Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jailhouse Accommodation Christchurch

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 3,253 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 3,253 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
Jailhouse Accommodation Christchurch Located at 338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch.
Jailhouse Accommodation Christchurch
New Zealand
Christchurch Canterbury 8024 338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch
86% 3253
-43.5430112 172.6134753
Jailhouse Accommodation Christchurch
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
8.0

Jailhouse was great and with full facilities that I required during the period of my stay in Christchurch. Warden was very friendly, flexible & gave good recommendation on travel route. Thank you for having me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
6.3

Cool hostel to stay in for the building, wifi isn't great as signal isn't strong, proberly due to the concrete walls...but its fine in front lounge area. Hostel isn't doesn't have much of an atmosphere when I was there, most people seemed to be travelling in groups rather than individuals. Could be great in the right circumstances.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
10.0

Amazing staff, very helpful and located in a nice out of the way spot in Christchurch. I will be staying again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
7.1

They don't have security box in the dorm room only in the common space. It was no good staying dorm room. But I recommend for another people, the place is quite handy and staff are so helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thank you so much for taking the time to rate our hostel. The 6 bed dorm that you were staying in does have lockers and they are big enough to accommodate a backpack. You just need your own padlock to secure it. We have padlocks for sale in reception if a guest does not have their own. We also have $2 lockers available in our lower atrium area as another option. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you in Jail again soon! Kind regards, The Jailhouse Team

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
9.4

The Jailhouse was very different to anywhere we had stayed before but we really liked it! The room was clean but pretty small- perfect for our one night stay. We slept really well because it was so quiet and the bed was comfortable. The shared shower/ toilet areas were really clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Aug 2016
7.7

Great building and original theme and idea, but everything else was pretty average. The wifi didn't reach to the room, the showers ran cold. The opening times for reception were unavailable so when I turned up and rang the bell I woke somebody up - awkward.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Aug 2016
8.6

Nice place to stay in Christchurch. Not in the center of town but you can walk there in 20 min or so. I was there in winter so not much of an atmosphere. Most people just passing through.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
8.3

Cool that it is an old jail. Only thing is my wallet got stolen here although it is

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
8.0

Very good! I would stay there again. I only enjoyed a brief incarceration this time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
9.1

I love jailhouse, I have stayed here on four separate occasions. The historical building is amazing and the rooms/kitchen/shared guest lounge are clean. I'm worried about the cleanliness of the bathrooms though. It seems to have declined.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thank you so much for taking the time to rate our hostel. We're so sorry to hear about your partner being unwell during your last stay with us. Our bathrooms get an intensive and thorough clean every day and as you noticed they are also checked, restocked and if necessary cleaned again throughout the day and evening. We really strive to maintain the highest standards of cleanliness in all areas of our hostel and we encourage guests to let staff know straight away if the bathrooms need attention- we hope you were able to alert them on that day. Once again thank you for your valuable feedback.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.