen, including cooffe, tea, and some breakfast, and clean bed sheets and towels. Perfect place to spend a few days in the very center of the city.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice place and nice owner. It's located in the very centre of Amsterdam but in a quite place. I really like it!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Everything is perfect, just stairs are a bit dangerous, especially at night when you want to go to toilet 2 flors downstairs.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We spent 3 wonderful days. The location is superb. Right in the centre. Danny was very helpful. The only word of caution, the stairs are extremely steep so if you have mobility problems beware. If you can cope with the stairs there is a nice balcony to enjoy a drink and some local fresh food. Would definitely book again

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

We have been in Amsterdam four times and this was the best place we stayed. The localization is really good. Few minutes by walking to markets, shops, pharmacy and restaurants. Kitchen with equipment necessary for make some food . The oner was friendly and kind with us all the time. The price is quite high but accommodation in Amsterdam is expensive everywhere.

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This perfectly formed little/tall house was wonderful & suited our needs. I think it was fairly priced in comparison to the prices of accomodation in Amsterdam but a little more expensive than I would have liked to have paid, if that makes sense? Danny was very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. I will recommend to other people. I did notice that other reviews mentioned the steepness of the stairs, which they were but for me this added to the charm & it was good exercise for the glutes!

  • 10th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Really enjoyed our stay. Was greeted by the owner who gave us loads of useful information about local facilities and things to see which was very useful. Can't fault the apartment, it was perfect for what we needed which was a base to see the city from. Centrally located and everything we needed really! The balcony was good. Had a great long weekend!

  • 14th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Be careful of the stairs... Difficult to manage if you have heavy luggage. Additionally, the only bathroom is on the ground floor which proved to be very inconvenient sleeping on the 3rd floor

  • 24th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a very pleasant stay, thank you again. The location is fantastic, as is the flat. Unfortunately it was too cold to take more advantage of the balcony :( but that is not your fault of course... I blame it on the so called "summer" ;)

  • 17th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Jacob's Home apartment! This was our fourth time to Amsterdam, and this was our favorite place to stay. We loved having our own apartment, especially such a nice one. The only "quirk" is the bathroom is on the first floor, and the bedroom is on the third. But, it actually didn't bother us at all. It was well worth it for the price, the great location, and that awesome patio! =)


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Amsterdam Apartments

Please give us your feedback