X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jailhouse Accommodation Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
2599 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Lovely! Have now been twice in jail in NZ. Contrary to real jail I would have liked to stay somewhat longer. Thankfull I remeber that toilets and showers where controlled and if necessary cleaned several times a day. This shouled be copied by YHA hostels in Australia.

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Novel accommodation, well kept and clean, very friendly informative welcome.


77%

Blonde haired English girl on reception had bit of an attitude problem, aside from that all was good. place well run, nice staff.


80%

hostel in an old jail, funny atmosphere. wardens very friendly! would stay there again :)


100%

Without doubt one of the best hostels I have stayed in. Brilliant concept, lovely and clean, fantastic facilities. Staff very helpful and lovely (a girl from Barnsley, England) and went out of her way to help me. Cant really think of any downsides about it. Good area too, some bars and take aways, only 15 min walk to CBD. Would definitely recommend


91%

Very cool to stay in a former prison.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel with great character. Great amenities, especially Netflix for when you've exhausted all sightseeing in Christchurch! Was so grateful for the lovely lady who checked me in when I was feeling poorly. She supplied me with extra pillows and was so kind. It was a friendly place but think some of the staff could make more effort to engage guests. I loved staying here and would definitely return if I was ever in Christchurch again. Thank you for having me :)


97%

Just brilliant! Loved the atmosphere and the history of the jail. It was a great stay. A little bit out of town though. Nice and quiet at night. Great kitchen and bathroom facilities. Lovely quiet area upstairs with tables and chairs. Also a lovely area downstairs to eat and sit. We had a prk6vate double and they provided nice thick white fluffy towels and we also had a tv with access to free tv channels


89%

Soundproofing is inherently poor due to the design of the 'prison'. Had a poor nights sleep due to the thin walls, doors crashing and people clomping up and down the stairs in the early hours. Take ear plugs! Excellent in every other way.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

The Jail is an awesome facility worth staying the night or more at! The historic building created a perfect hostel layout. Lots of hang out space separate from your room. Huge kitchen with lots of cooking supplies. The jail theme is through out the hostel, bedding, bowls, lingo! The beds were comfy and bedding was crisp and clean. No silly rules, deposits, restrictions, great place!

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Fab hostel, clean, good showers and good facilities in kitchen. A bit of a walk from the city centre but worth stopping there just to stay in a jail!


100%

The Jailhouse is a great place to stay. The staff are highly professional and the accommodation is well maintained. The only minor issue we had was with the neighbours on the RHS of the Jailhouse who are want to party late and early in the morning without regard to those staying in the hostel. Perhaps those responsible for this accommodation could be reminded of the need for their tenants to respect their neighbours in the way the Jailhouse and its residents respects them.


83%

Common space near rooms would be vastly better if there were some beanbags


83%

It was a lovely stay . The bed is very comfortable

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

It was a couple dollars more than the other choices but I stayed in it anyway for the novelty of the old jail, and it was pretty cool to see how they had remodeled it all. The location is kind of far from the bus stop but close to the gardens and train station, and the staff was helpful and friendly enough.

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Fantastic jailhostel not far away from center of christchurch. Clean and cosy.

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Fantastic experience, super friendly staff and great facilities

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good, extremley clean! Perfect secure location, man on desk was very helpful and really welcomed us

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Really cool historical jail converted to a hostel. Located in Addington, just south of the southeast corner of Hagley Park and a 20 minute walk from City Center. Clean quiet rooms, lots of great amenties. Kitchen relatively clean and neat. Plenty of hot showers with great water pressure. Shower stalls could use curtains and a shelf though, and almost everything is behind the front desk (pool cues, DVDs). Internet is 500MB free for the duration of your stay, using a code.


97%

one of the best hostels i have ever stayed at. Very well set up and the facilities were excellent. would definitely stay there again

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(125 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback