X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jailhouse Accommodation Christchurch Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2792 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Friendly staff and clean facility?

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great Staff, both girls I spoke with at the front desk were helpful and friendly. It was a perfect location as well to walk to see the All Blacks at AMI Stadium


91%

excellent atmosphere,just like the real thing!! child friendly which is KA PAI!

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

An okay hostel with a cool history. The only problem is that it does get REALLY cold in the winter. No heaters in the individual rooms, although the hostel does try to help by providing thick blankets and a hot water bottle. Just be warned about the temperature in winter.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel. It's great to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay! We're sorry to hear that you felt cold in Jail. Our communal lounge is kept warm and toasty at all times with a gas heater and the guest rooms have central heating, set to come on at the coldest times of day and night. We also provide hot water bottles and extra duvets in all rooms. Thanks again for your valuable feedback

77%

overall it was a good hostel but i wont stay there again in winter as the place has no heating. thank you

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malta
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel. It's great to hear that you really enjoyed our facilities! We're sorry to hear that you felt cold in Jail. Our communal lounge is kept warm and toasty at all times with a gas heater and the guest rooms have central heating, set to come on at the coldest times of day and night. We also provide hot water bottles and extra duvets in all rooms. Thanks again for your valuable feedback

94%

Amazing place. Great staff. Bed was pretty uncomfortable . Otherwise we enjoyed our stay. Would recommend to friends for something a bit different :-)

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Really nice hostel, I just stayed one night but I will definitely come back if I go ever back to Christchurch. The facilities of the hostel are amazing!! It's so cool to sleep wondering what type of prisoner was sleeping in your room years ago lol. The guy at the reception was very friendly!! There were even people checking in super late and he was really nice. And the price was excellent considering I was just sharing my room with one person.


80%

Really good. The only issue was that we had to be up early and people were outside on the tables speaking really loudly until late. Really shame there isn't a bigger lounge area for people to go to after 10pm. Staff were really helpful and excellent.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for rating our hostel. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall. We agree that our atrium area where guest rooms are situated does echo even with small sounds due to the acoustics of such a big building. We make every effort to reduce noise by making it a quiet zone after 9pm/ before 8am. We encourage guests to move to our 2nd lounge by reception during this time. We also have a buzzer on our desk to call the Night Warden should guests require help with any noise issues.

89%

Overall good experience. A lot of people working so not really a traveling vibe more leaning towards long termers. Clean and nice


94%

Great atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff. DVD range was excellent, and WiFi was crystal clear. Signage from the main road could be clearer.

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Totally recommend Jailhouse, the best tie I've ever had in prison :)

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely place with great staff. The fasciliites are great and the special touches make it a lovely place to stay. It is a short walk into the city and the beds are very comfortable.


77%

If I wasn't stuck traffic I'd missed it! Signage is a must! Internet was slow 5pm on and the advertised Netflix seemed to work because of internet jams! Extremely unique setting, everything you need and staff were more than willing to help me find way!

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for rating our hostel. Great to know that overall you enjoyed your stay. Jailhouse is tucked down a driveway but we do have a sign (illuminated at night) out on the roadside. Sorry you had problems with Netflix. Your review has prompted us to do some testing and it can sometimes take a few minutes to load at high internet usage times but once loaded it works fine with no interruptions. Thanks again for your valuable feedback The Jailhouse Team

91%

Loved it! Have spare blankets, hot water bottles, hair dryers! Well stocked kitchen, nice showers, comfy beds, clean. Staff were lovely. Will definitely be staying again!


89%

We enjoyed the authenticity of the hostel, the room was a bit cold with a draft from the window but bedding was nice and warm and there was a hot water bottle to be used :-) Nice shower but no shelf to put your toiletries on and lack or place to put your cloths and towel while you shower. Good value for money and good location.


89%

Cool hostel! Loved that it was an old jail. Only stayed for one night but facilities seemed good


86%

A unique accommodation once an actual jail. I believe they don't have to come out with better marketing strategy. The accommodation is very clean, among the best of my stay in New Zealand. Room is very spacious too. However, wifi will be charged after the first free 500mb data which I think today it's completely a necessity for travellers. Better to sit in Burger King restaurant next to the building for unlimited and super fast wifi than paying the Internet data in jailhouse. Overall, very good


80%

We were locked up for one night and enjoyed our stay. We went for the jailhouse theme and they really delivered on that! They has netflix and tones of movies which was awesome! The facilities were quite clean. The only downfall was that the entire common areas are freezing!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel. It's great to hear that you really enjoyed our facilities! We're sorry to hear that you felt cold in Jail. Our communal lounge is kept warm and toasty at all times with a gas heater and the guest rooms have central heating, set to come on at the coldest times of day and night. We also provide hot water bottles and extra duvets in all rooms. Thanks again for your valuable feedback The Jailhouse Team

77%

The Hotel seems good and clean. I would say the staff is really nice and help me find the shuttle bus. Thank you.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Jailhouse was great. A real historic jail with historic bars on the windows. Wow!

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(132 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback