Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jailhouse Accommodation Christchurch

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 3448 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 3448 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • adaraenthaler9522
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
8.9

The history and aesthetic made this a really cool place to stay, and the facilities were satisfactory. It was nice to only have to share the room with one other person, and the free wifi was really strong, so I was able to watch Netflix in my cell while I fought off a cold.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Mar 2017
9.4

Overall, very good hostel. Facilities were great, kitchen had everything you need, apart from maybe an extra sink. The rooms and toilets were very clean, and the beds comfy. The hot water bottles and towels were a very nice touch. The wifi is excellent, reached our room well even which the door locked. Very cool hostel. The only slightly annoying thing is that it is quiet at nine, which I think is an hour too early, but that's me being picky.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
19th Mar 2017
9.1

Jailhouse was a really cool place to stay. The rooms were spacious and comfortable with a light and power outlet in each bunk. Guest rooms and common areas all really clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is a pool table, cinema room and TV room with Netflix and a good selection of films. Location is a little way out from the centre but still walking distance and area feels safe. The historical aspect of the building is also pretty cool. I would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
8.0

The bathrooms weren't very user friendly but everything was good otherwise.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Mar 2017
9.1

Interesting hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2017
9.4

This was such a cool hostel!!!! 😄😄😄😄 I really loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Mar 2017
9.4

Quirky nice place which isn't too big so the kitchen doesn't get too messy. Staff are really lovely and helpful helping to book my airport shuttle. Wifi worked well. Down side it's a 30 min walk to town. Also the main area is quite echoey which makes it noisy when inconsiderate guests come back late and shout across the balcony. I would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there and thank you for such a fantastic rating. We're glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. The walk into town is especially nice if you walk through beautiful Hagley Park but for those not wanting to walk in there is a frequent bus service running right past the hostel which takes only 10 mins into the centre and costs $4 with a free 2 hour transfer or return. We also have cheap bike hire here at the hostel ($10 half day and $15 full day inc lock and helmet) which is a fun and fast way to get around town. We're sorry to hear that there were some noise issues on the night you stayed. We have a strict no noise policy between 9pm-8am in our atrium area where all guest rooms are situated. We have lots of signage up to remind guests but we realize that sometimes don't adhere to the rule and that because of the acoustics of the building that even small sounds can carry far. We do have a Night Warden on call all night (can be reached by call button on front desk) if guests are being disturbed by noise issues. Thanks once again for your valuable feedback. We're so pleased to hear that you would definitely stay again and hope to see you in Jail soon! Kind regards, The Jailhouse Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
8.9

Try towntonic across the road for food if you fancy treating yourself

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
9.7

Really cool place. Full of history and atmosphere. Quite a young vibe but not too rowdy. Great facilities, including a well equipped kitchen, showers and a place to leave your bags for a while once you've checked out. Wish we could have stayed longer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
5.4

Overrated

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.