Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jaffa Gate Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 785 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 785 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2017
9.4

Great place to stay - the heart of Jerusalem

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
8.9

It is an old traditional house and it was lovely to stay in the old city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Apr 2017
8.9

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Would stay here again since it has an amazing location in the Old City and was just a short walk to the main tram line and by where the tours meet.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Apr 2017
6.3

Great location, staff really helpful. Very expensive however, for what it is... basic rooms. Could be a lot cleaner.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
10.0

It feels like a home . The room there is beautiful and everything is very convenient.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2017
8.6

Quiet, relaxing atmosphere, loved the stonework in the rooms. It's easy to find with the directions and location is spot on for being in the old city. There were no lockers in the room but the staff locked my bags up in the closet while I was out during the day. They were very friendly and helpful with getting a sherut for the morning. I'd stay here again if ever I come back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
9.7

Less than one minute walk from entry to the old city makes location perfect. Several common areas inside and out allow you to read or relax by yourself when you want to. Three stories up small old stove in small kitchen works but at night good to have a flashlight since light switch is broken. Every morning and night had warm to hot water. Building is old so has character and view from terrace is nice. Security lockers in the dorm rooms would be an improvement.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
7.7

PROS: - amaizing staff. very helpfull and attentive - fantastic location right on the edge of the old city CONS - very cold. They will give extra blankets which is plenty, but it's too cold to sit around in bed or on the couch - kitchen needs a bit of work

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2017
9.1

Wifi not available in our room, only on the ground floor. Rooms unheated (in winter), but there was a little heater in the room. Warm and cold water connected in the wrong way. Took some time to figure this out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
8.3

Staff was great, they helped me with my questions and my plans. Overall stay was good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.