Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jailhouse Accommodation Christchurch

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 3536 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 3536 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • sokratees9
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
11th Jun 2017
8.9

Really like the place, but was a bit quiet, due to it being low season and it's not that central, but probably fine if you want a cheap place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jun 2017
10.0

Superb place to stay and visit christchurch

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
9.4

It was great to stay at the jail and what surprises me most was that it was actually toasty warm and cost. Great atmosphere and very nice people working there!! We loved it and will be back , for sure!.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2017
6.9

Rooms were very cold, even with heater going. Fun experience though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there and thank you so much for taking the time to rate our hostel. We're glad to hear you had fun in Jail but sorry that you felt that the room was cold. We do have central heating in all guest rooms which is set to come on in the evenings and mornings when it is coldest. We also have panel heaters in each 'cell' which are designed to keep the room at a comfortable temperature. We hope you also found the extra duvets and hot water bottles in your room cupboard. Once again thanks for taking the time to give us valuable feedback. Kind regards, The Jailhouse Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
9.1

Great experience! Perfect way to experience a night in jail without breaking the law! Thanks for a great stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • joosiej85
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th May 2017
7.1

Average hostel. Convenient for the train station but a bit of a walk into town. Clean and warm, facilities are decent, staff were lovely. Not much atmosphere but what do you expect in prison! Kitchen is very small and cramped. Mattress was hard and supremely uncomfortable, I had such a bad back when I got up!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th May 2017
9.1

Pretty cool hostel. They take care of the most important things: make Long you feel comfortable. Thanks!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2017
8.6

The rooms are a bit small, which is expected as many are 2 beds dorms from a jail. Staff is helpful and the movie rooms are good size

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • HarrietHarper1
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th May 2017
9.4

We really liked the Jailhouse - the dorms were nicely done and very clean and the kitchens were a good size and kept clean and tidy. There's also a great TV room and pool table! Only downsides were the bathrooms were very cold and a bit dated, and it's not very central (although the walk town is through a park, so quite pleasant!)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th May 2017
8.9

Once in a lifetime experience to live in an actual jail! It was very interesting. The showers could have been a lot cleaner but overall the bathrooms were clean and well kept. Great atmosphere with very helpful & friendly staff. In short I enjoyed my stay at the Jailhouse.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.