X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Jailhouse Accommodation Reviews

338 Lincoln Rd, Addington, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2196 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Fun location, well maintained and run hostel.


89%

We are a mature couple and we booked a 'cell' with a double bed in it. We loved the place and the friendly staff with the added bonus that when you view the movie of the night you get provided with popcorn! Both movie and popcorn come free. The only negative is that if you are on the ground floor there are men's toilets but nothing for women, you have to go upstairs. Other than that we'd highly recommend the Jailhouse

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for giving us such a positive review and we're so happy to hear that you had such a great stay in Jail. Our movie nights are proving to be very popular and we're glad that you came along. We do have a unisex toilet/ shower on the ground floor just opposite the kitchen. We're sorry if you didn't find it. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you in Jail again soon!

97%

Great place, the staff were really friendly and helpful, they booked a free transfer for.me to the trainstation.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Really cool old jail. Nice showers.

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

“Very unique! Staff was excellent with lots of help!!”


83%

Nice concept. Not much around. Comfy beds


100%

Only stayed 1night but would recommend to anyone vitsiting christchurch

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Best hostel I've been to easily. Not the cheapest but great facilities and unique environment makes it worth every dollar.

  • 27th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

One of the best accommodation where we have stayed! Staff was so awesome!


83%

Very nice... It's strange to sleep in an old prison but the rooms are big, clean and very nice! I would stay there again :)


91%

The team at the Jailhouse are great, we stay there at least twice a year as the location is ideal to our business and the facilities make it easy. The staff make things work for you and nothing is too much of a problem.


100%

I had a really enjoyable stay here, friendly staff and the old jail has been beautifully converted. Nice and warm too. Highly recommend!


77%

This is a great hostel - really cool environment. Everything is very clean and there is a great kitchen. Small attention to detail is very impressive e.g. stripy bowls & cups to match the prisoner uniforms. Wifi isn't great but each guest does get one hour free. The hostel is quite far from the centre of Christchurch so stay elsewhere if you want to be in easy distance of the centre. But there are lots of eating places nearby so it's fine for a stopover from the station/airport.


100%

Thanks again for the excellent service! It was an amazing experience! Only complaints is the tv only had 1 channel and the curtain needs a liner to keep the light out as it reflected through the entire room off the mirror! Cheers again!

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel, the prison had been expertly converted into a clean and modern hostel. Beds a little short for tall people


94%

wonderful stay at jail house

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Never stayed in a backpackers before where I just wanted to wander around exploring and gazing at the place. Awesome.

  • 18th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great stay. Very happy.

  • 18th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Really cool facilities being a converted jail. Staff were nice. Just kinda far from the town.


77%

The place is quite nice and everything, beds are comfy, the location interesting, bathrooms clean but for the price you pay you'd expect free proper internet. A little far by foor from the centre.


(120 results)


View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback