X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Jailhouse Accommodation Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2387 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Highly recommend staying here Very clean facilities Really appreciate the quiet time and no alcohol policy It's you're. Looking for a quiet escape. Look no further


89%

Great hostel !!! Love that it was a jail before. They did a gray job and the place is really nice ! The kitchen is so well furnished ! There is a cinema and a TV room. You can walk to the city or take a bus straight in front. I recommend the hostel :)


89%

A good place to stay in Christchurch, not right in the center but walking distance from it, good facilities, extra blankets if you get chilly, friendly and helpful staff plus the building itself is great.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great gimmick. We got a free upgrade to a twin room which was nice, though I do think the original price for a dorm is a bit steep.


91%

Such a fun place! Was only there overnight but was a neat experience! Would stay again!


94%

Really enjoyed my stay

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing sentence spent there. Go to the jail, people! ;)

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Jail ain't so bad! This place actually was a prison. Very cool and different hostel with an excellent front desk staff. Lots of pros like a free towel (charge for a second one if you want), plenty of outlets/powerpoints in each room with circuit breakers (which every hostel should have but doesn't), two pillows per person, and just an interesting theme that they do a good job with. This was my second time staying. Usually not a huge fan of most hostels but definitely would recommend this one.


97%

A great place to stay, just blocks from the Botanic Gardens. The atmosphere is Marvelous with a real sense of the jail experience (bars on the windows, heavy steel doors, narrow walkways, balcony viewing platform) but, of course, without the locks. Would definitely stay here again. Not for the claustrophobic however.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

I was very disappointed to have half of my food stolen from the kitchen while I stayed for one night. I won't be staying again.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved it great location and clean with friendly staff will stay again

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel was really nice, helpful staff, nice facilities, and areally nice room as well!! Big lockers, spacious room, with plugs and light for every bed!! The only thing is that it has kind of a cold atmosphere, especially on the dining part, and not very warm. I know it's probably related to the jail theme, but it would be really nice if it has a little more cozyness.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Me gusto mucho el lugar, por su temática bien aplicada, la gente muy amable siempre y cómodo para quedarse una o dos noches máximo porque hace mucho frío y no tienen calefacción es lo único malo.

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Good place where to stay.


100%

Must stay here if you go to Christchurch! So cool to stay in the jail cells and the place was exceptionally clean when I was there. Minus the comfort a prisoner wouldn't have, it actually felt like being in jail! Great location and friendly staff.


77%

The staff at the reception counter was friendly and helpful. However, met a staff on a Saturday in the kitchen, she was showing this black face, wondered if I was disturbing her cleaning duty.


91%

Value for money was good as a novelty value.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

every time i went to the front desk there was a longer than reasonable rate just to ask a question, there needed to be more staff or a faster tun around time on booking in and showing people around.


83%

Social hostel. Plays movies. Nice novelty.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

excellent accommodation, very convenient and handy location. only few minutes walk to sights n sounds of Christchurch.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cook Islands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(94 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback