X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jailhouse Accommodation Christchurch Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2733 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Hostel is very clean and the architecture is cool but the atmosphere is not the best. Not easy to make friends and there isn't a friendly atmosphere


100%

Sadly we were only imprisoned for one night then escaped. During our short sentence we were unable to use all the facilities, but could see clearly that those inmates already used to the regime were comfortable with it. Well Done. Fred M (England)

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Jailhouse was a unique hostel experience as it was fun to stay in an old building. The facilities were good, it's not too far of a walk into downtown (approx 20-30 min) and there's a great coffee shop right down the road, Addington Coffee Co-op


100%

Great hostel accommodation, I would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends!

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

It was really cool staying in a converted jail which still managed to be cosy and not creepy at all, there are even a few original cells. The kitchen was excellent, open 24/7 with the best equipment I've come across in hostels. There is a movie showing every night and Netflix available which was lovely for a chilled evening. We hired bikes they had too and cycled around the beautiful parks. There is also free wifi although only 500MB worth which unfortunately isn't enough for FaceTime/Skype.

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for taking the time to rate our hostel.We're so pleased that you had a great time in Jail! With regards to the wifi, we offer a complimentary 500mb voucher at check in and then there are further vouchers available at check in at fantastic low rates. It's $5 for 5gb and just $10 for 15gb. Thanks again and we hope to see you in Jail very soon. Kind regards The Jailhouse Team

91%

Really cool hostel


80%

I my opinion the best hostel in Christchurch but I haven't seen that many. The jailhouse itself is just cool. I've stood there for the Foo Fighters concert in February and while travelling through last weekend, the AMI arena and the railway station are very close. The rest of the city is rather far away although you could possibly get there quickly by bus.

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I really only have one suggestion. During my 5 day stay they were painting the staircase railing. This releaaed what I consider to be harmful fumes from the paint. Having this work completed during the summer would have allowed the windows to be opened so that the area could have been properly ventilated. Paint releases many toxic fumes and we need to reduce our intake of these.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your rating. We can see from your high score that you enjoyed your stay overall and we're really pleased. We're so sorry about the painting.Unfortunately we're not able to open any of the windows in the atrium area where the staircase is and realize it's impossible to completely escape the paint fumes.Being open 365 days a year there isn't really a good time to do it either. Our Painters worked as quickly as possible to finish the work to minimize any discomfort to guests.

89%

Very cool place. Clean bathrooms, hot showers, comfy beds.


86%

A 30 minute walk from town and the supermarkets but clean very spacious and a novel stay for anyone who likes quirk.


83%

Is nice and friendly staff...

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Lockers that fit a Backpack would be great. Great building Lovely and helpful staff A long walk from the bus station Big supermarket is 20 minute walk away


86%

A unique and fun experience

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved it!


43%

Dont stay here if dont absolutely have too, the staff are doing there best but they arent up to the task keeping the hostel clean & tidy They have some kind of cleaning scheme on the wall but it doesent help, toilets, showers and kithen are very dirty This place have also absolutely no atmospere at all - no one talks to or socializing with you ,just people hunkering down on their phones/Ipads and waiting to move on to other places/citys

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your rating and sorry you didn't find our communal facilities up to standard. Our cleaning team intensively clean the bathrooms, toilets & kitchen every day. It's checked again by cleaning supervisors and again in the afternoon/evening. In between those times we hope that guests respect fellow inmates & clean up after themselves-it may not have been the case on that day. There was a rugby match on the night of your stay & a lot of guests attended so the hostel may have been quieter

94%

Unique hostel, excellent staff!


91%

Only stayed one night during the fall, so it was a pretty quiet stay. Lovely place to stay with great character, good facilities and comfy beds. Would like to stay during a busier time to be able to meet more people next time!


80%

Best showers I've ever seen in a hostel. Movies and free popcorn every night. Plenty of outlets and your own reading lamp. The beds didn't squeak at all and plenty of room for storage!


83%

Beautiful hostel with great facilities. A bit of a walk from the city centre but worth it in terms of atmosphere and cosiness.


94%

Its a cool hostel, facilities are everything you need in a hostel, plays films for free aswell in the cinema room with free popcorn, free wifi too which is rare in NZ good place definetly recommend


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(147 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback