X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jailhouse Accommodation Christchurch Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2826 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Nice and clean (even smelt clean when you walked in!) Excellent showers, nice and hot. Bit far from town without a car. Would recommend a friend to stay.


74%

The hostel was pretty warm inside, despite Christchurch being pretty cold. As it was a jail the room doors were pretty heavy, the rooms a little cramped but they were also bright, well light and comfortable. Did not feel like a prison at all. The toilets were a tight fit - had to sit sideways in order to shut the door.


91%

We thought that the hostel offered a very usual stay given that it was a refurbished jail that only had closed in 1999. The staff got into the mood of the prison atmosphere and all references to you were as if you were a prisoner coming to do your time. Very friendly and helpful and always there to give you guidance for tours etc. Would highly recommend.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

One of the best hostel I've ever stayed!! Definitely word to go here! Great staff, clean and the hostel is amazing!!


89%

Best place to stay in Christchurch if you are on a budget. And even if you are not!

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

A very quirky hostel, it was once a jail after all. Very welcoming, helpful and friendly staff; my dorm was neat and tidy as was everywhere else in the hostel. Great for meeting other travellers. Quite possibly the best hostel that I've stayed in!


89%

Super clean and great experience sleeping in a cell.


86%

What a great stay! The hostel is undoubtedly one of the strangest and we spent quite some time exploring it! The rooms are comfortable and the facilities good and really very clean. It is a bit out of town however and a fair walk to the nearest supermarket, but really loved it here.


77%

A really cool concept for a backpackers, the dorm rooms were adequate, the lock boxes need your own padlocks, so be aware of that and this isn't a party hostel, there is a noise curfew in the sleeping area so it's a good place to stay if your looking for somewhere a bit quieter. The kitchen was really good and had condiments and the bare essentials. Staff felt like they were being drained to do there job and looked like they wanted to be anywhere else but working. All in all, it's nice though


97%

Great kitchen, absolutely helpful staff, huge amount of "travel inspiration" eg flyers for attractions, accommodations, etc.. And of course the Jailhouse Style - I really liked it a lot!


71%

Unique hostel, little far from the city centre but good for the train station. Pleasant hostel but little going on in the evening.


34%

Unfortunately they do not think it is a priority to update their website to advise that they do NOT have a shuttle to the train, which is actually quite important when it is a deciding factor in choosing to stay there. Not a hit with us, would not stay again.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel and we're so sorry that we're no longer able to offer the free railway shuttle. As soon as the shuttle company advised us they were no longer operating we removed it immediately from our website. We did advertise it heavily with lots of other booking sites we are affiliated with and we admit it has proved a more difficult and lengthy process to remove all trace of it as we don't have full control of third party websites. The Jailhouse Team

83%

Wifi hardly worked, especially in the evening. Found no room numbers upstairs and just one shower. Beautifully silent place! Brilliant idea the tv-room! Enjoyed the private lights the 10dorm, missed them in the 6dorm.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for rating our hostel and we're happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your time in Jail. Sorry to hear about the wifi problem. We hope you reported it to our staff so we could investigate and try and rectify the problem. The room numbers are all places above the doors and we have one shower in the ladies toilet, 3 further ladies showers next door and a unisex shower/toilet on the ground level. Good idea about the lights, we are looking into installing some. Thanks again

94%

Loved this place, never thought it'd be cool to say I've spent 3 nights in jail until now! Friendly helpful staff, dress up is great fun :-)


91%

Enjoyable, novelty experience. Was worried it would feel like a bit of a downer staying in an old jail but the place had lots of natural light, nice common areas and was really nice! Public buses were really close and staff was super nice. Comfy bed too.

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

A great hostel, thoroughly enjoyed our 1 night stay, staff very helpful. Thanks Have already recommended Jail house to others!

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Awesome night stay. Loved it

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

was a one of a kind stay and me and my partner both enjoyed our stay. we def will recommend this to people looking for an awesome attraction to christchurch :) also we forgot our phone chargers in cell 24, is there any chance for them to be sent back and how much would it cost?

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We enjoyed our stay at jailhouse and loved the prison theme. The place was regularly cleaned and the rooms were great, I can't actually say anything bad about it really!


94%

Friendly staff, confortable beds and good atmosphere.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(1737 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback