Hostelworld.com

Jacobs Inn

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 7,703 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 7,703 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
Jacobs Inn Located at 21 Talbot Place, , Dublin.
Jacobs Inn
Ireland
Dublin D1 21 Talbot Place
83% 7703
53.3507562 -6.2516069
Jacobs Inn
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Apr 2016
8.9

-Expensive and it does not has any atmosphere to go out at nights nor for tours during the day (to consider if you are travelling by yourself). - Clean and good dorms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2016
8.3

Very well run hostel close to the main bus station. Convenient if you need to go to the airport or take a long distance bus. Rooms are clean and modern, quite comfortable though perhaps a little less friendly than traditional hostels since every bed has a privacy curtain and these are always drawn. Of course that's a good thing in other ways. Security was strong, with much swiping of cards and clicking of buttons to get anywhere - perhaps this was a bit overdone, it quickly became a nuisance.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2016
9.4

Stayed for two nights. The staff was super friendly and very chatty. Overall very modern and clean. Breakfast was good. Shared a dorm with 3 lovely people and thought the general atmosphere was quite nice and friendly. The area can be a bit dodgy at night but as long as you're not walking around on your own it's fine. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Apr 2016
9.7

Overall it's nice, there are more choices for breakfast than other hostels. The hostel is close to the bus stop to Airport, which is very nice. Just that the price for Friday night is expensive and so I can't give 10 marks for this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks so much for your great feedback , sorry we coiuld not do a chaepeer deal on the Friday- just weekends are so busy and high demand. Midweek is great value if you can be flexible!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Apr 2016
9.4

the curtains on the bunks are a nice touch! aswell as personal bed light and 2 power sockets. decent location. good local pubs. good little pizza take away round the corner

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
10.0

Fantastic place to stay, I will be back 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2016
9.1

We had a 4 bedroom private suite. The room and bathroom is VERY clean. Lots of space for luggages and even a closet to hang our jackets up. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic. Toasts, jam, cereal, coffee and juices! It was in a very good location, very closed to Busaras bus terminal and closed to shops. Felt safe, however, the cleaning staffs were very noisy in the a.m and the maintenance workers were banging, talking while fixing the Place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much , So, delighred you enjoyed . Very sorry about the noise on the corridors we have just finished a refurbishment of the hostel so there has been a bit of noise but usually not before 930am

31st Mar 2016
5.7

The staff was unhelpful and rude about storing luggage. In an ensuite room the sinks and shower and toilet are all in the same place making it difficult for 9 people to get ready at once. The showers only run for five seconds and then you have to press the button again. The location made for an easy walk to city center.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We notrnally get such great comments about our staff and we will address this . We do have some additional showers being added now in the corridors should there be a wait for the ensuite bathroom. Push buttom showers are to do our bit for the enviorment but 5sec seems very quick and we will look into the settings . Thanks fnr your feedback

31st Mar 2016
4.6

Would not recommend – showers only run for five seconds and so you constantly have to keep pushing for water, room set up is awful, some of the staff were nice but one guy at the front was so rude to customers it was ridiculous. One of the worst hostile experiences I had while backpacking through Europe.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are very sorry to hear this and it is highly unusual that staff would be unhelpul we will address this immediately .

  • samanthaecu
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
9.7

I enjoyed my stay here. I booked a 4 person private and the room was large with plenty of room for all 4 of our suitcases. The bathroom and room were very clean. It was only about a 6 minute walk to the Spire. The next time I'm in Dublin I'll stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.