X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jailhouse Accommodation Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2519 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great kitchen, absolutely helpful staff, huge amount of "travel inspiration" eg flyers for attractions, accommodations, etc.. And of course the Jailhouse Style - I really liked it a lot!


34%

Unfortunately they do not think it is a priority to update their website to advise that they do NOT have a shuttle to the train, which is actually quite important when it is a deciding factor in choosing to stay there. Not a hit with us, would not stay again.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Wifi hardly worked, especially in the evening. Found no room numbers upstairs and just one shower. Beautifully silent place! Brilliant idea the tv-room! Enjoyed the private lights the 10dorm, missed them in the 6dorm.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

A great hostel, thoroughly enjoyed our 1 night stay, staff very helpful. Thanks Have already recommended Jail house to others!

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

was a one of a kind stay and me and my partner both enjoyed our stay. we def will recommend this to people looking for an awesome attraction to christchurch :) also we forgot our phone chargers in cell 24, is there any chance for them to be sent back and how much would it cost?

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Friendly staff, confortable beds and good atmosphere.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

excellent facilities and cleanliness, cool experience staff not the best I have encountered .... the free shuttle to the railway is no longer availble but still publicised

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to rate us- we're glad you enjoyed your stay overall. We're so sorry we're not able to book the railway shuttle any more. Unfortunately the company we used has recently ceased operation. We did have it heavily advertised in lots of places as it was such a nice, complimentary service for our guests. We honestly thought we had removed all advertising material but your comment prompted us to double check and it was in a room brochure which has now been removed

97%

Extremely comfy beds though our double was smaller than some. Thick walls, no noise at night. Well stocked and very clean kitchen.

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Comfy beds, decent showers and a cool setting. Would stay here again.


94%

Awesome stay, great shower, nice and hot!

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Overall an enjoyable experience. Thank you!

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Really enjoyed my stay. Everything was great and staff very helpful. However 30 minute walk from nearest supermarket, and 40 mins from city centre is not great. On the other hand it is very close to the train station. The area is a bit rundown/dodgey, so if you are staying in christchurch for longer than one night then maybe look elsewhere. Given the distance from most places, I was dissapointed bike hire closed at 6pm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel. We're so pleased to hear that overall you had a great stay! Our bikes are available for hire right from 8am- 6pm which we feel is an adequate time period to explore the city/ get groceries etc and they don't have lights so we need to make sure they are safely back before it gets dark. There is a fantastic bus service to/from the city (8 min ride) and the bus stop is just opposite the hostel and walking to city centre is 25 mins walk.

100%

Genius! Loved all the little references to the hostel's former life. Great showers!

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place to stay bu limited wifi provided


91%

Stay in a mixed dorm for 1 night (3 girls). Good location, we feel safe here, the beds are good, the facilities are clean. Maybe a little too expensive for a night in a dorm in a backpacker, but it is a good place (and original!)

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Friendly staff, great atmosphere and very clean. 15 minute walk to the center.

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

We have had an Unique stay in jail! It is very nice made. We enjoy our stay!


80%

it was an interesting place to stay with the use of the jailhouse atmosphere/memorabilia. Wonderful showers. Helpful staff. I thought it expensive but wondered if the time of year impacted on that .

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

This place is cool and quirky! The rooms and beds are adequate. The bike hire ($15 for 8 hours) is well worth it, as you are 5-10 minute ride from the city centre. The bathrooms were also nice and clean


77%

Was a good experience although is not close to the train station...it's close if you are not walking with luggage and have a vehicle.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(99 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback