X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jailhouse Accommodation Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2398 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Rooms are very spacious even for a 10-bed dorm. The hostel is not easy to locate though, as from the main road there is only a small sign. Staff seemed a little tired, I thought with such a unique hostel they would be more enthusiastic but instead just mentioned where things are located in a monotonous manner. "your room and toilets on the upper floors, kitchen is here, you can take a photo with that board behind you, room20 is an actual jail, okthnxbye." Interesting hostel design though.


86%

Staffs are very kind.Thanks a lots.

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

I got a small room with bunk bed after spending $75 in a Single Private Room .


89%

It is absolutely ridiculous to rent out bikes without lights. Meaning that one has to be back before sunset. That cut my freedom down tremendously and I was very disappointed.

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location and good attraction. If in Christchurch again, will definitely stay here if possible.

  • 13th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Really noisy in the morning with people up at 7am and echoey main room.

  • 13th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Highly recommend staying here Very clean facilities Really appreciate the quiet time and no alcohol policy It's you're. Looking for a quiet escape. Look no further


89%

Great hostel !!! Love that it was a jail before. They did a gray job and the place is really nice ! The kitchen is so well furnished ! There is a cinema and a TV room. You can walk to the city or take a bus straight in front. I recommend the hostel :)


89%

A good place to stay in Christchurch, not right in the center but walking distance from it, good facilities, extra blankets if you get chilly, friendly and helpful staff plus the building itself is great.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great gimmick. We got a free upgrade to a twin room which was nice, though I do think the original price for a dorm is a bit steep.


91%

Such a fun place! Was only there overnight but was a neat experience! Would stay again!


94%

Really enjoyed my stay

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing sentence spent there. Go to the jail, people! ;)

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Jail ain't so bad! This place actually was a prison. Very cool and different hostel with an excellent front desk staff. Lots of pros like a free towel (charge for a second one if you want), plenty of outlets/powerpoints in each room with circuit breakers (which every hostel should have but doesn't), two pillows per person, and just an interesting theme that they do a good job with. This was my second time staying. Usually not a huge fan of most hostels but definitely would recommend this one.


97%

A great place to stay, just blocks from the Botanic Gardens. The atmosphere is Marvelous with a real sense of the jail experience (bars on the windows, heavy steel doors, narrow walkways, balcony viewing platform) but, of course, without the locks. Would definitely stay here again. Not for the claustrophobic however.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

I was very disappointed to have half of my food stolen from the kitchen while I stayed for one night. I won't be staying again.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved it great location and clean with friendly staff will stay again

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel was really nice, helpful staff, nice facilities, and areally nice room as well!! Big lockers, spacious room, with plugs and light for every bed!! The only thing is that it has kind of a cold atmosphere, especially on the dining part, and not very warm. I know it's probably related to the jail theme, but it would be really nice if it has a little more cozyness.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Me gusto mucho el lugar, por su temática bien aplicada, la gente muy amable siempre y cómodo para quedarse una o dos noches máximo porque hace mucho frío y no tienen calefacción es lo único malo.

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Good place where to stay.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(93 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback