X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Jailhouse Accommodation Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2306 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

very helpful staff; great idea for backpackers' accommodation

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Rooms are very basic (As expected with the setting!) but clean and warm. Very cool place to stay for a couple of nights.


97%

Locked up in Jail, what more could I want! Loved it!


46%

Free wifi is crucial for back packers! Very few bathrooms and they were very small. Staff weren't that helpful and not all that friendly.


94%

Quirky and fun. Bathroom was a bit dirty though :)

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel. We're sorry to hear that you found the bathroom dirty. It gets intensively cleaned every day after check out and our staff continue to check it at intervals throughout the day and again last thing at night. If necessary further cleaning and re stocking is carried out. We are wondering if perhaps you used the facility just after a high usage time. We hope you noticed the sign encouraging guests to alert staff if the bathroom needs cleaning

83%

The location was a little far from the city centre but makes up for it for the awesomeness of the hostel. One of the lights in the male toilet on the second level was faulty when I was there. It was really cold in the hostel and I was told that it was due to the building being really old. It would be good to work on this.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

I know it was a gaol but soft floor coverings would be good, given the winter temperatures. The curtains did not close completely, allowing the light outside to shine into the room.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel is unique! A great experience though. I only stayed one night and it was good. The added bonus' were a free towel and hot water bottle (which I needed as the rooms are quite cold in winter). Very clean and well kept hostel.


86%

Great stay at the Jailhouse! Beds were clean and comfy and good facilities in the hostel. Only thing is the sound from the first floor gets amplified to the second floor due to the tall ceiling. Can get abit noisy sometimes.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Within easy walking distance to CBD, train station, and Riccarton (restaurants). Staff very helpful and approachable.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


43%

In city like Christchurch I would expect some heating. The heating was not switched on until early evening and only stayed on for a few hours. Bathroom inadequate. Staff were not receptive when I enquired re the heating. Reluctantly lent me a blow heater for a short time. I cancelled my second night here and went to a motel with all of the comforts and only a little more money.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Could have been better if there were more showers and a little bit more room in each cell.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Could do with a complete refresh - starting to look tired and novelty is wearing off.


86%

The accommodation was really clean and the staff were friendly. Definitely a different place to stay compared to your normal hostels! Worth a stay!


80%

This hostel makes for an interesting stay, though Christchurch itself was less interesting. Not much to do in the town, but if you are going to stay here, then Jailhouse is one of the better places to stay. It is in a nice location in Addington, though it can get pretty cold during the winter here.


83%

The guy at the check in was friendly and helpful, but not the lady at the check out, it was like she didn't want us there, the answers were always cold and not friendly at all. Internet it's not free, not even a little bit. Rooms are simple and just with the enough.


100%

Highly recommended for backpackers. Great atmosphere and rich with history. Definitely worth a stay.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

This is absolutely the best, cleanest & friendliest backpackers we have stayed in.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff were very helpful with advice on where to go and directions. The hostel has good facilities and was very spacious. I would definitely stay here again if I was in Christchurch


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(119 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback