X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jacobs Inn Reviews

21 Talbot Place, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
6762 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Stayed for one night and would not stay anywhere else in Dunblin again! I paid 12 Euro which included breakfast so nothing else to say!

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

This was a really disappointing hostel mainly on account of the staff. Except for a few helpful staff, the rest were unhelpful and even condescending, far from the friendliness Ireland is known for. One guy at the reception literally told me "the answer to your question is so obvious I can't even address it". While having to change rooms every single night was an annoying challenge, the staff's overall attitude was just plain upsetting. Of all the hostels I've rated, this one came out the lowest


94%

Wow what a great fun and safe first hostel to ever stay at in Europe! Whatever you do don't miss the backpackers pub crawl for twelve euro... So much fun!!!!

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Everything was perfect...just wish they'd had single rooms available. But definitely a pleasant experience for the price and excellent location!!

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Stayed here one night before flying out of Dublin. Tons of kitchen space, beds were comfortable. Lots of people around, so it's a great place if you're travelling alone. The location is not right in the middle of everything, but it's not far to walk to Temple Bar area. My only complaint would be the taps in the sinks. They spray water everywhere and don't seem to be very Eco-friendly. Other than that, great stay.


100%

Simple but delicious breakfast made for a great start to the day. Conveniently located close to city center (like a five minute walk) and maybe 90 second walk away from train station. Bus from the airport drops you off about 30 meters from hostel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Bed was clean and comfortable!


74%

All in all it was alright.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

great stay, friendly people, u can feel relaxed here, i like to stay here and i would reccomend.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Come back and relax some more soon!

94%

Great hostel went to dublin for script concert in croke park walking distance to venue and city centre. Clean rms and great value for money although there were a few weird alarms during the nite overall would use this hostel again

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Just something small. The pillows were a bit flat.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
However small its useful feedback ! We will look at new ones where needed

91%

This was the first hostel I stayed during my first solo backpacking trip. It was great! It has a lot to offer including a free daily walking tour, wifi, free breakfast. The location is super convenient - not even a minute from the Luas. I definitely recommend this place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you hostel virgin - glad you enjoyed your first time !

77%

Pleasant stay for a weekend. Security was good, and staff were helpful. Everything was clean but the room was a bit sparse - a bath mat and a bedside lamp would have greatly improved the experience.

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your review . Bath mats for the private rooms we are now ordering- thank you for the suggestion!

100%

Very good hostel.

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Jacob's Inn itself felt secure, but the area around it felt a little bit restless at night. Staff was very nice, Wi-Fi excellent.

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Had a great stay here. The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms were all updated and really nice. Staff were nice and helpful. Good size hostel - lots of people around to meet but not so big that it's noisy all night. Location was the only downside, you have to catch the tram to see a lot of the main sights but that's not a big deal since it's right next to a station. It also is right next to the railroad tracks which can be loud if you're on that side of the building.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your great feedback.Please note that we do offer ear plugs for lighter sleepers if trains disturb you. We will not deny the railway line is close but it does not run through the night, and we have great transport connections here and all over the city and Ireland !

89%

Very helpful staff. Good location close to the central bus station.


100%

No complaints! Showers in the room - fantastic. Kitchen was clean. People were friendly. Staff were helpful. Lockers were HUGE. Centrally located. Highly recommend!


83%

The most comfortable bed I've had at a hostel. Enjoyable breakfast and relatively clean. The walking tour was a great experience. The staff seemed to barely tolerate my presence though, I must have just caught them on a bad day.

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It was way better than I expected. I feel like I was staying in a hotel for a great price. Next time I'm in Dublin I will be staying at Jacobs Inn.

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much- we aim to please !

89%

I would definitely recommend this hostel. Great value for money, on walking distance from the centrum of the city, great staff and I just had a wonderful time! I will certainly visit this hostel again next time I'm in Dublin :)

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wonderful review.. thanks !

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(230 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback