X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jailhouse Accommodation Christchurch Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3000 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Tyler was the best


100%

This was a fantastic place to stay. Very cool vibe and nice staff also.

  • 12th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The best hostel I visited over the last 11 months. Clean, comfy, lots of clever stuff I haven't seen in an other hostel (e.g. glowing bed numbers - you don't need any light for finding your bed in the night) and the great jailhouse atmosphere. Go there! Even though you need to walk ten minutes to get to the city center.


86%

Really great place. Fun. Different. Great location to nearby bars and cafés.

  • 7th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Expensive for a what basically is a prison cell. Zero atmosphere and ex quiet. Would be nice to get something like free bike hire if paying for a private 'cell'


94%

Lovely place to stay. Great friendly atmosphere and clean

  • 4th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Overall it was alright, good for a few nights. I think there is more appeal to the unique experience of staying in a jail rather than overall value for money/facilities. Staff were very friendly and helpful though. Fair walk into the central area of the city too. I wouldn't recommend staying for a long period of time.

  • 31st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

the free wi fi voucher was not mentioned at reception the fact that the bathrooms are on a different floor is not super practical

  • 30th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

This is such a novel place to stay. An actual old Jail, bedrooms are cells, it's really cool. Not quite central to Christchurch but on a nice day is a reasonable walk. However, only up the road from the train station which is handy. The free wifi is limited. Extra duvets provided. Overall I'd recommend this place for the uniqueness.


94%

It was a little bit chaotic with painting going on, but still a fantastic place to stay. I appreciate that space in the room was very limited - but just feel that power outlets by the bed would be very useful (in the days of everyone having a cellphone and those cellphones only lasting a day on battery). Some sort of night light would also be very nice. On the whole it was a fantastic place to stay, the staff service was exceptional. The free WiFi was a key factor in chosing Jailhouse.

  • 28th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Pretty cool place to stay to make a change from the usual hostel environments. Clean and comfortable. Good kitchen space and general facilities. Unfortunately one of the staff members was quite rude about a payment mix up which was disappointing as we enjoyed our stay here. Probably wouldn't stay again, more of a one off experience and would look for somewhere cheaper if we were staying for more than 1 night.


89%

Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Location is a bit of a walk from CBD, but not too bad. Enough nearby amenities for food and traveler supplies. Clean facilities, pleasant atmosphere and a nice range of 'extras' such as the theater room and pool table.


89%

It was a fun and unusual stay in an old jailhouse turned to hostel. I stayed in a 2 bed room which was understandably small since it used to be a cell but it was clean and comfortable. The long and high hallway echoes a lot though so it might make it harder to sleep if there are people coming and going. It's a bit further away from the center but close to the railway station for those who wish to take the TranzAlpine train. Also, it had the most loveliest cafe, Coffee Culture, right next to it.

  • 18th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Surprised when booking online we were charged in US$ when everything on the website was in NZ$. Consequently ended up paying credit card conversion fees.

  • 16th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for rating our hostel. Our booking engine is powered by Hostelworld. They use US Dollars for the deposit as it is the most commonly used currency worldwide. Unfortunately it is not something we are able to change, but they have assured us that it is very clear to see that it is in US dollars before you proceed with the booking payment. Once again thank you for your valuable feedback. Kind regards The Jailhouse team

80%

Quite impressed thank you


83%

I was quite impressed overall. Was kept awake one night by someone speaking loudly on their phone in the common area where there are signs stating keep the noise down after 10pm. I don't think he could understand English though. The following night there were no issues.


89%

Great staff.

  • 5th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed here for one night with 2 young kids. Was going to book for 2 nights but lots of reveiws said that it was a cold place. Noted the hot water bottles in our rooms so was thinking we would freeze. But we were warm and cozy and wished we had stayed longer. Kids learnt to play pool and r now hooked. Thought we heard the ghost chains rattling. Staff were super. Highly recommend.

  • 28th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Nothing bad to say ! ☺️


77%

The guests need to keep the kitchen a bit cleaner :)

  • 26th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(95 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback