X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Jailhouse Accommodation Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2328 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Overall a nice hostel. Staff were friendly and the facilities were good. Only complaint is that the bed in the double private room is a bit miserable, it's clearly in need of an update. It sinks into the middle and you can feel every spring. Also worth noting that in winter the only source of heat is a hot water bottle. Did the job and I liked it, but others may feel differently.


80%

the toilet normally runs out at night, i think they should install a bigger toilets paper facilities, they normally runs with small toilet paper rolls, i think they are very small, i have been there a few times and the toilt paper always runs out at night. after the service is good.


63%

Not much of a vibe here. Still all pretty jail-like. Nice for a novelty perhaps. Free wifi would be good. Bit of a walk into town.


100%

A must to stay at if your in Christchurch.


91%

The staff were very helpful and there's an awesome atmosphere (especially if you're fascinated by prisons). The showers are pretty good, the beds are good too. The rooms are pretty cold though, but there are extra blankets in the room, so no stress. All together great place.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Arrived really late and was freezing cold. Didn't realise there was hot water bottles/extra blankets as it was dark in the room already - people asleep. No free wifi. Facilities clean, everything worked, good kitchen area and eating area.


89%

It was a little cold in the dorm rooms, however, there was plenty of hot water, excellent shower pressure and the bedding was warm.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Its the second time ive stayed there and it won't be our last we will come back soon ty;)

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

very helpful staff; great idea for backpackers' accommodation

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Rooms are very basic (As expected with the setting!) but clean and warm. Very cool place to stay for a couple of nights.


97%

Locked up in Jail, what more could I want! Loved it!


46%

Free wifi is crucial for back packers! Very few bathrooms and they were very small. Staff weren't that helpful and not all that friendly.


94%

Quirky and fun. Bathroom was a bit dirty though :)

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel. We're sorry to hear that you found the bathroom dirty. It gets intensively cleaned every day after check out and our staff continue to check it at intervals throughout the day and again last thing at night. If necessary further cleaning and re stocking is carried out. We are wondering if perhaps you used the facility just after a high usage time. We hope you noticed the sign encouraging guests to alert staff if the bathroom needs cleaning

83%

The location was a little far from the city centre but makes up for it for the awesomeness of the hostel. One of the lights in the male toilet on the second level was faulty when I was there. It was really cold in the hostel and I was told that it was due to the building being really old. It would be good to work on this.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

I know it was a gaol but soft floor coverings would be good, given the winter temperatures. The curtains did not close completely, allowing the light outside to shine into the room.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel is unique! A great experience though. I only stayed one night and it was good. The added bonus' were a free towel and hot water bottle (which I needed as the rooms are quite cold in winter). Very clean and well kept hostel.


91%

A very well run hostel. Friendly and knowledgeable staff, two movie theaters, plenty of common space, and two kitchens. Beds are comfortable with each having their own plugs. Even my 10 bed dorm had plenty of space. However, the building is VERY cold in winter, and the bathrooms are poorly ventilated so the surfaces always feel coated in shower steam.


86%

Great stay at the Jailhouse! Beds were clean and comfy and good facilities in the hostel. Only thing is the sound from the first floor gets amplified to the second floor due to the tall ceiling. Can get abit noisy sometimes.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Within easy walking distance to CBD, train station, and Riccarton (restaurants). Staff very helpful and approachable.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


43%

In city like Christchurch I would expect some heating. The heating was not switched on until early evening and only stayed on for a few hours. Bathroom inadequate. Staff were not receptive when I enquired re the heating. Reluctantly lent me a blow heater for a short time. I cancelled my second night here and went to a motel with all of the comforts and only a little more money.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(101 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback