X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jacobs Inn Reviews

21 Talbot Place, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
6871 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Stayed here for the third time and would do so again at any time! The staff is great! You can ask them whatever you want or for whatever you need and they'll help you! Rooms where good. In some of them the bathrooms defenitely need a revision (room 101). The bathrooms at the corridors are great. The breakfast was simple but still good (coffe, juice, milk, cereals and toasts with butter and jam).

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I've had an excellent stay at Jacobs Inn! The bedroom was clean, the location is perfect and the kitchen is very well equiped. The free breakfast is simple but very good (bread, butter, jam, juice, tea, milk and cereals).


83%

Generally Great stay in the hostel. Staff great and seemed genuinely interested in what you had been doing/were planning on doing. Could do with more seating at breakfast perhaps. & if the Gernans in our room could not sing happy birthday at 3.30am when we had to be up at 5.45 that would be great haha.

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Customer services is atrocious since whenever you need help, there are always only 2 staff on duty when there are queues of people needing help. The staff clearly don't have the good sense or morality to politely ask dumb guests taking up too much time to move on as others are waiting. I saw one guest visibly upset because he clearly needed help and I decided to step in. The staff are often rude an obnoxious. On my final day, they decided to change breakfast times so I missed it.


91%

Fantastic stay

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Excellent location, not much of an atmosphere in the hostel...we were having a couple of drinks in the common room when a staff member very obviously on a power trip came in with a chip on his shoulder. On returning home that night he again was extremely rude to us and took our keys from us and stated something along the lines of us being in the room with cameras??? whatever he meant by that! aside from that it was grand...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review ,.Sorry if you found the staff member rude,this should not be the case and we will look into this.

57%

Jacobs, as always is more interested in `profit' than the comfort of its guests, whom they clearly don't give a damn about. However, this is typical of the attitude of Dubliners. Groups or large party's should be told on arrival NOT to use areas such as the self catering kitchen together, since it deprives other guests. It was packed and claustrophobic. Surely this violates health and safety. As described, guests may be told to use the restaurant so Jacobs can maximize profit.


63%

The room was nice, enough space and the bathroom was clean. The atmosphere in the hostel is not really good, the hostel is very big and it's not easy to meet people except people in your room. The location is ok, it's a 15 minutes walk to the city centre. The breakfast is simple but ok. There is a free walking tour every day, really nice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback if you found it difficult to meet people . Usually the Guest Kitchen is a great spot for social interaction .We are changing the layout in the Hostel later this year and we think this will help the atmosphere. If only people would put their phones down and chat more !

69%

Very noisy at night and poor breakfast compared to other hostels Staff very helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you liked the staff . Sorry if you found it noisy we do offer ear plugs for lighter sleepers.The bedrooms and corridors should be quiet after 11 which is the Houserule . Free Breakfast is light and simple but you can always cook in Guest kitchen if you need something more substantial

97%

Was a large hostel with very clean facilities


94%

My agenda while in Ireland was very full, so I did not spend too much time in the hostel. However, I was blown away by how secure I felt when entering the hostel at night. I haven't seen a hostel require so much in order to enter, which made me feel safe! Thank you!

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good to hear you felt safe !

80%

Good hostel, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was basic but appreciated! Would be handy to have lockers in the rooms for valuables etc

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Does exactly what it says on the tin. Clean,basic and easy to get into the city.would deffo use again.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Deffo come back please !

49%

It seemed nicer in the photos.. It's much more uglier irl. Too crowded... Staff was a bit weird..

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing . We are not sure which staff you mean by weird so it would be great if you could provide more detail please?

91%

Staff were SO helpful. Shower was cracking / falling apart -I cut my finger. Because loo, sinks & shower all in an en suite room; someone showers no one can pee / someone poops, no one can shower! It's just the worst arrangement for 12 strangers. I exclusively used the corridor / reception loos & shower. Only 2 power sockets for 12 people. With the sockets next to the bed of two guests. What if they don't want your phone in their bed? Put the desk by the socket for goodness sake.

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Rooms are nice and clean. We were in a 12 bed dorm and people were reasonably considerate and generally it was quiet at night time. Common areas are quite run down and the breakfast area could do with a bit of cleaning. The sitting room was very uninviting - dark and dull. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review . We are making some refurbishment to the Hostel this year which is exciting and hope you will come back for a look

94%

good hostel


94%

Thank you Michael and Zoltan for your lovely and friendly service so late at night!

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We will pass on your comments to the lovely duo !

74%

Location was great, staff was really helpful and friendly. Was a little disappointed that there were not lockers in the room and that there was only one outlet in the entire dorm room. Breakfast is just toast and cornflakes, so if you are a breakfast eater, you may want to buy food to cook for yourself.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for great feedback . Good news we are installing lockers to all rooms later this year and extra Electrical sockets are being installed now

94%

The staff was engaging and helpful. The self catering kitchen was huge and a large SPAR grocery around the corner.. Continental breakfast average but sufficient. Rooms were very clean and when we reported a minor plumbing problem it was dealt with immediately. Public transportation (LUAS) outside the door, located on the edge of city center near docks. Diverse clientele - families, backpackers, school groups ( and our Girl Scout Troop ). Many layers of key card security. Great value.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed, Thanks a million

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(260 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback