X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jailhouse Accommodation Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
2702 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Unique hostel, excellent staff!


80%

Best showers I've ever seen in a hostel. Movies and free popcorn every night. Plenty of outlets and your own reading lamp. The beds didn't squeak at all and plenty of room for storage!


94%

Its a cool hostel, facilities are everything you need in a hostel, plays films for free aswell in the cinema room with free popcorn, free wifi too which is rare in NZ good place definetly recommend


94%

Great hostel, not much more than that to say! Stay here!


86%

A pleasant stay in jail for our first night in New Zealand. The main building is impressive; there is a little exhibition inside with items from the time when it was still in use as a jail. We stayed in a double room; the bed was comfy but there is not much space to move around (which is not surprising considering the room used to be a cell). Prisoners must have felt pretty claustrophobic... The showers and toilets were clean enough (if wet, unless you get there first). Area full of cafes.

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Really good hostel with an interesting style. Great idea with the jailhouse. Only problem is, that it is a bit out of town. Apart from that, it's a really good hostel. It's clean, the rooms are big and the staff is nice. Would totally recommend the Jailhouse


100%

The best, most clean hostel I have stayed in. And I have been travelling for 9 months. The kitchen is phenomenal and everyone was friendly! Very pleasant experience

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very personal and interesting place to stay - definitely worth of money :)


91%

Great place to stay! Very interesting history of the jail, well preserved, great to have a cast iron door for security! Very clean, great facilities, very well maintained. Beds were very comfy. A great stay.


94%

Very friendly reception

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Friendly and helpful staff, historic site which gives your stay novelty, but the rooms are very cold and the common area in front of your room is very loud with people throughout the night.


91%

Great place to stay! The women's toilet stalls were a little cramped, but the showers were nice and spacious. Location is not too bad. It takes about a half hour walk to westfield mall but there are lots of places to eat close by if that's all you're looking for. Staff were helpful and friendly. Highly recommend checking this place out!

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I absolutely LOVE this place!!! I'd give it a score of 120% if I could! What an amazing place to stay! Facilities are great, atmosphere is wonderful and I love what they've done with the place. You get the old look and feel of a jailhouse, but without the being locked up thing.


89%

An awesome hostel, really cool interior and history. The staff were extremely friendly! The place itself wasn't really set up to meet people, but it was a fantastic place to stay.


89%

Cool, loved it !

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

It's pretty far from the city centre but that's the only criticism that I would have!


97%

Loved the concept and uncluttered noticeboards (other hostels have).,best b ackpackers i have ever stayed in (30 years)

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Rated staff as av and that was driven by one person. staff on reception were excellent, unfortunately cleaning staff let them down. In particular there was one guy who was setting fire to stuff in the kitchen one night, with others watching him. It showed immaturity and a lack of respect for paying guests. Wifi was poor. Having paid for extra wifi it kept kicking me off and I wasn't able to join the network for long periods. The accommodation itself was nice, igreat to stay somewhere different


74%

Overall a great place to stay that was handy to an event we were going to. The whole jail thing just added to it. Thought the rooms were excellent in that generally cool temperature and with windows that are able to be opened. Compared to other backpackers in other NZ cities felt price is steep but I understand this could be a result of earthquakes affecting accommodation available in CHCH and I spose make hay while the sun shines.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Great place. As expected from a backpacker style accommodation. Has a unique aspect being a former jail - being able to see a couple of jail cells is great. Had everything we needed - just a bit noisy after hours with people coming and going very early. A couple of good pubs within 5-10 mins walk.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(140 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback