Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jailhouse Accommodation Christchurch

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 3,326 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 3,326 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
Jailhouse Accommodation Christchurch Located at 338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch.
Jailhouse Accommodation Christchurch
New Zealand
Christchurch Canterbury 8024 338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch
85% 3326
-43.5430112 172.6134753
Jailhouse Accommodation Christchurch
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Dec 2016
4.6

The young man at the desk had difficulty with speaking English. He was new, didn't explain what facilities were available and didn't know where to find my room. I'm used to being told I'm too old to stay at some hostels, but this is the first where there crying babies were allowed to stay. The bathroom/shower on the main floor was filthy. It hadn't been cleaned, the toilet was awful. And there is no overnight staff on duty. Only good thing was the being close to bus stop, good restaurants

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Dec 2016
9.7

Great place to stay, highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Dec 2016
10.0

What I call a perfect hostel. Not only is the concept unique (and it works really well living in a jail), but it is also so perfectly maintained and professionally run. Located right close to city centre, wifi is free and works awesome, everything is provided and works well (showers, kitchen, power plugs) and the staff are super friendly and professional. Overall, 10 on 10.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Nov 2016
8.0

Cool place for the novelty of it. The beds were nice and the kitchen is great, plenty of room for all. The staff is nice, although the first young lady who checked us in knew nothing about the area and wasn't super helpful but then thankfully a different staff member helped us the rest of the time and was very knowledgable and friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Nov 2016
9.1

A bit far from the center but the hostel has all up-to-date installation, although being a former prison the security looks not to be enforced but being a bit far from the center and the street, their is not a lot of people coming in and out. Being a prison I think booking for 2 people would be perfect so you can have a cell for yourself.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
9.4

This place was super cool. It really felt like a jail but in an awesome way. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is inviting (especially for a prison). The room and bathroom for super clean and made for a great stay. Definitely stay here if you want a cool place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2016
9.1

I really liked the feel the place. The rooms were a bit cramped but that is to be expected since they were previously cells. The kitchen was very huge and easy to use. The staff was very very helpful and they went out of their way to assist me. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • henryjames94
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Nov 2016
7.1

Very cool concept and definitely worth a stay for a good experience! Bathrooms a bit dirty and also the kitchen, but staff are brilliant and very helpful / friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
7.4

I found the Managmen of the hostel great. I arrived later in the evening just before 9pm and was the 2nd person to arrive in my 2 bed dorm. I recently had knee surgery and find it impossible to get in and out of top bunk. Staff was excellent in finding a solution. However, the location of the hostel is far 25-30 min walk to center of town and the train station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
7.7

It's a cool place to stay. I recommended a friend to stay here as well after I left and he did! It was awesome for him too. However, the pool area was a bit loud for those whose rooms are near the cinema room and pool area. But overall, keep up the good work! Will definitely come back here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.