Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jailhouse Accommodation Christchurch

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 3593 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 3593 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Aug 2017
9.7

This was probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Aug 2017
10.0

definitely be coming back. great place to stay great location lots of history behind the old jail

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
8.9

A really cool stay, unique and memorable. There's extra blankets, pillows and hairdryer dog you want it. The kitchen is nice, they do a great job of keeping the place clean and they run it very efficiently. The staff and knowledgeable about the area... I love the location because the walk to town (not that short of a walk) takes you past the park and botanical gardens, bars and suburban shops nearby. A little chilly, but it was winter! They give free hot water bottles though which is lovely!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
8.9

Super friendly staff and very helpful. Staying in an old jailhouse was unique and a fun experience!! Would love to come back if we're ever in the area :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2017
9.4

This is genuinely one of the best hostels I've stayed in. Not just it was a prison, the staff are so lovely (and their recommendations top notch), the rooms spacious and clean, wifi so strong, nice common area(s) and tv room; but the fact that they've left a couple of cells in their original preserved condition (with prisoner writing and drawings still on the wall and everything), almost acting as a mini museum, paying homage to the previous 'occupants'. Heads up its a slight walk out of town

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2017
10.0

Fantastic spot, loved having free hot water bottles as well. The staff are fantastic and showed us all the best spots to visit!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jul 2017
9.1

Clean and quirky hostel! Really nice staff and good facilities. Not in the city centre but only a short walk away :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2017
9.4

Great hostel, with a cool vibe to it. Great facilities and great kitchen. Cool experience to say you have stayed in a prison

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
10.0

Thank you so much for your hospitality. A friendly face makes all the difference.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2017
8.9

Overall, I thought the Jailhouse was a fine experience. I only stayed for one night though. My only complaint is that the beds were very thin, and I could feel the springs digging into my back all night. Also, the bed frames were slightly small, and I did not quite fit in the lower bunk, resulting in a crooked night of sleep (I'm average in height).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there and thank you so much for taking the time to give us some valuable feedback. We're really glad that that on the whole that you enjoyed your time in Jail but so sorry to hear that you didn't find the bed to be comfortable. The beds are a standard single bed length and width and our mattresses are standard thickness. We take our guests comfort very seriously and we only wish we had known about it so we could have rectified it for you straight away. We generally get very positive feedback about how comfortable our beds are so your comments have prompted us to carry out a check on all our mattresses. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon, Kind regards, The Jailhouse team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.