X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jailhouse Accommodation Christchurch Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3000 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

The lady at the front desk was so helpful and told us where to go and what to see.


83%

Nice hostel, great idea. Staff are friendly and helpful. Only bad thing to say is the internet did not work at all when we stayed there.


69%

It was a bit further out of town than I had anticipated. I thought it was overpriced for facility. Maybe the Lonely Planet made it popular, but I would not stay there again.

  • 8th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

My room was clean and quiet and the staff were very friendly. The Wi-Fi was atrocious though.

  • 7th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

It was super cool to stay in an old jail. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable.


86%

Great backpacker, with a unique concept. Loved the renovated jailhouse theme. The facilities are clean and there are multiple places to chill out on site (a cinema, lounge, pool table). You only get a limited amount of wifi for free, which is a drawback, though.


66%

One of the reception staff members was very kind clear and informative. One was too busy with a personal phone to listen properly.


77%

Jailhouse had clean facilities and had wifi which was great ,a communal room with tv would be good The accomadation is a bit far from city centre so a bit walk is needed

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Anyone who is first time to Christchurch...it would be good experience to stay at this hotel.... I like it...

  • 25th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome! So clean. Quiet. Secure. Helpful and friendly staff. Awesome kitchen facilities and movie room. Toilet in dorm room was so good. Highly recommend!


100%

Friendly , informative , clean ,safe, good location . Can not fault , will stay again.

  • 18th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

A truly unique hostel with a great atmosphere.


89%

Showers were being refurbished so had to time showering so as not to go at a busy time, but otherwise spending a night in jail was surprisingly fun!


86%

I LOVED the athmosphere!! So nice to visit a prison and be a "inmate" for a couple of days :)) very clean place too.


86%

An affordable option for budget-minded travellers close to facilities (restaurants, buses) with helpful staff and suitably quiet for jet-lagged folk.

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

stunning hostel, beaut concept, one of the nicest ive stayed, highly reccommend

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

A unique place to stay. Well set out for able bodied people on the top floor.

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Honestly I was unimpressed with this place. It's WAY out of the city center, didn't have a great atmosphere, wifi didnt work too well, and the staff seemed a bit rude. I wanted to like this place based on the ratings... but I would skip it.


77%

Con: SUPER Greedy with WIFI!!!!!!!!didn't like the showers too much Pros: The cool thing about this place is the obvious (it's a prison) The rooms are clean, you have your own crate for food and beds are assigned....... 1 night is good enough.


97%

Really good hostel. Clean and friendly staff.


(95 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback