X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Jailhouse Accommodation Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2331 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Great stay at the Jailhouse! Beds were clean and comfy and good facilities in the hostel. Only thing is the sound from the first floor gets amplified to the second floor due to the tall ceiling. Can get abit noisy sometimes.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Within easy walking distance to CBD, train station, and Riccarton (restaurants). Staff very helpful and approachable.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


43%

In city like Christchurch I would expect some heating. The heating was not switched on until early evening and only stayed on for a few hours. Bathroom inadequate. Staff were not receptive when I enquired re the heating. Reluctantly lent me a blow heater for a short time. I cancelled my second night here and went to a motel with all of the comforts and only a little more money.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Could have been better if there were more showers and a little bit more room in each cell.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Could do with a complete refresh - starting to look tired and novelty is wearing off.


86%

The accommodation was really clean and the staff were friendly. Definitely a different place to stay compared to your normal hostels! Worth a stay!


80%

This hostel makes for an interesting stay, though Christchurch itself was less interesting. Not much to do in the town, but if you are going to stay here, then Jailhouse is one of the better places to stay. It is in a nice location in Addington, though it can get pretty cold during the winter here.


83%

The guy at the check in was friendly and helpful, but not the lady at the check out, it was like she didn't want us there, the answers were always cold and not friendly at all. Internet it's not free, not even a little bit. Rooms are simple and just with the enough.


100%

Highly recommended for backpackers. Great atmosphere and rich with history. Definitely worth a stay.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

This is absolutely the best, cleanest & friendliest backpackers we have stayed in.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff were very helpful with advice on where to go and directions. The hostel has good facilities and was very spacious. I would definitely stay here again if I was in Christchurch


91%

The staff we incredibly helpful at informing my boyfriend and I about good places to travel to around New Zealand. Staff were very warm, welcoming, and friendly. We also enjoyed watching a movie in the living room area :)


80%

It is a "jail." The rooms are a bit small, but I guess that is countered by the fact that it is a jail.

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

It was very cold in the single room. Need to update internet photo it gives impression of a TV in single room. Poor value for money for an extra $30 you can stay in motel unit which is warm, has kitchette, TV including sky and free unlimited wi fi I realise that what part of what you are paying for is the experience and it is a very cool idea but that doesn't quite make up for the lack of comfort.

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

very unique hostel. the only issue some people might have is it's distanced from the city centre, no problem if you have a car. there are plenty of shops, pubs and restaurants nearby the hostel though. definitely something different!


80%

If you have ties to prison, then this is not for you. Prison activists might find this place in distaste for commercializing prison. However, if you're interested in architecture, then Jailhouse is a creative example of how to both re-purpose and preserve a space with historical value. With 2 preserved cells and artifacts on display, Jailhouse shows respect for its past. Yet the facilities are modern and clean. Toilet stalls small, tho. Jail bldg = cold at nite. Overall cool place, nice staff.


80%

Very nice place to stay. Simple as jail.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The Facility is excellent. The only question is why anybody would plan to visit Christchurch in the first place.


86%

Very nice, enjoyable stay!

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(101 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback